Best practice benchmarks for film festivals

Topic

Not all too long ago, short film festivals were few and far between. Their organizational form and mode of operation was pretty much the same all over the world. Festivals with international competitions followed similar, if not identical, sets of rules and conventions. Today, however, there are thousands of events and occasions that describe themselves as festivals. Most do not deserve this appellation, many work with obscure regulations, and some even make do without any rules or terms & conditions at all.

It’s becoming increasingly difficult for both the industry and the audience to distinguish between these events and to judge their quality. Filmmakers in particular are faced with the decision of whether and where to submit their films in view of the plethora of practices on the festival circuit today. Unfortunately, an increasing number of black sheep can be found among the festival organizers – operators who have introduced practices that are unfair to the audience, their festival colleagues and above all the filmmakers. Against this backdrop, some uniform conventions and standard criteria would certainly be a welcome addition to the festival scene.

A model could be provided by the “Code of Ethics” in 1995 by the International Short Film Conference (ISFC). This code would however have to be adapted flexibly to a wider circle of organizers.

The Code of Ethics espoused by the International Short Film Conference is a detailed catalogue of rules and principles for fair treatment of films and filmmakers at festivals. Although the ISFC, an international association of short film festivals, is no longer active, its ethics policy still has an impact today. In particular the major international festivals have incorporated these principles into their own sets of regulations. The Code of Ethics has hence become a kind of distinction or seal of quality.

What motivated the drafting of this Code of Ethics? At a time when new festivals were springing up all over, the initiators of the code in the International Short Film Conference discerned an atmosphere of “confusion and drifting apart of practices”. As stated in a press release announcing the Code of Ethics, the association was observing with concern “a few dangerous excesses and trends”. It feared that the recent positive achievements of the festival scene as a new network for the dissemination of short film could be in jeopardy.

Alongside this public justification, which mainly recommends a kind of best practice in dealing with films and filmmakers, there were additional, internal, motives. These had to do with relations between festivals, which after all not only have much in common, but are also often enough rivals. It was hoped that committing festivals to a common set of rules would help to even out the playing field. If the rules are followed, no organizer can get an unfair edge on the others by implementing “˜illegitimate’ practices.

This type of code thus also marks off a dividing line, shutting out organizers who are not willing to follow the rules. The latter are no longer part of the club and hence in a sense disqualified. FIAPF, the international producers’ organization, may have set a good example here by drafting a list of criteria by which to rate festivals. The best-known result is the recognition of a feature film festival as an “˜A’ festival. This is not merely a lofty honour, but rather a question of status.

In any case, the ISFC’s Code of Ethics forms an excellent basis upon which to discuss the matter and derive suggestions on what can be done in terms of short film festivals.

 

Preamble: What is a festival?

The crux already begins with the word “˜festival’. This concept has long since been watered down – a trend that the International Short Film Conference’s Code of Ethics was designed to halt. Especially in the short film arena, film events are often described as a “˜festival’ for promotional purposes without really earning that title. The inflation of the festival concept has already gone so far, though, that organizers can hardly been blamed for using the term without hesitation or qualms. The word “˜festival’ is unfortunately not copyrighted, and many events that are in fact genuine festivals do not bear this title, but call themselves instead “˜film days’ or “˜film week’.

True film festivals are events held by the industry for the industry. They are comparable from a commercial standpoint with trade shows or industrial fairs, and in cultural terms with artistic platforms. Their purpose is primarily to offer an opportunity for exchange and encounter between professionals and creative talents.

 

Attempt at a definition:

In a preamble, the authors of the Code of Ethics tried to come up with a uniform definition of content that would lend itself to setting up positive qualitative and quantitative norms while also forming a clear line of demarcation. They state, first, that a festival views cinema as an art form and films as artistic works. And they go on to say that the main task of a festival is to present films that have not yet been released or are seldom screened.

Furthermore, criteria for selection, presentation and programming are named, such as the importance of a festival developing its own artistic position and of presenting films from artistic, societal or historical perspectives.

Notable in the preamble is also the comment that new festivals should first obtain an overview of the overall situation on the festival scene in order to insert themselves within it as harmoniously as possible, forming a valuable complement to the offerings already available. The codex thus disapproves of the establishment of parallel events for existing festivals and on the observed inundation of the scene with new festivals.

Events that cannot be taken seriously in accordance with this definition because they serve exclusively as popular entertainment for the general public are not excluded directly, but rather indirectly by an additional positive criterion stated in the preamble: the role of a festival is to arouse the curiosity of the audience and to promote the spread of information and education. Although the latter two are malleable concepts, the message is nonetheless clear!

Since the Code of Ethics is aimed at major international short film festivals, its individual provisions are not always suitable for application to national or regional festivals. The following thus makes a few proposals for corresponding adjustments.

 

General criteria

  • Festivals are organized and administered by independent bodies. (Counter-example: a film competition hosted by a business as part of its marketing campaign is not a festival.)
  • The duration of the event is a criterion: an event that offers a programme for just one or a few evenings should not call itself a festival. The code recommends that international film festivals run for between five and twelve days with several daily presentations.
  • At festivals that call themselves “˜international’, at least 50% of the films should come from abroad, from several different countries.
  • Festivals should invite the authors of competition films to come to the festival and meet representatives from the trade press and the industry. The latter group consists particularly of producers, distributors, buyers, curators and other festival organizers, who are likewise invited. (Conversely: events without trade press and professional industry representatives in attendance are not film festivals.)
  • The majority of a jury must consist of film professionals or artists.

 

Best-practice benchmarks benefiting authors and filmmakers

  • The organizers must publish a written set of regulations defining, among other things, conditions for participation, how films are selected and what prizes are to be awarded. The regulations for international festivals should be available in several languages.
  • The festival catalogue should provide a synopsis and cast & crew list for each film, along with the complete address of the producer, distributor and/or print source.
  • The films should be shown in their original medium, format and length (e.g. no video or DVD copies).
  • All films in a competition are to be treated equally in terms of publicity, presentation, discussion opportunities, screening venue and number of screenings.
  • The film prints should be insured.
  • Copyrights must be observed.

 

Rules against abusive and unfair business practices

  • No fees may be charged to submit work or take part in the festival.
  • A written consent form must be signed by the rights holders of all films presented.
  • A film may be screened only a limited number of times at the festival.
  • Film excerpts advertising the festival in the media must be no longer than 10% of the running time of the film, and a maximum of 3 minutes long. Here as well, the written consent of the rights holder must be obtained.
  • For touring programmes following the festival, separate contracts must be concluded. The authors must receive a share of any income realized (for example through admission fees). Otherwise, the same rules apply for tour events as for screening during the actual festival.

 

Exclusivity or broad exposure?

The rules in the Code of Ethics of the International Short Film Conference go into much further detail than proposed above. They include very precise, even quantitatively specified rules for conducting a festival. This may be important in an international framework, in which a few major festivals agree on common practices in order to avoid competing.

But on the national or regional level, this would have the effect of excluding many organizers. The idea is not to distinguish a few “˜important and correct’ festivals from the others as an exclusive club, which is the impression one gets from the ISFC’s Code of Ethics and the FIAPF. Instead, criteria should be defined in such a way that as many serious organizers as possible are able to get on board.

Nevertheless, the criteria must not be so flexible that they constitute a carte blanche for all possible practices. No concessions can be made, for example, when it comes to fair treatment of the filmmakers and respectful handling of their works.

 

Rental fees and application fees

Unlike on the international festival scene, the financial framework conditions for short film festivals must be evaluated differently and the rules expanded and adapted to the character of each event. For example, the ISFC’s Code of Ethics prohibits the payment of rental fees for films. But for short film festivals, which are increasingly serving the function of a screening platform – in fact often the only one available for certain films – the opposite would actually be desirable.

The Code of Ethics of the Short Film Conference also frowns on asking filmmakers to pay application fees. This rule was probably taken from the European Film Festival Coordination’s code of ethics, which is worded almost identically to that of the ISFC. But in many countries outside Europe where there is no public funding for festivals, such as the USA, this kind of prohibition is probably illusory.

As always when money is at stake, abuse and fraud can be found here and there. Cases now and then come to light, for example, in which application fees are charged online for an event that is either not a festival or that doesn’t even exist at all.

 

No free content for fake festivals

Short film events for the broad public that make a profit on admissions form a special case. The organizers of such events, which provide neither exposure beyond the region nor an infrastructure for professional visitors, can hardly call their undertaking a festival and should by all means pay rental fees to the filmmakers.

Large-scale open-air short film events could take their cue from the usual practice in the feature film sector, where a higher lump-sum film rental fee is paid than when a film is shown at the cinema. Financial benefits enjoyed by the organizers could thus be passed onto the filmmakers.

Basically, it is necessary to prevent event organizers from purporting to put on a “˜festival’ in order to obtain free content and use the resulting profits to finance their own operation. For Internet competitions this is unfortunately already common practice.

 

Imposing sanctions difficult

Rules can usually be enforced best when violators are at risk of sanctions. The example of the International Short Film Conference shows that this is possible within an association. In general, the more prominent the organization, or the better the self-regulating body can position itself before the professional public (see FIAPF), the greater the chances that such rules will have an impact on non-members as well. This would be the best possible solution. But a major step could also be to orient efforts along best practice guidelines, i.e. benchmarks that are accepted by as many organizers as possible and are implemented by them voluntarily. This would in turn put pressure on other organizers, or at least allow for a differentiation between those who follow the rules and those who do not. Ultimately, it’s up to the filmmakers themselves whether an event is supported and recognized as a festival.

There will always be some black sheep. That’s why every filmmaker would do well to ask around on the film scene and to read the fine print before submitting a film to a purported festival. And if the event doesn’t even have a set of regulations or any fine print to read – beware!

Notes:
This text is based on an article that was published in the AG Kurzfilm’s 2009 Short Report.

The Code of Ethics of the International Short Film Festival Conference was adapted to short film festivals in 1995 at the Carrefour des Festival. That same year, the former European Film Festival Coordination passed a nearly identical code whose rules also apply to feature film festivals.

 

Original Page

Best Practice Benchmarks für Filmfestivals

Thema

Noch vor gar nicht langer Zeit war die Zahl der Kurzfilmfestivals überschaubar gering. In ihrer Organisationsform und in ihrem Auftreten unterschieden sie sich weltweit kaum voneinander. Festivals mit internationalen Wettbewerben folgten ähnlichen, wenn nicht sogar gleichen Reglements und Konventionen. Inzwischen gibt es aber Tausende von Veranstaltungen und Ereignisse, die sich als Festival bezeichnen. Die Meisten verdienen diesen Namen nicht, viele arbeiten mit obskuren Reglements, manche gänzlich ohne Regeln oder Geschäftsbedingungen.

Sowohl für die Branche als auch für das Publikum wird es immer schwieriger Unterscheidungen und Bewertungen zu treffen. Insbesondere Filmemacher stehen bei der Entscheidung, ob und wo sie ihre Filme einreichen, vor einer schwer einzuschätzenden Vielfalt an Veranstaltungspraktiken. Leider finden sich unter den Veranstaltern auch immer häufiger schwarze Schafe, die sich in ihrer Praxis gegenüber dem Publikum, den Festivalkollegen und insbesondere gegenüber den Filmemachern nicht fair verhalten. Vor diesem Hintergrund wäre es sinnvoll, wenn es Konventionen und übereinstimmende Kriterien gäbe.

Vorbild könnte der “Code of Ethics” sein, der 1995 von der International Short Film Conference (ISFC) verabschiedet wurde. Allerdings wäre eine flexible Anpassung der Regeln dieses Ehrenkodex auf einen breiteren Veranstalterkreis erforderlich.

Beim “Code of Ethics” der International Short Film Conference handelt es sich um einen ausführlichen Katalog von Regeln und Grundsätzen für einen fairen Umgang mit Filmen und Filmemachern auf Festivals. Obwohl die ISFC, ein internationaler Verbund von Kurzfilmfestivals, nicht mehr aktiv ist, hat sein Ehrenkodex bis heute Spuren hinterlassen. Vor allem die großen internationalen Festivals haben die dort aufgestellten Regeln in ihr Reglement eingearbeitet. Damit ist der “Code of Ethics” eine Art Prädikat oder Qualitätsmerkmal geworden.

Was waren die Motive für den Ehrenkodex? Die Initiatoren in der International Short Film Conference stellten in einer Zeit, in der überall neue Festivals aus dem Boden schossen, eine “Konfusion und ein Auseinanderdriften der Praktiken” fest. Der Verband beobachtete, wie es anlässlich der Veröffentlichung des Code of Ethics hieß, mit Sorge “einige gefährliche Exzesse und Trends”. Er fürchtete, dass die jüngsten, positiven Errungenschaften der Festivallandschaft als neuem Netzwerk der Kurzfilmverbreitung gefährdet seien.

Neben dieser öffentlichen Begründung, die vor allem eine Art Best Practice im Umgang mit Filmen und Filmemachern empfiehlt, gab es noch andere, interne Motive. Sie betrafen die Binnenverhältnisse von Festivals, die ja nicht nur Gemeinsamkeiten haben, sondern oft auch in Konkurrenz zueinander stehen. Die Verpflichtung auf einen gemeinsamen Regelkatalog sollte also auch zu einer Gleichstellung führen. Denn, werden die Regeln befolgt, so kann sich kein Veranstalter gegenüber einem anderen durch “illegitime” Praktiken einen Vorteil verschaffen.

Damit zieht ein solches Regelwerk natürlich eine Trennlinie und grenzt jene Veranstalter aus, die nicht bereit sind die Regeln zu befolgen. Diese gehören dann nicht zum Club und sind quasi disqualifiziert. Hier mag wohl auch das Vorbild der FIAPF eine Rolle gespielt haben, also jene internationale Produzentenorganisation, die ein Regularium für Festivals aufgestellt hat, nach dem sie Festivals beurteilt. Am Bekanntesten ist dabei die Zuerkennung des Status eines A-Festivals unter den Spielfilmfestivals. Es geht also nicht nur um eine hehre Ehrensache, sondern auch um Statusfragen.

Auf jeden Fall eignet sich der Code of Ethics der ISFC hervorragend, um das Thema zu diskutieren und sich Anregungen zu holen.

 

Präambel: was ist ein Festival?

Die Krux beginnt schon mit der Bezeichnung Festival. Der Begriff ist längst verwässert – auch dagegen versuchte sich die International Short Film Conference durch ihren Ehrenkodex zu stemmen. Besonders im Kurzfilmbereich werden oft und gerne Filmveranstaltungen werbewirksam als “šFestival’ bezeichnet, ohne jedoch die Bezeichnung tatsächlich zu verdienen. Die Inflationierung des Begriffs Festival ist allerdings schon so weit gediehen, dass man es einem Veranstalter kaum noch verdenken kann, ihn bedenken- oder gedankenlos einzusetzen. Der Begriff Festival ist ja leider nicht geschützt und viele Veranstaltungen, die echte Festivals sind, heißen gar nicht so, sondern bezeichnen sich als Filmtage oder Filmwoche.

Richtige Filmfestivals sind eigentlich Veranstaltungen von der Branche für die Branche. Unter kommerziellen Gesichtspunkten vergleichbar mit Handels- oder Industriemessen und unter kulturellen Aspekten Plattformen der künstlerischen Qualität. Sie dienen in erster Linie dem Austausch und der Begegnung zwischen den professionellen und kreativen Kräften.

 

Definitionsversuche

In einer Präambel bemühten sich die Verfasser des Code of Ethics um eine inhaltliche Definition, die positive qualitative und quantitative Normen aufstellt, zugleich aber auch eine Abgrenzung vollzieht. Dort heißt es zunächst, ein Festival betrachte Kino als Kunstform und Filme als künstlerische Werke. Und weiter: die Hauptaufgabe eines Festivals sei die Präsentation unveröffentlichter oder selten gezeigter Filme.

Weiterhin werden Kriterien der Auswahl, der Präsentation und der Programmierung genannt: die Entwicklung einer eigenen künstlerischen Position, die Präsentation von Filmen aus künstlerischen, gesellschaftlichen oder historischen Perspektiven.

Denkwürdig ist in der Präambel auch der Hinweis, dass neue Festivals die Gesamtsituation der Festivallandschaft zu berücksichtigen hätten, um sich möglichst harmonisch und komplementär einzufügen. Damit wendet sich der Kodex gegen die Gründung von Parallelveranstaltungen zu bereits existierenden Festivals und gegen die beobachtete Festivalflut.

Veranstaltungen, die im Sinne dieser Definition nicht als seriös erachtet werden, weil sie ausschließlich auf die populäre Unterhaltung des allgemeinen Publikums zielen, werden in der Präambel nicht direkt, aber indirekt durch eine weitere, positive Normative ausgeschlossen: die Rolle eines Festivals sei es die Neugier des Publikums zu wecken und Zwecke der Information und Bildung zu fördern. Letzteres sind zwar dehnbare Begriffe, doch die Botschaft ist klar!

Da der Code of Ethics auf größere internationale Kurzfilmfestivals gemünzt ist, eignet er sich in seinen Einzelbestimmungen nicht durchgehend für eine Anwendung auf nationale oder regionale Festivals. Im Folgenden einige Vorschläge aus den Vorgaben des Kodex mit entsprechenden Anpassungen.

 

Allgemeine Kriterien

  • Festivals werden von unabhängigen Körperschaften organisiert und verwaltet. (Gegenbeispiel: der Filmwettbewerb eines Unternehmens im Rahmen einer Marketing-Kampagne ist kein Festival).
  • Die Dauer des Ereignisses ist ein Kriterium: Eine Veranstaltung, die nur einen oder wenige Abende ein Programm anbietet, sollte sich nicht Festival nennen. Für internationale Filmfestivals empfiehlt der Kodex eine Dauer zwischen fünf und zwölf Tagen mit mehreren täglichen Vorstellungen.
  • Auf Festivals, die sich “international” nennen, sollten mindestens 50% der Filme aus dem Ausland, und zwar aus verschiedenen Ländern, stammen.
  • Festivals laden die Autoren von Wettbewerbsfilmen ein und ermöglichen ihnen die Begegnung mit Vertretern der Fachpresse und der Branche. Letztere sind insbesondere Produzenten, Verleihe, Einkäufer, Kuratoren und Festivalorganisatoren, die ebenfalls eingeladen werden. (Umkehrschluss: Veranstaltungen ohne Fachpresse und professionelle Branchenvertreter sind keine Filmfestivals.)
  • Jurys müssen mehrheitlich mit Filmprofessionellen oder Künstlern besetzt werden.

 

Best-Practice-Benchmarks zugunsten von Autoren und Filmemacher

  • Die Veranstalter müssen ein schriftliches Reglement veröffentlichen, in dem unter anderem die Bedingungen der Teilnahme, der Filmauswahl und der Preisvergabe definiert werden. Bei internationalen Festivals soll das Reglement mehrsprachig verfasst sein.
  • In einem Festivalkatalog soll neben Synopsis und Stabliste die vollständige Adresse des Produzenten, des Vertriebs und/oder der Bezugsquelle (‘print source’) angegeben werden.
  • Die Filme sollten bezüglich Trägermedium, Format und Länge in ihrer originalen Version gezeigt werden (also z.B. keine Video- oder DVD-Kopien).
  • Alle Filme in einem Wettbewerb werden bezüglich Öffentlichkeit, Präsentation, Diskussionsmöglichkeiten, Aufführungsort und Zahl der Aufführungen gleich behandelt.
  • Die Filmkopien sollten versichert sein.
  • Die Urheberrechte werden gewahrt.

 

Regeln gegen Missbrauch und unlautere Geschäftsmethoden

  • Es dürfen keine Anmelde- oder Teilnahmegebühren erhoben werden.
  • Für alle aufgeführten Filme muss eine schriftliche Zustimmung des Rechteinhabers vorliegen.
  • Ein Film darf nur in einer begrenzten Anzahl von Aufführungen wiederholt werden.
  • Filmausschnitte zur Bewerbung des Festivals in den Medien dürfen nicht länger als 10% der Laufzeit des Films, maximal 3 Minuten lang sein. Auch hierfür ist die schriftliche Einwilligung des Rechteinhabers einzuholen.
  • Für Tourprogramme nach Abschluss des Festivals müssen gesonderte Verträge geschlossen werden. Im Fall von Einnahmen (etwa durch Eintritte) werden die Autoren beteiligt. Im Übrigen gelten für Tourveranstaltungen die gleichen Regeln wie für die Aufführung während des eigentlichen Festivals.

 

Exklusivität oder Breitenwirkung?

Die Regeln im Code of Ethics der International Short Film Conference gehen noch viel weiter ins Details als oben vorgeschlagen. Sie enthalten sehr genaue, auch quantitativ bezifferte Bestimmungen für die Durchführung eines Festivals. Dies mag in einem internationalen Rahmen wichtig sein, in dem sich wenige, große Festivals auf gemeinsame Praktiken verständigen, um Konkurrenzsituationen zu vermeiden.

In einem nationalen oder regionalen Rahmen würde dies aber viele Veranstalter ausschließen. Es sollte weniger darum gehen, sich als Club der ‘wichtigen und richtigen’ Festivals gegenüber anderen abzugrenzen, wie dies beim Ehrenkodex der ISFC durchscheint und bei der FIAPF evident ist. Vielmehr sollten die Kriterien so definiert werden, damit möglichst viele seriöse Veranstalter mit ins Boot geholt werden.

Allerdings dürften die Kriterien auch nicht so dehnbar sein, dass sie einen Freibrief für alle möglichen Praktiken erlauben. Keine Abstriche sollten zum Beispiel bei den Anforderungen für einen fairen Umgang mit den Filmemachern und einem respektvollen Umfang mit den Werken gemacht werden.

 

Leihmieten und Anmeldegebühren

Im Unterschied zur internationalen Festivalszene könnten die finanziellen Rahmenbedingungen und Konditionen anders bewertet und die Regeln je nach Charakter der Veranstaltung aufgefächert werden. Der Code of Ethics der ISFC verbietet zum Beispiel das Zahlen von Leihmieten. Bei Kurzfilmfestivals, die immer mehr die Rolle einer Abspielplattform – oft die einzige für bestimmte Filme – einnehmen, wäre eigentlich das Gegenteil wünschenswert.

Der Code of Ethics der Short Film Conference verbietet auch die Erhebung von Anmeldegebühren. Diese Regelung ist vermutlich aus dem fast gleich lautenden Ehrenkodex der European Film Festival Coordination übernommen worden. Eine Durchsetzung dieser Regelung ist aber in vielen Ländern außerhalb Europas, in denen es keine öffentliche Festivalförderung gibt, also zum Beispiel in den USA, wohl illusorisch.

Wie fast immer, wenn Geld im Spiel ist, gibt es auch Missbrauch und Betrug. So werden zum Beispiel immer wieder Fälle bekannt, in denen online Anmeldegebühren für Veranstaltungen abkassiert werden, die entweder kein Festival sind oder überhaupt nicht existieren.

 

Kein kostenloser Content für Fake-Festivals

Ein Sonderfall sind Kurzfilm-Events für das breite Publikum, bei denen Überschüsse aus Eintritten erwirtschaftet werden. Die Veranstalter solcher Ereignisse, die weder überregional ausstrahlen noch eine Infrastruktur für Fachbesucher bereitstellen, können nicht als Festivals bezeichnet werden und sollten auf jeden Fall Leihmieten bezahlen.

Auf Open-Air-Kurzfilmveranstaltungen im großen Stil könnte analog die übliche Praxis im Spielfilmsektor angewandt werden, nach der eine höhere pauschale Filmmiete fällig ist als bei einem regulären Einsatz im Kino. Damit könnten finanzielle Vorteile der Veranstalter an die Filmemacher weitergegeben werden.

Grundsätzlich sollte verhindert werden, dass sich Event-Veranstalter unter dem Deckmantel der Bezeichnung ‘Festival’ mit kostenlosem Content versorgen und damit einen Überschuss verdienen, nur um ihre eigene Struktur zu finanzieren. Bei Wettbewerben im Internet ist dies ja leider schon gang und gäbe.

 

Schwierige Sanktionierung

Regeln können meist nur dann durchgesetzt werden, wenn es bei Verstoß auch Sanktionen gibt. Das Beispiel der International Short Film Conference zeigt, dass dies innerhalb eines Verbandes möglich ist. Generell gilt, je bedeutender ein Verband ist oder je besser sich eine regulierende Instanz in der Fachöffentlichkeit positionieren kann (siehe FIAPF), desto größer sind die Chancen, dass solche Regeln auch auf Nicht-Mitglieder ausstrahlen. Dies wäre die bestmögliche Lösung. Ein großer Schritt wäre aber auch schon die Orientierung an einem ‘Best Practice’, also Benchmarks, die von möglichst vielen Veranstaltern akzeptiert und in Form der Selbstverpflichtung umgesetzt werden. Auch dies würde Druck auf andere Veranstalter ausüben oder zumindest eine Unterscheidung ermöglichen. Letztlich haben es dann die Filmemacher in der Hand, ob eine Veranstaltung als Festival unterstützt und anerkannt wird.

Schwarze Schafe wird es aber immer geben. Deshalb sei jedem Filmemacher empfohlen sich vor einer Filmeinreichung in der Szene zu erkundigen und das Kleingedruckte zu lesen. Von Events, die kein Reglement und noch nicht einmal Kleingedrucktes veröffentlichen, sollte man aber am Besten ganz Abstand nehmen!

Anmerkungen:
Dieser Text beruht auf einem Artikel, der im Short Report 2009 der AG Kurzfilm erschien.

Der “Code of Ethics” der International Short Film Festival Conference wurde 1995 auf dem Carrefour des Festival für Kurzfilm-Festivals adaptiert. Im gleichen Jahr hatte die ehemalige European Film Festival Coordination einen fast gleich lautenden Code verabschiedet, dessen Regeln auch für Festivals mit Langfilmen gelten.

 

Original Page