Service providers in the short film sector – vertical integration among online suppliers

Topic

Screenshot Eventival 12-2019

 

For some time now, we have been observing a trend among what were once specialized platforms to offer more and more additional services that are not part of their original core business. This applies in particular to the dissemination and distribution of films, and more recently even to their financing and production.

 

All of this is made possible by advances in digitalization. As soon as sufficient data is available and an integrating application – a so-called framework – is running in the background, new possibilities suggest themselves. An inventive spirit along with economic pressure or simply the urge to make money take care of the rest: Whatever is technically feasible is put to the test and then into practice.

 

Typical services that can be combined on a single platform include festival submissions, licensing, film marketing and streaming. In the following I present some of the players that are of particularly relevance to short film. This list should not be misconstrued as recommending these service providers, however, which is why I present the examples largely in alphabetical order in order to avoid the impression of value judgements.

 

 

discover.film – Lizenzhandel + VoD + Filmfestivallicensing + VoD + film festival

 

Discover.film sees itself as a technology and entertainment platform for short films (“The Home of Short Movies”). The company acts as an OTT/VoD provider, a film distributor and a festival organizer.

 

It has its own catalogue of short films hosted by Vimeo’s over-the-top platform vhx.tv. The films can be watched via the company’s apps on almost any digital end device: a desktop browser, mobile device or smart TV. After a user registers for a free, streaming is likewise free of charge! A search for short films produced in Germany resulted in only one match: “Touch Me” by Eileen Byrne (First Steps Award 2018).

 

Discover.film’s distribution business is primarily aimed at onboard entertainment suppliers for airlines and railways. The company is also the organizer of the Discover Film Awards (“one of the biggest short film festivals in the world”). Awards in more than 30 (!) categories are presented once a year in a venerable arthouse cinema on London’s Leicester Square.

 

The business model is not easy to pin down. There is no information on the website about the rates charged for the various services. In addition to income from license sales, it can be assumed that submission fees for the “Festival” (“over 4,000 annual submissions”) are another source of revenue.

 

The platform is operated by Discover.Film Ltd (London, UK). The company was founded in 2016 by Sarah Jane Thomson (market researcher) and Steve Harmston (economist, e-commerce) as an IT service provider.

 

URL: https://discover.film/

Filmplattform: https://bestshortfilms.discover.film/browse/

 

 

Eventival – Veranstaltungsmanagement + Sichtungsplattform + Networking

 

event management + preview platform + networking

 

Eventival is an event management platform based in Prague (“The World’s No. 1 Film Festival Management Software”). Its predecessor was a simple application for managing data for film festivals (“DataKal”), which its founder and current CEO Tomáš Prášek developed with the help of a programmer after working in guest services at the Karlovy Vary Festival.

 

Eventival is in the meantime so complex that it would go beyond the scope of this article to list all its features.[1] At the core is still an application for managing guests and their accreditation, accommodation and travel plans, as well as a contact database.

 

The part of the frontend visible to guests is a form called a “Visitor Page” where festival guests can enter their coordinates (address, photo, CV, appointments, etc.). Links then allow those using this Visitor Page to do much more, for example send emails, reserve tickets, organize transport, and network and correspond with other visitors.

 

In the backend for festivals, the platform manages film submissions and information and materials on the films as well as programme planning including even a programme calendar and festival catalogue. The platform also offers an online preview and rating system for programmers. But this is not yet a unique selling point, because there are comparable providers such as Filmchief, FestiCiné, Mr. Schilling, Zone Festival etc.

 

What really distinguishes Eventival from the others is in particular its cooperation agreements and links with other platforms. There are for example interfaces with content providers and media databases such as Cinando (Cannes film market) and Vimeo and also with submission platforms (Festhome, FilmFestivalLife, Docfilmdepot, Moviebeta). And there are also links to ticketing platforms and communication services (Mailchimp etc.). Finally, the platform offers so-called payment gateways to payment services providers.

 

Eventival is based on a PHP framework and is hosted by Czech suppliers on servers in Prague.

 

Although “only” founded in 2009, Eventival has 440,000 Visitor Page users to date in 45 countries and is also deployed by 135 organizers. Eventival is “domiciled” in the Palais Lucerna, the largest Art Nouveau building in Prague. In Germany, Eventival is currently deployed by the Braunschweig International Film Festival, Film Festival Cologne, goEast and the Hof International Film Festival, among others.

User tip: Anyone who has been accredited or registered with a festival once via Eventival and does not want the data to be retained and used for other purposes can have it deleted by the platform’s operator. (Neither the user nor the festival can do the deleting.)

 

URL: https://www.eventival.com/

 

 

Festhome – submission platform aggregator + VoD + subtitling + DCP creation

 

The multilingual Spanish platform FESTHOME gives festivals a way to aggregate submissions made via almost all film submission platforms. Registration is free of charge for festivals, but 10% is charged for the handling of entry fees. Filmmakers can either subscribe for €50 a year for unlimited submissions or collect credit points for individual submissions as soon as the amount exceeds €9. A single submission costs €2.

 

Each filmmaker can present herself on a web page with linked or uploaded films. Festhome manages the submissions up to the point of acceptance or rejection by the festivals. It also takes over uploading and managing screeners up to 20GB.

 

Festhome says it works with more than 3,000 festivals (mainly short film festivals) and that some 90,000 films have passed through the platform to date.

 

The aggregator has now also launched the VoD platform indiehomeTV for independent films. The platform can be used via pay-per-view (starting at €0.99) or monthly (€4.99) or annual subscription (€49.99). I only found four German productions in the catalogue, including “Bis wir bluten” (Until We Bleed) by Rico Mahel. Filmmakers receive 85% of the proceeds from pay-per-view and, on a minute-by-minute basis, 70% of the take from SVoD, minus administration fees.

 

As a side-line, Festhome offers a translation and subtitling service. The platform also works with a partner for the production of DCPs, with prices starting at $52 for a short film.

 

FESTHOME LTD. was founded in 2010 by Catalan filmmaker Moisés Tuñón, Belgian media designer Daniel Fenaus and IT expert Victor Gonzalez. The head office is in London.

 

Worthy of note is that Festhome is committed to fair business practices and is recognized by both UFFO and Fair Submissions (of which it is a founding member). According its own information, its employees have refused to work with 1,400 festivals that were deemed fraudulent.

 

URL Vod:  https://indiehometv.festhome.com/ondemand

URL FAQs: https://filmmakers.festhome.com/ondemand_films/ondemand_help#28

URL FAQs Festivals: https://festivals.festhome.com/faqs-for-festivals#1

 

 

Shortfundly – one platform for everything

 

In a rather exotic and seemingly makeshift manner, the Indian start-up Shortfundly combines several services for short filmmakers on its “one-stop platform”. The main services or features are a kind of social network similar to LinkedIn, a submission platform, a streaming platform and a crowdfunding platform.

 

Filmmakers can use Shortfundly to plan their new projects and, for example, find team members, present their films on the internet platform or via app on mobile devices, find funding for their projects, promote their films and submit them to festivals. These basic services come free of charge for filmmakers. Shortfundly is financed by advertising revenue and percentage fees from film festivals.

 

The service has an online shop that offers users the opportunity to spend money on a colourful palette of extras. These include festival promo kits (589 rupees), film posters (399R), film trailers (399R), cinema releases (6.490R – in Bangalore 😉 and a professional film review for 599 rupees, along with plenty of other items both useful and superfluous.

 

Shortfundly claims to have more than 900 short-film makers registered and says it clocks 15,700 page views per month.

 

Shortfundly is based in Chennai (in the state of Tamil Nadu) and was founded in 2014 by IT engineers Selvam and P Maharajan.

 

URL: https://www.shortfundly.com/howitworks

 

 

The Film Festival Doctor – festival agency + event management + sales and marketing management

 

The British company, whose name merits a little smile, was founded by Dr. Rebekah Louisa Smith, who has a PhD in Film and Audience Research. The Film Festival Doctor may be the first enterprise of its kind and is definitely one of the pioneers among film agencies. Today, there are dozens of agencies that help filmmakers submit films to festivals for a fee and a cut of the profits. But the spectrum of what this “help” may entail is broad, ranging from simple festival applications to referral systems to personal advice. As these are usually stand-alone functions, these agencies do not however belong in this list.

 

Dr. Rebekah, by contrast, is on the verge of vertically integrating additional services and is in this respect as well blazing new trails in the field. Under the umbrella term Management Services, she has already expanded her service range beyond mere film festival management. Filmmakers can book so-called Bronze, Silver, Gold or Platinum Packages with staggered prices and services. This includes, in particular, having film sales organized via the platform and also the development of distribution strategies. Furthermore, The Film Festival Doctor will also organize advertising campaigns, manage events and has recently even started offering filmmakers assistance with managing their films’ theatrical release on their own. Script consulting, workshops and seminars on festival strategies as well as a shop with audio and e-books round off the offerings.

 

Originally specializing in short films, the agency now also offers its services for feature-length films. It is perhaps also worth noting that the management team consists entirely of women, with one exception.

The agency was established in 2011 as a Limited Company and is based in Pershore, Worcestershire (UK).

 

URL: https://www.thefilmfestivaldoctor.com/

 

 

Seed&Spark – crowdfunding + distribution + VoD + training

 

The US platform Seed&Spark comes to the field from a completely different “quarter”. Based on positive experiences in financing a film production through private supporters and donors, two female filmmakers founded the company as a crowdfunding platform for films. Today, the platform claims to have a success rate of 80% – putting it far ahead of Indiegogo and others.

Its recipe for success consists of consulting, seminars and workshops to help filmmakers prepare for production and launch crowdfunding campaigns, which the company offers nationwide.

 

The former core business is now flanked by a video-on-demand portal, where producers pay a small membership fee of $3, after which users are urged to support their streamed films with voluntary donations. In addition to films in the classic genres on quite diverse themes, the VoD offering also include curated playlists.

 

The video-on-demand platform is itself part of a distribution platform for finished films by Seed&Spark members. The filmmakers receive a 50% share of sales. The distribution services include project-related marketing strategies based on analyses of “deep audience data”.

 

Just which algorithms are applied here remains a company secret. For the collection of user data, only the usual queries about the user’s mood are visible in the frontend, along with a rather cool quiz,[2] which my browser with its strict anti-tracking settings refused to let me take.

 

The Los-Angeles-based company was founded in 2011 by Emily Best and Erica Anderson. Seed&Spark is financed mainly via venture capital and angel investors – among them an Advisory Director at Morgan Stanley, Jack Wadsworth, who sits on the supervisory board of Seed&Spark. The annual turnover is estimated at around €3 million. According to the company, more than 150,000 donors have spent around $24 million on more than 1,800 film projects to date.

URL: https://www.seedandspark.com

VoD: https://www.seedandspark.com/watch#overview

 

 

Vertical integration – risks and side effects

 

All in all, the importance of internet-based platforms that offer intermediary OTT services meeting the diverse needs of different user groups is growing.

 

Many of the new services seem plausible and helpful at first glance. The operators of these platforms act as integrators who take on and coordinate tasks that filmmakers usually view as onerous necessities – for example festival submissions, film mailings and marketing.

 

The extreme case would be full vertical integration on a single platform. In the business world, vertical integration is when a company tries to expand its fields of business until it controls the entire value chain. Undesirable dependencies may arise, however, if the whole cycle of production, marketing, transport logistics and sales is all in one hand.

 

What’s more, new ways of collecting and consolidating structured data create considerable potential for players outside the industry. Caution is always advised when people who do not come from the film world but perhaps from the e-commerce or IT sector instead start to enter the market.

 

I would advise filmmakers to check carefully whether such offerings are really reputable, and above all to weigh in each case whether the cost of committing to a service provider is worthwhile. Because what always amazes me is that, for all the money that is apparently made with short films, it seems not to benefit their makers so much but to instead come out of their own pockets.

 

Reinhard W. Wolf

 

 

[1] Full list of features: https://www.eventival.com/en/features/film-festivals

[2] https://www.seedandspark.com/watch#discover

Dienstleister im Kurzfilmsektor – vertikale Integration bei Online-Anbietern

Thema

Screenshot Eventival 12-2019

 

Seit geraumer Zeit lässt sich der Trend beobachten, dass ehemals spezialisierte Plattformen immer öfter Zusatzdienste anbieten, die nicht zum ursprünglichen Kerngeschäft gehören. Dies betrifft insbesondere die Verbreitung und Vermittlung von Filmen, neuerdings sogar ihre Finanzierung und deren Produktion.

 

Ermöglicht wird dies durch die fortschreitende Digitalisierung. Sobald ausreichend Daten vorliegen und im Hintergrund ohnehin eine integrierende Anwendung – ein sogenanntes Framework – arbeitet, liegen neue Verknüpfungen buchstäblich nahe. Erfindergeist, aber auch wirtschaftlicher Druck oder einfache Profitabsichten tun ihr Übriges: Was technisch möglich ist, wird auch probiert und umgesetzt.

 

Zu den typischen Dienstleistungen, die auf einer einzigen Plattform miteinander kombiniert werden können, gehören Festivaleinreichungen, Lizenzhandel, Filmmarketing und Streaming-Dienste. Einige Akteure mit Angeboten, die besonders für den Kurzfilm relevant sind, stelle ich hier im Folgenden vor. Die Aufstellung soll bitte nicht als Empfehlung verstanden werden, weshalb ich die Beispiele auch um Wertungen zu vermeiden weitgehend in alphabetischer Folge vorstelle.

 

 

discover.film – Lizenzhandel + VoD + Filmfestival

 

Discover Film versteht sich als Technologie- und Unterhaltungsplattform für Kurzfilme (“The Home of Short Movies”). Discover Film tritt als OTT-VoD-Anbieter, als Filmhändler und als Festivalveranstalter auf.

 

Die Plattform verfügt über einen Katalog von Kurzfilmen, der von Vimeo’s Over-the-Top Plattform vhx.tv gehostet wird. Die Filme können auf fast allen digitalen Endgeräten ausgegeben werden: auf dem Desktop per Browser sowie mobil und auf Smart TVs mit firmeneigenen Apps. Das Streaming ist – nach einer gebührenfreien Registrierung – kostenlos! Die Suche nach Kurzfilmen aus dem Produktionsland “Germany” ergab nur diesen einen Treffer: “Touch Me” von Eileen Byrne (First Steps Award 2018).

 

Der Filmhandel von Discover.Film richtet sich vor allem an Onboard Entertainment Anbieter für Fluggesellschaften und Eisenbahnen. Das Unternehmen ist außerdem Veranstalter der Discover Film Awards (“one of the biggest short film festivals in the world”). Die Preise in mehr als 30 Kategorien (!) werden einmal jährlich in einem altehrwürdigen Programmkino am Leicester Square vergeben.

 

Das Geschäftsmodell ist nicht eindeutig erkennbar. Auf der Website gibt es keine Informationen über die Tarife für die angebotenen Dienstleistungen. Als Einnahmequellen können neben Einkünfte aus Lizenzverkäufen auch Einreichgebühren zum ‘Festival’ (“over 4000 annual submissions”) vermutet werden.

 

Die Plattform wird von Discover.Film Ltd (London, UK) betrieben. Das Unternehmen wurde 2016 von Sarah Jane Thomson (Marktforscherin) und Steve Harmston (Ökonom, E-Commerce) als Informationstechnologie-Dienstleister gegründet.

 

URL: https://discover.film/

Filmplattform: https://bestshortfilms.discover.film/browse/

 

 

Eventival – Veranstaltungsmanagement + Sichtungsplattform + Networking

 

Eventival ist eine Event-Management-Plattform mit Sitz in Prag (“The World’s No. 1 Film Festival Management Software”). Vorläufer war eine einfache Anwendung zur Verwaltung von Daten für Filmfestivals (“DataKal”), die ihr Gründer und heutiger CEO Tomaš Prásek nach seiner Tätigkeit beim Gästeservice des Karlovy Vary Festivals zusammen mit einem Programmierer entwickelt hat.

 

Eventival ist heute so komplex, dass es den Rahmen sprengen würde alle Funktionen[1] aufzuführen, die Eventival integriert. Im Kern arbeitet immer noch eine Anwendung für die Verwaltung von Gästen beziehungsweise ihrer Akkreditierungen, Unterkunftsvermittlung und Reiseplanung sowie eine Kontaktdatenbank im Hintergrund.

 

Der für Gäste sichtbare Teil im Frontend ist ein “Visitor Page” genanntes Formular, in dem Festivalgäste ihre Koordinaten hinterlegen können (Anschriften, Foto, CV, Termine etc.). Durch Verknüpfungen kann diese Visitor Page aber noch viel mehr. Wie zum Beispiel E-Mail-Kommunikation, Ticketreservierungen, die Organisation von Fahrdiensten und die Vernetzung bzw. Korrespondenz der Besucher untereinander.

 

Im Backend für Festivals verwaltet die Plattform Filmeinreichungen, Informationen und Materialien zu den Filmen sowie die Programmplanung bis zum Programmkalender und Festivalkatalog. Außerdem bietet die Plattform ein Online-Sichtungs- und Bewertungssystem für die Programmacher. Dies ist aber noch kein Alleinstellungsmerkmal, denn es gibt vergleichbare Anbieter wie etwa Filmchief, FestiCiné, Mr. Schilling, Zone Festival etc.

 

Es sind insbesondere die Kooperationsvereinbarungen und Verknüpfungen mit anderen Plattformen, die Eventival von anderen unterscheidet. So gibt es Schnittstellen zu Content Providern und Mediendatenbanken wie Cinando (Filmmarkt, Cannes) oder Vimeo und zu Einreichplattformen (Festhome, FilmFestivalLife, Docfilmdepot, Moviebeta). Außerdem Verknüpfungen zu Ticketing-Plattformen und zu Kommunikationsdiensten (Mailchimp u.a.). Schließlich auch noch sogenannte Payment Gateways zu Zahlungsdienstleistern.

 

Eventival basiert auf einem PHP Framework und wird von tschechischen Anbietern auf Servern in Prag gehostet.

 

Obwohl ‘erst’ 2009 gegründet hat Eventival bis heute 440.000 Visitor Page-Nutzer in 45 Ländern und wird von 135 Veranstaltern eingesetzt. Eventival ‘residiert’ im Palais Lucerna, dem größten Jugendstilgebäude von Prag. In Deutschland wird Eventival derzeit u.a. vom Braunschweiger Filmfestival, Filmfestival Cologne, goEast und den Hofer Filmtagen genutzt.

 

Nutzertipp: wer einmal über Eventival bei einem Festival akkreditiert beziehungsweise angemeldet war und nicht möchte, dass die Daten behalten und für andere Zwecke ausgewertet werden, kann beim Betreiber der Plattform (nicht selbst und nicht beim Festival) die Löschung veranlassen.

 

URL: https://www.eventival.com/

 

 

Festhome – Einreichplattform-Aggregator + VoD + Untertitelung + DCP-Erstellung

 

Die mehrsprachige spanische Plattform FESTHOME ist ein Aggregator, der Festivaleinreichungen über fast alle Filmeinreichplattformen auf teilnehmenden Festivals als zentralen Dienst anbietet. Die Registrierung ist für Festivals kostenfrei, jedoch werden für die Zahlungsabwicklung von Entry Fees 10% Gebühren berechnet. Filmemacher wird für knapp 50 € ein Jahresabo für unlimitierte Einreichungen oder der Erwerb von Kreditpunkten ab 9 € für Einzeleinreichungen angeboten. Eine einzelne Einreichung kostet 2 €.

 

Jeder Filmemacher erhält eine Internetseite zur Selbstdarstellung mit verlinkten oder hochgeladenen Filmen. Festhome verwaltet die Einreichungen bis zu Annahme oder Ablehnung der Festivals. Festhome bietet außerdem den Upload und die Verwaltung von Vorführkopien bis 20GB an.

 

Laut eigenen Angaben arbeiten mehr als 3.000 Festivals (überwiegend Kurzfilmfestivals) mit Festhome zusammen und wurden bislang etwa 90.000 Filme vermittelt.

 

Das zweite, neuere Standbein ist die VoD-Plattform indiehomeTV für unabhängige Filme. Die Plattform bietet die Nutzung als Pay-per-View (ab 0,99 €) oder als monatliche (4,99 €) und jährliche Subskription (49,99 €) an. Im Katalog fand ich nur vier deutsche Produktionen, darunter “Bis wir bluten” von Rico Mahel.

Die Filmemacher erhalten 85% der Pay-per-View-Einnahmen und auf Minutenbasis 70% der SVoD-Einnahmen abzüglich der Verwaltungskosten.

 

Als Nebengeschäft bietet Festhome einen Übersetzungs- und einen Untertitelungsdienst an. Außerdem vermittelt die Plattform die Herstellung von DCPs bei einem Partner ab $52 für einen Kurzfilm.

 

FESTHOME LTD. wurde 2010 von dem katalanischen Filmemacher Moisés Tuñón und dem belgischen Mediendesigner Daniel Fenaus und dem IT-Fachmann Victor Gonzalez gegründet. Der Hauptfirmensitz ist in London.

 

Positiv hervorzuheben ist, das Festhome sich zu fairen Geschäftspraktiken verpflichtet und sowohl von UFFO als auch Fair Submissions (als Gründungsmitglied) anerkannt wird. Laut eigenen Angaben wurden 1400 Festivals von Mitarbeitern als betrügerisch eingeschätzt und abgelehnt.

 

URL Vod:  https://indiehometv.festhome.com/ondemand

URL FAQs: https://filmmakers.festhome.com/ondemand_films/ondemand_help#28

URL FAQs Festivals: https://festivals.festhome.com/faqs-for-festivals#1

 

 

Shortfundly – eine Plattform für Alles

 

Eher exotisch und von der Anmutung her ziemlich handgestrickt kombiniert das indische Startup-Unternehmen Shortfundly mehrere Dienste für Kurzfilmemacher auf ihrer “One Stop Platform” an. Die wichtigsten Dienste oder Funktionen sind eine Art Linkedin, eine Einreichplattform, eine Streaming-Plattform und eine Crowdfunding Platform.

 

Filmemacher können auf dieser Plattform ihre neuen Projekte planen und, zum Beispiel, Teammitarbeiter finden, ihre Filme auf der Internet-Plattform oder per App auf mobilen Endgeräten vorstellen, Funding für ihre Projekte finden, für ihre Filme werben und sie bei Festivals einreichen.

Diese Basisdienste sind für Filmemacher kostenlos. Shortfundly finanziert sich aus Werbeeinnahmen und prozentualen Gebühren von Filmfestivals.

 

Ein eigener Online-Shop gibt Gelegenheit Geld auszugeben und bietet ein buntes Bukett an Extras an. Etwa Festival Promo-Kits (589 Rupien), Filmposter (399R), Filmtrailer (399R), Kinoaufführungen (6.490R – in Bangalore;-) oder eine professionelle Filmkritik für 599 Rupien und vieles Nützliches und Überflüssiges mehr.

 

Nach eigenen Angaben haben sich bei Shortfundly mehr als 900 Kurzfilmemacher registriert und bekommt die Plattform 15.700 Page Views pro Monat.

 

Shortfundly hat seinen Sitz in Chennai (im Bundesstaat Tamil Nadu) und wurde 2014 von den IT-Ingenieuren Selvam and P Maharajan gegründet.

 

URL: https://www.shortfundly.com/howitworks

 

 

The Film Festival Doctor – Festivalvermittlung + Eventmanagement + Sales und Marketing Management

 

Das britische Unternehmen, dessen Namen zumindest ein Schmunzeln verdient, müsste auf Deutsch eigentlich Festivaldoktorin heißen, denn gegründet wurde es von einer Frau, die einen PhD in Film und Audience Research hat: Dr. Rebekah Louisa Smith. The Film Festival Doctor ist möglicherweise das erste Unternehmen seiner Art und gehört auf jeden Fall zu den Pionieren unter den Filmvermittlern. Heute gibt es Dutzende solcher Unternehmen, die gegen Gebühren und Erfolgsprämien Filme im Auftrag ihrer Autoren an Festivals vermitteln, das heißt sich um die Einreichungen kümmern. Das Spektrum des ‘Kümmerns’ ist breit und reicht vom simplen Anmeldungen bei Festivals über Empfehlungssysteme bis zur persönlichen Beratung. Da es sich in der Regel um Standalone-Funktionen handelt, gehören diese Agenturen aber nicht in diese Aufstellung.

 

Dr. Rebekah ist aber auf dem Sprung zur vertikalen Integration zusätzlicher Dienste und darin auch wieder eine Vorreiterin. Unter dem Oberbegriff Management Services hat sie ihr Dienstleistungsangebot bereits über das reine Film Festival Management hinaus erweitert. Filmemacher können sogenannte Bronze, Silver, Gold und Platinum Packages mit gestaffelten Preisen und Leistungen dazu buchen. Hierzu gehört insbesondere das Angebot Filmverkäufe zu organisieren und Vertriebsstrategien zu entwickeln. Weiterhin bietet The Film Festival Doctor die Organisation von Werbekampagnen, ein Eventmanagement und neuerdings sogar Hilfe beim ‘theatrical’ Selbstverleih von Filmen in Kinos. Drehbuchberatung, Workshops und Seminare über Festivalstrategien sowie ein Shop mit Audio- und E-Books runden das Angebot ab.

 

Ursprünglich auf Kurzfilm spezialisiert, ‘verarztet’ das Unternehmen inzwischen auch um Langfilme. Bemerkenswert ist vielleicht noch, dass das Leitungsteam bis auf eine Ausnahme ausschließlich aus Frauen besteht.

Das Unternehmen wurde 2011 als Limited Company gegründet und hat seinen Sitz in Pershore, Worcestershire (UK).

 

URL: https://www.thefilmfestivaldoctor.com/

 

 

Seed&Spark – Crowdfunding + Distribution + VoD + Ausbildung

 

Aus einer völlig anderen ‘Ecke’ kommt die US-amerikanische Plattform Seed&Spark. Aufgrund positiver Erfahrungen bei der Finanzierung einer Filmproduktion mit der Einwerbung privater Unterstützer und Spender, gründeten zwei Filmemacherinnen das Unternehmen als Crowdfunding-Plattform für Filme. Heute steht die Plattform nach eigenen Angaben mit einer Erfolgsrate von 80% – weit vor Indiegogo und anderen.

Das Rezept zum Erfolg sind Beratungen, Seminare und Workshops zur Vorbereitung der Produktion und der Crowdfunding-Kampagnen, die das Unternehmen landesweit anbietet.

 

Das ehemalige Kerngeschäft wird von einem Video-on-Demand-Portal flankiert, das nach Zahlung einer geringen Beitrittsgebühr von $3, die Benutzer auffordert die Produzenten der gestreamten Filme mit Beträgen in freiwilliger Höhe zu unterstützen. Das VoD-Angebot lässt sich neben den klassischen Genre- und Gattungs-Rubriken über ziemlich diversifizierte Themen, aber auch kuratierte Playlists erschließen.

 

Die Video-on-Demand-Plattform ist selbst Teil einer Vertriebsplattform für fertiggestellte Filme von Seed&Spark-Mitgliedern. Die Filmemacher werden mit 50% am Umsatz beteiligt. Zum Distribution-Angebot gehören projektbezogene Marketingstrategien, die auf Auswertungen von “Deep audience data” beruhen.

 

Welche Algorithmen da am Werk sind, bleibt aber das Geheimnis des Unternehmens. Zur Ermittlung von Nutzerdaten sind im Frontend nur die üblichen Abfragen nach der Stimmung der Nutzer sichtbar und ein ziemlich cooles Quiz[2], dem mein, ziemlich scharf gegen Tracking eingestellter, Browser aber die Kooperation verweigerte.

 

Das Unternehmen wurde 2011 von Emily Best und Erica Anderson gegründet und hat seinen Sitz in Los Angeles. Wirtschaftlich wird Seed&Spark überwiegend durch Venture-Kapital und von ‘Investor Angels’ unterstützt – unter ihnen ein Advisory Director der Morgan Stanley Bank, Jack Wadsworth, der im Aufsichtsrat von Seed&Spark sitzt. Der jährliche Umsatz wird auf circa €3 Millionen geschätzt.

Nach eigenen Angaben haben bisher mehr als 150.000 Spender etwa $24 Mio für mehr als 1.800 Filmprojekte ausgegeben.

 

URL: https://www.seedandspark.com

VoD: https://www.seedandspark.com/watch#overview

 

 

Vertikale Integration – Risiken und Nebenwirkungen

 

Insgesamt nimmt vor allem die Bedeutung von internetbasierten Plattformen zu – als Intermediäre OTT-Dienste, die Bedürfnisse verschiedener Nutzergruppen zusammenführen.

 

Viele der neuen Dienste erscheinen auf Anhieb plausibel und hilfreich. Betreiber dieser Plattformen agieren als Integratoren, die dem einzelnen Filmemacher eher lästige Aufgaben – wie etwa Festivaleinreichungen, Filmversände oder Vermarktung – abnehmen und koordinieren.

 

Der Extremfall wäre die vollständige vertikale Integration auf einer Plattform. In der Wirtschaft spricht man von vertikaler Integration, wenn ein Unternehmen versucht seine Geschäftsfelder so auszudehnen, dass es die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette kontrollieren kann. Es kann aber zu unerwünschten Abhängigkeiten führen, wenn der Kreislauf zwischen Produktion, Vermarktung, Transportlogistik und Verkauf in einer einzigen Hand liegt.

 

Durch neue Möglichkeiten, strukturierte Daten zu erheben und zu konsolidieren, entstehen auch erhebliche Potenziale für branchenfremde Akteure. Es ist auf jeden Fall Vorsicht geboten, wenn Akteure auf den Markt drängen, die nicht aus der Branche, sondern etwa aus dem E-Commerce oder IT-Sektor kommen.

 

Filmemachern empfehle ich solche Angebote genau auf ihre Seriosität zu prüfen und vor allem abzuwägen, ob sich im Einzelfall der finanzielle Aufwand für einen Einstieg lohnt. Denn, und das verblüfft mich immer wieder, es wird mit Kurzfilmen offenbar viel Geld verdient, das aber nicht bei den Machern ankommt, sondern im Gegenteil von ihnen ausgegeben wird.

 

 

Reinhard W. Wolf

 

 

[1] Full list of features: https://www.eventival.com/en/features/film-festivals

[2] https://www.seedandspark.com/watch#discover