More festivals open VoD platforms for streaming independently from festival date

News

PÖFF VoD-Plattform “Filmkunst zu Hause” ©Screenshot

 

The Tallinn Black Nights Film Festival PÖFF launched the kino.poff.ee platform in March, which operates year-round, offering films for a fee. Every month, a new selection of films from previous festivals will be posted online. Unlike other video-on-demand platforms, festival director Tiina Lokk said, “Our film selection represents a so-called second view, different from other known and daily used streaming platforms, capturing the world’s cinematography in its thematic, genre and style diversity”.[1] Technically, the geo-blocked platform is managed by Estonian IP-TV provider Elisa and New Zealand agency Shift72.

 

New Horizons IFF in Wroclaw also launched a VoD platform this month. NH VOD starts with 250 films, including productions from Gutek Film and New Horizons Association catalogs. The program also includes award winners from past festivals that were shown “only in festival cinemas.” The titles have been selected by “experienced curators (…) from the most important festivals in the world, including Cannes, Venice, Toronto and Berlin.”[2] Fees range from 7.90 to 12.90 zloty per film or 89 zl. for 30 titles (about €20) in a package. The films are streamed by vod.pl (Ringier Axel Springer Polska), among others, and are only available on Polish territory.

 

URL PÖFF VoD: https://kino.poff.ee/

URL NH VOD: https://www.nowehoryzonty.pl/vod

 

[1]  https://poff.ee/en/news/tallinn-black-nights-film-festival-opens-a-year-round-online-cinema/

[2] »Filmy dostępne w ofercie NH VOD nie są wynikiem kalkulacji przeprowadzonych przez bezosobowe algorytmy. Wszystkie tytuły zostały wybrane przez doświadczone kuratorki i kuratorów, którzy od lat przygotowują program wydarzeń Stowarzyszenia Nowe Horyzonty, selekcjonując filmy z najważniejszych festiwali na świecie – m.in. w Cannes, Wenecji, Toronto i Berlinie.« https://www.nowehoryzonty.pl/artykul.do?id=2708

Weitere Festivals eröffnen VoD-Plattformen für Streamings unabhängig vom Festivaltermin

News

PÖFF VoD-Plattform “Filmkunst zu Hause” ©Screenshot

 

Das Tallinn Black Nights Film Festival PÖFF hat im März die Plattform kino.poff.ee gelauncht, die ganzjährig betrieben, Filme gegen Gebühr anbietet. Jeden Monat soll eine neue Auswahl von Filmen früherer Festivals online gestellt werden. In Abgrenzung zu anderen Video-on-Demand-Plattformen meinte Festivalleiterin Tiina Lokk: »Unsere Filmauswahl stellt einen so genannten zweiten Blick dar, der sich von anderen bekannten und täglich genutzten Streaming-Plattformen unterscheidet und die Kinematographie der Welt in ihrer thematischen, Genre- und Stilvielfalt erfasst.«[1] Technisch wird die geogeblockte Plattform vom estnischen IP-TV-Anbieter Elisa und der neuseeländischen Agentur Shift72 betreut.

 

Auch das New Horizons IFF in Wroclaw hat in diesem Monat eine VoD-Plattform gestartet. NH VOD startet mit 250 Filmen, darunter Produktionen aus den Katalogen von Gutek Film und der New Horizons Association. Zum Programm gehören auch Preisträger vergangener Festivals, die »nur in Festivalkinos« gezeigt wurden. Die Titel seien von »erfahrenen Kuratoren (…) von den wichtigsten Festivals der Welt, darunter Cannes, Venedig, Toronto und Berlin, ausgewählt worden«.[2] Die Gebühren betragen zwischen 7,90 bis 12,90 Zloty per Film oder im Paket 89 zl. für 30 Titel (ca. 20 €). Die Filme werden unter anderem von vod.pl (Ringier Axel Springer Polska) gestreamt und sind nur auf polnischem Territorium abrufbar.

 

 

URL PÖFF VoD: https://kino.poff.ee/

URL NH VOD: https://www.nowehoryzonty.pl/vod

 

[1] »Our film selection represents a so-called second view, different from other known and daily used streaming platforms, capturing the world’s cinematography in its thematic, genre and style diversity« https://poff.ee/en/news/tallinn-black-nights-film-festival-opens-a-year-round-online-cinema/

[2] »Filmy dostępne w ofercie NH VOD nie są wynikiem kalkulacji przeprowadzonych przez bezosobowe algorytmy. Wszystkie tytuły zostały wybrane przez doświadczone kuratorki i kuratorów, którzy od lat przygotowują program wydarzeń Stowarzyszenia Nowe Horyzonty, selekcjonując filmy z najważniejszych festiwali na świecie – m.in. w Cannes, Wenecji, Toronto i Berlinie.« https://www.nowehoryzonty.pl/artykul.do?id=2708