Short film festivals and video-on-demand Part 2: Collaborations with VoD providers

Topic

VoD-Podium Oberhausen 4 May 2019, from left to right: Margo Cayla (Festival Scope), Anaïs Lebrun (MUBI), Reinhard W. Wolf (Moderation), Giacomo Hug (Locarno Film Festival) © Kurzfilmtage / Daniel Gasenzer

Video-on-demand is a viable option for film festivals that want to extend their reach by offering users anytime, anywhere access to films on the internet. In this second part of our article on “Short film festivals and video-on-demand”, we look at collaborations with providers such as MUBI and Festival Scope, which have developed models specifically tailored to festivals and have already gained experience with festival short film programmes.

 

Operating a streaming platform is very complex and extremely expensive. Multimedia data cannot simply be posted for perpetual dissemination, like you would a PDF on your own website. In brief, three technical systems are required to prepare, deliver and distribute a video in adequate quality: a Content Provider System (CPS), a Service Provider System (SPS) and a Service Consumer System (SCS)[1].

 

In technical and organizational terms, platforms like Festival Scope and MUBI therefore relieve film festivals that want to present themselves and their film programme online of a great deal of work[2].

 

 

Festival Scope

 

According to its own public relations, Festival Scope[3] is the biggest European platform for film festivals. It includes the B2B platform Festival Scope Pro and the B2C platform Festival Scope. Of the approximately 3,000 films in the catalogue of both platforms, 30 to 40% are short films[4].

The Pro platform, which is not open to the public, is used for selling and promoting films. Registered film professionals can view films, discover new talent, contact rights holders and filmmakers, and view exclusive content from festivals and co-production markets.

While Festival Scope Pro targets the industry, Festival Scope is a streaming platform that offers viewers the opportunity to view films from international festivals. Access[5] to the professional platform is subject to a fee, while registration on the public platform is free of charge.

 

Screenshot Festival Scope 26 August 2019

Festival Scope has partnerships with more than 90 reputable film festivals, including short film festivals such as Clermont-Ferrand, Curtas Vila do Conde and Premiers Plans Angers. In contrast to classic video-on-demand platforms, it offers films only for a relatively short period of time. As a rule, they go online a few days after festival screening, for about two weeks.

 

Festival Scope also limits its streaming offerings in terms of quantity. In analogy to the limited seating capacity of a cinema, only a predefined number of virtual tickets are made available. Thus, only 200 to 500 people worldwide can enjoy access to a film within the given window of time.

 

Festival Scope sees this service as ‘Festival-on-Demand’[6] rather than video-on-demand”. In keeping with that metaphor, the characteristics of a festival are replicated virtually. This is also reflected in the fact that Festival Scope does not offer an extensive catalogue of film titles for free selection but only films in curated programmes. Strictly speaking, the streaming offerings are curated twice, because from the pool of films selected by the festival’s programme jury from all submissions, the festival and Festival Scope then make a second, narrower selection to be offered online.

 

 

MUBI

 

MUBI has been around a bit longer than Festival Scope. Its predecessor, “The Auteurs”, was founded in 2007 as a network for cinephiles[7]. In its early years, The Auteurs followed the model of a media library. It thus built up a library of titles in order to make important and interesting films, including classics, available to the public online. In many cases these were titles that were no longer available on the distribution market. This media library model was not economically viable, however, and was replaced by a rotation model.

 

With its new business model, MUBI is a pioneer of curated VoD offerings. The programme is similar to that of an art house cinema, except that there is a new film every day that can be watched anytime, anywhere for 30 days before it is replaced. MUBI accompanies its programme journalistically in the magazine “Notebook” and communicates with the community using commentary functions.

 

MUBI also offers film festivals a platform by way of specials. Featured in the past was for example the International Short Film Festival Oberhausen, although MUBI does not focus specifically on short film.

 

MUBI compiles its programmes in close cooperation with the respective festival. Besides taking into account curatorial aspects, it is also important not to spoil the future festival career of a film that may have just premiered through a premature online release. This aspect is also taken into consideration by Festival Scope. For the same reason, the Locarno Film Festival included older films that had already premiered at the festival in 2017 in its selection for its online “Shorts Weeks” in 2019.

 

Screenshot MUBI Special 26 August 2019

On MUBI, festival films, like all others, are only available online for 30 days. The films are not necessarily put online immediately after their festival premiere. For example, the titles competing at the International Short Film Festival Oberhausen in May 2019 only began to be released on MUBI starting in mid-June.[8]

 

Festival programmes involve extra effort for MUBI, because they don’t really fit into its structure. Visitors to the website will notice this when they try to find the Oberhausen programme or the films from a particular festival year using the MUBI user interfaces.

 

To facilitate such searches, MUBI would have to set up categories or special channels. Anaïs Lebrun[9] mentioned at the panel discussion on VoD in Oberhausen that the platform is currently considering doing just that. MUBI would then be able, for example, to compile collections from its existing repertoire or to offer special channels dedicated to film genres such as short film.

 

In any case, MUBI is interested in further cooperation with festivals. There is a very pragmatic reason for this: since MUBI is a curated streaming platform, it welcomes suggestions by festivals based on their previous experiences. Unlike with feature films, in the short film sector the expertise of festival programmers is in high demand. This is due to the boundless diversity of the short form and also not least to the sheer number of films made. Both factors make it difficult for the VoD platform’s staff to deal with short films on their own.[10]

 

 

Advantages of cooperation with VoD platforms

 

First of all, there are the costs. Working with a VoD platform eliminates the need for a festival to invest in its own asset management software and server structures as well as their maintenance. But using the services of a VoD platform of course comes at a price. Fees are charged for items such as marketing and technical costs. In addition, there is the cost of subtitling, which depends on geographical coverage, i.e., the number of languages and countries in which the platform is available. All in all, though, the expenses for film festivals are still much, much lower than the costs of building and maintaining their own platform architecture, an investment that would in all likelihood never pay off.

 

What’s more, each streaming platform has its own customer base, which is notified as festivals and films become available online. This multiplies the geographical and socio-cultural reach of a film festival compared to the usual reach of a local film festival and its followers.

 

 

Video on Recommand[11]

 

It is of course also possible, as the Locarno Film Festival has demonstrated with its “Shorts Weeks”,[12] to embed festival films hosted on a streaming service on the festival’s own website. But this can only be offered free of charge, without access restrictions and feedback. And festivals can only reach the group of people who visit the website and are already interested in the festival. Giacomo Hug, programme director of the Pardi di domani short film competition, pointed out that this strategy does however give the films and filmmakers greater visibility, while the festival benefits by giving both potential entrants and potential visitors an idea of the festival’s profile and an impression of the programme.[13] In the end, it also serves as a small consolation prize for interested viewers who are unable to attend the festival.

 

Nevertheless, festivals would be well-advised to take a multipronged approach and be present on several platforms. These may each have a different clientele and profile, or serve different territories. There are good reasons why the Locarno Film Festival offers films on both MUBI (Special, expired) and Festival Scope (9 to 31 August 2019) präsent.

 

The truth is that the platforms offering curated film programmes complement one another rather than competing. Such collaborations would scarcely be possible with classic VoD platforms that demand exclusivity and passively offer films for retrieval from a video library of thousands of titles.

 

 

Limited availability draws greater attention

 

It is actually quite a paradox to artificially restrict access to films on the internet of all places, whose advantages lie in permanent storage and constant availability. But in the unanimous opinion of the panel participants in Oberhausen, this is the very key to success.

 

Limiting the offering to a relatively short period of time and artificially restricting the number of viewers has a socio-psychological motivating effect – in keeping with a social media phenomenon known as “Fear of Missing Out” (FOMO). And scarcity of supply, as everywhere in the economy, adds perceived value.

 

The result is however that these models for limiting viewing time and viewer numbers do not fulfil film festivals’ objective of achieving a year-round extension of their reach and an ongoing presence on the internet. And yet curated VoD collaborations are still very advantageous for both festivals and filmmakers. They generate attention far beyond the festival’s own socio-cultural and geographical boundaries. Film festivals can use them to communicate their profile and the value of their work far and wide.

 

 

Success

 

The positive upshot, and for me this was the most surprising revelation of the panel discussion, is that short film is really successful on these platforms, unlike what is usually the case at the cinema or on television. The panel participants unanimously agreed – and the figures prove this – that short films in curated online programmes are more successful even than films in other genres. And this cannot be attributed to their briefer period of availability alone. We may instead presume that users’ penchant for convenience and the volatility of media content consumption on mobile devices give shorts a definite advantage over feature films.

Or their success is perhaps based instead on the particular form in which they are made available. Curated programmes are more attractive and trustworthy than a catalogue offering mostly unknown individual titles. The reputation of the festivals, which as programmers are at an advantage over anonymous aggregators in the usual commercialization chain, plays a key role here, as do the professional qualifications of the curators behind the programme selection. The cooperating platforms then contribute to the joint success with their own expertise in the area of audience building and with their technical support.

 

Reinhard W. Wolf

 

 

This article was inspired by a panel discussion at the International Short Film Festival Oberhausen in 2019[14]

 

A recording of the discussion is available as a podcast (Indiefilmtalk).

 

 

 

 

[1] The Content Provider System (CPS) generates multimedia data and applications such as encoding and transcoding, interactive playback features or multilingual subtitles. The Service Provider System (SPS) comprises content storage and its provision at the request of end users. Since a separate channel must be supplied for each VoD user in his or her own geographical vicinity, a Content Delivery Network (CDN), i.e., a network of powerful servers, is also required. Finally, the Service Consumer System (SCS) delivers content management functions that are tailored to the user’s specific end device and executed there. These include access and billing systems, digital rights management, feedback channels and the analysis of user data.

 

[2] VoD platforms, too, typically only manage the content-related area (CPS) themselves, leasing the other system services (SPS, SCS) from highly specialized companies.

 

[3] Festival Scope is owned by the Paris-based company Moving Scope SAS, founded in 2010 by Alessandro Raja, Mathilde Henrot and Lucie Kalmar to operate the B2B platform Festival Scope Pro.

 

[4] Information provided by Margo Cayla, Oberhausen, 4 May 2019.

 

[5] Registration at: https://pro.festivalscope.com/join

 

[6] Margo Cayla

 

[7] Originally launched in the UK, MUBI Inc. is now headquartered in the USA (Palo Alto, CA). The managing director is Efe Çakarel, founder of “The Auteurs”.

 

[8] See also “Competing at Oberhausen” https://mubi.com/de/specials/oberhausen

 

[9] Anaïs Lebrun, MUBI International Programming Director

 

[10] »I need help and cannot do everything by myself. So I need that network of people and festivals to help me to choose what would be the best film to show on the platform«, Anaïs Lebrun, Oberhausen 4 May 2019.

 

[11] »recommand is like a recommendation but you have no choice« (Urban Dictionary;-)

 

[12] In early 2019, the Locarno Film Festival offered on its website a new film from the 2017 Pardi di domani short film programme every day for a period of one month. The 27 films were available for viewing free of charge for one week each.

Locarno Shorts Weeks 14 February to 12 March 2019: https://www.locarnofestival.ch/pardo/festival-del-film-locarno/section-and-awards/sections/pardi-di-domani/shorts-weeks/shorts-weeks

See also: Short Film Magazine News, 1 March 2019: https://www.shortfilm.de/locarno-film-festival-startet-shorts-weeks-online/

 

[13] [14] “Video-on-Demand: New Opportunities for Filmmakers and Festivals?”, Oberhausen, 4 May 2019; participants: Margo Cayla (Festival Scope, Project Manager), Giacomo Hug (Locarno Film Festival, Pardi di domani Programming Office), Anaïs Lebrun (MUBI, Director of International Programming); moderator: Reinhard W. Wolf.

 

 

1 Trackback

Kurzfilmfestivals und Video-on-Demand Teil 2 Kooperationen mit VoD-Anbietern

Thema

VoD-Podium Oberhausen 4.5.19, vlnr: Margo Cayla (Festival Scope), Anaïs Lebrun (MUBI), Reinhard W. Wolf (Moderation), Giacomo Hug (Locarno Film Festival) © Kurzfilmtage / Daniel Gasenzer

Video-on-Demand ist eine Option für Filmfestivals, die ihre Reichweite orts- und zeitungebunden im Internet erweitern wollen. In diesem zweiten Teil des Artikels über “Kurzfilmfestivals und Video-on-Demand” geht es um Kooperationen mit Anbietern wie MUBI und Festival Scope, die speziell auf Festivals abgestimmte Modelle entwickelt und bereits Erfahrungen mit Kurzfilmprogrammen von Festivals gesammelt haben.

 

Der Betrieb einer Streaming-Plattform ist sehr aufwändig und extrem teuer. Multimediale Daten lassen sich nicht einfach wie ein PDF auf die eigene Website stellen und verbreiten. Verkürzt dargestellt sind drei technische Systeme erforderlich, um ein Video in angemessener Qualität vorzubereiten, bereitzustellen und zu verbreiten: ein Inhaltsanbietersystem (CPS), ein Diensteanbietersystem (SPS) und das Endbenutzersystem (SCS)[1].

 

Technisch und organisatorisch nehmen deshalb Plattformen wie Festival Scope und MUBI Filmfestivals, die sich und ihr Filmprogramm online präsentieren wollen, eine ganze Menge Arbeit[2] ab.

 

 

Festival Scope

 

Nach eigenen Angaben ist Festival Scope[3] die größte europäische Plattform für Filmfestivals. Zu ihr gehört die B2B-Plattform Festival Scope Pro und die B2C-Plattform Festival Scope. Von den etwa 3000 Filmen im Katalog beider Plattformen sind 30 bis 40 % Kurzfilme[4]. Die nicht öffentlich zugängliche Pro-Plattform dient dem Handel und der Promotion von Filmen. Registrierte Filmprofis können Filme ansehen, neue Talente entdecken, Rechteinhaber und Filmemacher kontaktieren und exklusive Inhalte von Festivals und Koproduktionsmärkten ansehen.

Während Festival Scope Pro sich an die Branche richtet, ist Festival Scope eine Streaming-Plattform, die sich mit Filmen internationaler Festivals direkt an das Publikum wendet. Der Zugang[5] zur professionellen Plattform ist gebührenpflichtig, während die Anmeldung zur öffentlichen Plattform kostenlos ist.

 

Screenshot Festival Scope 26.08.2019

Festival Scope unterhält Partnerschaften mit mehr als 90 renommierten Filmfestivals, darunter auch Kurzfilm-Festivals wie Clermont-Ferrand, Curtas Vila do Conde oder Premiers Plans Angers. Im Unterschied zu klassischen Video-on-Demand-Plattformen werden die Filme nur während eines relativ kurzen Zeitraums angeboten. In der Regel werden sie wenige Tage nach der Festivalaufführung etwa zwei Wochen lang gezeigt.

 

Festival Scope limitiert das Streaming-Angebot auch quantitativ. In Analogie zur begrenzten Sitzkapazität eines Kinos, wird von vornherein nur ein bestimmtes Kontingent an virtuellen Eintrittskarten zur Verfügung gestellt. So kommen nur 200 bis 500 Leute weltweit innerhalb des Zeitfensters in den Genuss eines Zugang.

 

Festival Scope versteht diesen Dienst, statt Video-on-Demand, deshalb eher als ‘Festival-on-Demand’[6]. Der Metapher folgend werden Merkmale eines Festivals virtuell repliziert. Dem entspricht auch, dass Festival Scope keinen großen Katalog an Filmtiteln zur freien Auswahl vorhält, sondern nur Filme in kuratierten Programme. Genau genommen sind die Streaming-Angebote dann doppelt kuratiert, denn aus dem Pool an Filmen, den die Programmjury des Festivals aus den Einreichungen programmiert hat, treffen das Festival und Festival Scope in einem nächsten Schritt eine zweite, engere Auswahl, die online angeboten wird.

 

 

MUBI

 

MUBI gibt es schon etwas länger als Festival Scope. Der Vorläufer “The Auteurs” wurde 2007 als Netzwerk für Cinephile gegründet[7]. In den ersten Jahren folgte “The Auteurs” dem Mediathek-Modell. Das heißt, es wurde eine Library an Filmen aufgebaut, um wichtige und interessante Filme, darunter auch Filmklassiker, der Öffentlichkeit online zugänglich zu machen. In vielen Fällen handelte es sich um Titel, die auf dem Verleihmarkt nicht mehr zur Verfügung standen. Dieses Mediathek-Modell war aber ökonomisch nicht tragfähig und wurde von einem Rotationsmodell abgelöst.

 

Mit dem geänderten Geschäftsmodell ist MUBI ein Pionier des kuratierten VoD-Angebots. Das Programm ähnelt dem eines Programmkinos. Nur dass es jeden Tag einen neuen Film gibt, der zeit- und ortsungebunden 30 Tage lang zu sehen ist bevor er ersetzt wird. Das Programm wird von MUBI publizistisch vom Magazin “Notebook” und kommunikativ von Kommentarfunktionen für die Community begleitet.

 

In seinen Specials bietet MUBI auch Filmfestivals eine Plattform. Wie in der Vergangenheit etwa den Internationalen Kurzfilmtagen Oberhausen, obwohl Kurzfilm bei MUBI nicht im Mittelpunkt steht.

 

Die Programme werden bei MUBI in enger Kooperation mit dem jeweiligen Festival abgesprochen. Neben kuratorischen Aspekten, spielt bei der Auswahl auch noch eine Rolle, dass man einem Film, der vielleicht gerade erst seine Premiere hatte, eine zukünftige ‘Festivalkarriere’ nicht durch eine frühe Online-Veröffentlichung verbauen möchte. Dieser Aspekt wird auch von Festival Scope beachtet. Aus dem gleichen Grund hat auch das Locarno-Filmfestival 2019 für seine Online-“Shorts Weeks” ältere Filme ausgewählt, die bereits 2017 ihre Festivalpremiere hatten.

 

Screenshot MUBI Special 26.8.2019

Die Online-Präsenz ist bei MUBI, wie für alle anderen Angebote, auch für Festivalfilme auf 30 Tage begrenzt. Die Filme werden bzw. müssen nicht unmittelbar nach der Festivalpremiere online gestellt werden. So wurden, zum Beispiel, die Filme aus dem Wettbewerb der Kurzfilmtage Oberhausen im Mai 2019 ab Mitte Juni auf MUBI veröffentlicht.[8]

 

Festivalprogramme sind für MUBI mit einem besonderen Aufwand verbunden, weil sie nicht so recht in die bestehende Struktur passen. Als Besucher der Website merkt man das auch, wenn man versucht das Oberhausen-Programm oder die Filme eines bestimmten Festivaljahres mit Hilfe der MUBI Benutzerschnittstellen zu finden.

 

MUBI müsste dafür Rubriken oder spezielle Kanäle einrichten. Solche Überlegungen werden bei MUBI derzeit angestellt, wie Anaïs Lebrun[9] auf dem VoD-Panel in Oberhausen erwähnte. Damit könnten zum Beispiel Collections aus dem vorhandenen Repertoire zusammengestellt werden oder spezielle Channels, die Filmgattungen wie zum Beispiel Kurzfilm gewidmet sind, angeboten werden.

 

Auf jeden Fall ist MUBI an weiteren Kooperationen mit Festivals interessiert. Das hat auch einen ganz praktischen Grund. Da MUBI eine kuratierte Streaming-Plattform ist, sind Vorschläge und Erfahrungen der Festivals willkommen. Im Kurzfilmsektor ist – im Unterschied zum Umfeld langer Spielfilme – die Expertise der Programmmacher von Festivals besonders gefragt. Das liegt an der enormen Vielfalt der kurzen Form und nicht zuletzt auch an der schieren Menge an Filmen. Beides kann von Mitarbeitern der VoD-Plattform nicht alleine bewältigt werden.[10]

 

 

Vorteile einer Kooperation mit VoD-Plattformen

 

Da sind zunächst einmal die Kosten zu nennen. Investitionen in eigene Asset-Management-Software und Server-Strukturen sowie deren Wartung entfallen. Die Nutzung der Dienstleistungen von VoD-Plattformen müssen aber natürlich bezahlt werden. Zu den Positionen gehören Marketing- und Technikkosten. Hinzukommen noch Kosten für Untertitelungen, die von der geografischen Reichweite, also der Zahl der Sprachen und Länder, in denen die Plattform präsent ist, abhängen. Der Mitteleinsatz ist für Filmfestivals aber unvergleichlich niedriger als die Kosten einer eigenen Plattform-Architektur, die sich mit großer Wahrscheinlichkeit nie amortisieren lassen.

 

Jede Streaming-Plattform hat außerdem einen eigenen Kundenstamm, der auf die Festivals und die Filme aufmerksam gemacht wird. Damit vervielfacht sich die Reichweite geografisch wie soziokulturell gegenüber der üblichen Reichweite eines ortsgebundenen Filmfestivals und seiner Anhängerschaft.

 

 

Video on Recommand[11]

 

Natürlich ist es möglich, wie es das Locarno Film Festival mit den “Shorts Weeks”[12] beispielhaft gezeigt hat, in Eigenregie auf der eigenen Website Festivalfilme, die auf einem Streaming-Dienstleister gehostet sind, einzubetten. Das ist aber nur als Gratisdienst, ohne Zugangsbeschränkung und ohne Feedback möglich. Und man erreicht nur den Personenkreis, der die Website besucht, sich also bereits für das Festival interessiert hat. Der Programmleiter des Kurzfilmwettbewerbs Pardi di domani, Giacomo Hug, wies aber darauf hin[13], dass so immerhin nicht nur die Filme und Filmemacher eine größere Sichtbarkeit erfahren haben, sondern auch das Festival davon profitierte, insofern sowohl potentielle Einreicher als auch potentielle Besucher sich ein Bild vom Profil des Festivals machen können und einen Eindruck vom Programm erhalten. Nicht zuletzt ist dies auch ein kleiner Ersatz für Interessierte, die selbst nicht zum Festival fahren können.

 

Dennoch, die Empfehlung für Festivals lautet mehrgleisig zu fahren und auf mehreren Plattformen präsent zu sein. Diese können ein jeweils anderes Klientel und Profil haben oder andere Territorien bedienen. Nicht ohne Grund ist auch das Locarno Film Festival sowohl bei MUBI (Special, expired) und bei Festival Scope (9. bis 31. August) präsent.

 

Ohnehin ergänzen sich die kuratierenden Plattformen eher als sie gegeneinander konkurrieren. Mit klassischen VoD-Plattformen, die Exklusivität verlangen und Filme passiv zum Abruf aus einer Videothek mit Tausenden von Titeln anbieten, sind solche Kooperationen schlecht möglich.

 

 

Verknappung erhöht Aufmerksamkeit

 

Eigentlich ist es paradox, wenn ausgerechnet im Internet, dessen Vorteile ja die dauerhafte Speicherung und ständige Verfügbarkeit sind, der Zugang zu Filmen künstlich eingeschränkt wird. Aber genau dies ist nach übereinstimmender Meinung der Panel-Teilnehmer in Oberhausen der Schlüssel zum Erfolg.

 

Die zeitliche Beschränkung auf eine relativ kurze Periode des Angebots und die künstliche Teilnehmerbeschränkung wirkt sozialpsychologisch motivierend. Sie unterstützt ein Social-Media-Phänomen, das als “Fear of Missing Out” (FOMO) bezeichnet wird. Und die Verknappung des Angebots wirkt, wie auch sonst in der Ökonomie, wertsteigernd.

 

Folglich erfüllen aber solche befristeten Modelle nicht den Wunsch von Filmfestivals nach ganzjähriger Erweiterung und Präsenz im Internet. Gleichwohl sind kuratierte VoD-Kooperation für Festivals (und Filmemacher) sehr nützlich. Sie generieren Aufmerksamkeit weit über die eigenen sozio-kulturellen und geografischen Grenzen hinaus. Filmfestival können so ihr Profil und den Wert ihrer Arbeit weit über die eigene Reichweite hinaus verbreiten und vermitteln.

 

 

Erfolg

 

Das Erfreuliche ist, und das war für mich das überraschendste Ergebnis der Podiumsdiskussion, dass auf diesen Plattformen der Kurzfilm, anders als vielleicht im Kino oder im Fernsehen, wirklich sehr erfolgreich ist. Nach übereinstimmender Meinung, und die Zahlen belegen dies, sind Kurzfilme in kuratierten Online-Programmen sogar erfolgreicher als Filme anderer Gattungen. Dies liegt in diesem Fall nicht nur an der kürzeren Laufzeit. Wie man vermuten darf, haben kurze Filme, angesichts der Bequemlichkeit der Nutzer und der Flüchtigkeit des Konsums von Medieninhalten auf mobilen Endgeräten, einen Vorteil gegenüber langen Filmen.

Der Erfolg basiert jedoch eher auf der Vermittlungsform. Kuratierte Programme sind attraktiver und vertrauenswürdiger als ein Katalogangebot meist unbekannter einzelner Titel. Das Renommee der Festivals, die als Programmanbieter in der sonst üblichen Verwertungskette den anonymen Aggregator vorteilhaft ersetzen, spielt dabei ebenso eine Rolle wie die fachliche Qualifizierung der Kuratoren, die hinter der Programmauswahl stehen. Die kooperierenden Plattformen tragen dann mit ihren speziellen Erfahrungen im Bereich Audience Building und mit ihrem technischem Support zum gemeinsamen Erfolg bei.

 

Reinhard W. Wolf

 

 

Anregung und Anstoß für den Artikel gab eine Panel-Diskussion bei den Internationalen Kurzfilmtagen 2019[14]

Siehe auch Teil 1 “Festivaleigene VoD-Initiativen

 

Ein Mitschnitt der Diskussion kann als Podcast (Indiefilmtalk) nachgehört werden

 

 

 

 

[1] Im Content Provider System (CPS) werden multimediale Daten und Anwendungen generiert, wie zum Beispiel das Encoding und Transcoding, interaktive Abspiel-Features oder mehrsprachige Untertitelungen. Das Service Provider System (SPS) umfasst die Speicherung der Inhalte und die Bereitstellung auf Anfrage der Endbenutzer. Da für jeden VoD-Benutzer in geographischer Nähe ein eigener Kanal bereitgestellt werden muss, ist ein Content Delivery Network, d.h. ein Netzwerk leistungsstarker Server erforderlich (CDN). Das Service Consumer System (SCS) liefert schließlich Content-Management-Funktionen, die auf das Endgerät des Benutzers abgestimmt sind und dort ausgeführt werden. Hierzu gehören u.a. Zugangs- und Abrechnungsysteme, das Digital Rights Management, Feedback-Kanäle und die Auswertung von Nutzerdaten.

 

[2] Auch VoD-Plattformen verwalten in der Regel nur den inhaltsbezogenen Bereich (CPS) selbst. Sie haben aber Verträge mit weiteren hochspezialisierten Unternehmen, bei denen sie die übrigen Systemleistungen (SPS, SCS) anmieten.

 

[3] Festival Scope gehört der Moving Scope SAS mit Sitz in Paris, die 2010 von Alessandro Raja, Mathilde Henrot and Lucie Kalmar gegründet wurde, um die B2B-Plattform Festival Scope Pro zu betreiben.

 

[4] nach Auskunft von Margo Cayla, Oberhausen 4.5.19

 

[5] Anmeldung https://pro.festivalscope.com/join

 

[6] Margo Cayla, ditto

 

[7] ursprünglich in Großbritannien gestartet, hat MUBI Inc. seinen Geschäftssitz inzwischen in den USA (Palo Alto, CA). Geschäftsführer ist Efe Çakarel, der Gründer des Vorgängers “The Auteurs”

 

[8] siehe auch “Competing at Oberhausen” https://mubi.com/de/specials/oberhausen

 

[9] Anaïs Lebrun, MUBI International Programming Director

 

[10] »I need help and cannot do everything by myself. So I need that network of people and festivals to help me to choose what would be the best film to show on the platform«, Anaïs Lebrun, Oberhausen 4.5.19

 

[11] »recommand is like a recommendation but you have no choice« (Urban Dictionary;-)

 

[12] Das Filmfestival von Locarno hatte Anfang 2019 einen Monat lang auf seiner Website jeden Tag einen neuen Film aus dem Kurzfilmprogramm Pardi di domani des Jahres 2017 angeboten. Die insgesamt 27 Filme blieben je eine Woche lang kostenlos verfügbar

Locarno Shorts Weeks 14.2. bis 12.3.2019: https://www.locarnofestival.ch/pardo/festival-del-film-locarno/section-and-awards/sections/pardi-di-domani/shorts-weeks/shorts-weeks

s.a. Kurzfilmmagazin News vom 1.3.19: https://www.shortfilm.de/locarno-film-festival-startet-shorts-weeks-online/

 

[13] [14] “Video-on-Demand: Neue Chancen für Filmemacher und Festivals?”, Oberhausen 4. Mai 2019; Teilnehmer: Margo Cayla (Festival Scope, Project Manger), Giacomo Hug (Locarno Film Festival, Pardi di domani Programming Office), Anaïs Lebrun (MUBI, Director of International Programming); Moderation: Reinhard W. Wolf

 

 

2 Trackbacks