Short film specials in times of Corona

Report

updated on 2 April 2020

Festivals are cancelled, film releases are postponed, cinemas are closed – public and cultural life is almost at a standstill. We wish all of you that you get through these crazy times well, especially healthy. Many initiatives are trying to creatively overcome the crisis and also offer short film compilations.

Here we would like to present a small collection of short film offers, which will be continuously updated. We would be happy to take up your suggestions, just send us a short message to  info@shortfilm.de.

 

 

 

Short films for streaming

International Corona Specials

My Darling Quarantine Short Film Festival – Online Festival, a new programme every week – combined with voting on your favourite film and a donation scheme

(in original version with English subtitles)

https://www.talkingshorts.com/festivals/my-darling-quarantine-short-film-festival

 

The IndieWire platform also put 15 short films by well-known directors – such as Andrea Arnold, Taika Waititi, Christopher Nolan and Nacho Vigolando – online:

(in original version with English subtitles)

https://www.indiewire.com/2020/03/short-films-streaming-great-directors

 

The Portuguese short film agency Agência – Curtas Metragens is currently building up its offer FILMES CURTOS PARA DIAS LONGOS (SHORT FILMS FOR LONG DAYS), which will be expanded step by step.

(in Portuguese original with English subtitles)

https://vimeo.com/showcase/short-films-for-long-days

 

On the website of the Swiss film magazine Maximum Cinema, John Canciani (artistic director) and Laura Walde (programme coordinator) of the International Short Film Festival Winterthur present a few thematically appropriate highlights and personal favourites from the diverse short film collection under the maxim “Short films against boredom”:

(in original version with English subtitles)

https://www.maximumcinema.ch/kurze-filme-gegen-lange-weile

 


Special offers from festivals in Germany

The Cologne Short Film Festival KFFK is currently making available a small selection of films available online from past editions of the festival:

(in original version with English or German subtitles)

http://www.kffk.de/mediathek/

 

11mm – the International Football Film Festival, which is also forced to postpone due to Corona, is currently putting a football short film online every day at 11:11 – Shortkicks@Home. There will be links to the clips updated daily on Facebook and Twitter . There will also be an online schedule on our website with links to all those films, that have been released already.

(in original version or with English subtitles)

11mm – the International Football Film Festival Shortkicks@Home

 

The Film Festival Turkey Germany, which wanted to celebrate its 25th edition from 20 to 29 March, will show a short film from the festival’s archive on its website every day during this period:

(in original version with English subtitles)

https://www.fftd.net/

 

The Cellul’art Festival also presents a small but fine selection of short film pearls on its website:

(in original version with English subtitles)

https://cellulart.de/willkommen-bei-cellu-l-art

 

The Max Ophüls Preis Film Festival has also compiled an extensive list of links to streaming offers for films that were shown at the Saarbrücken festival in the past – the MOP Streamothek. This is being continuously expanded:

(in original version with English subtitles)

https://ffmop.de/frontend/max_ophuels_preis_2018/de/programm/mop_streamothek

 

DOK Leipzig has listed 365 audience favourites and insider tips, documentaries and animated films for children and adults, which can be seen throughout the year:

(in original version with English subtitles)

https://www.dok-leipzig.de/dok-365

 

MO & FRIESE – the Children’s Short Film Festival Hamburg has also put together a programme: “Mo & Friese Stay at Home” offers eight films that can be viewed individually or in chronological order. The programme – recommended for children from 6 years on – can be seen for free on Vimeo for a limited time of eight days.

https://vimeo.com/showcase/6881834

 


Special offers from festivals international

The South by South West is one of the festivals that could not take place in March. This festival was partly moved to the internet, in cooperation with MailChimp and Oscilloscope Laboratories the current short film selection can be seen:

(in original version with English subtitles)

https://mailchimp.com/presents/sxsw/

You can also watch the latest short films and music videos on the festival’s Vimeo channel:

https://vimeo.com/channels/sxswshorts/videos

 

The Diagonale in Graz also had to be cancelled and is now on the net as “Die Unvollendete”. In cooperation with Flimmit, the video-on-demand platform of the Austrian Broadcasting Corporation, current Austrian films and highlights from the special programmes of the cancelled Diagonale ’20 as well as film pearls from the archive can be viewed since 24 March and until 24 April. Short films are also available here (some of which can only be streamed in Austria for licensing reasons).

(in original version with English subtitles)

https://www.flimmit.com/specials/festivals-awards/diagonale-online-festival/

 

The DokuFest Prizren – also offers a daily short film screening on its website. Curated by the Documentary Film Production Centre, it is putting a film online every day under the motto “Sweet and Short Quarantine Film – Your Daily Dose of Short Film”.

(in original version with English subtitles)

https://dokufest.com/2019/sweet-and-short-quarantine-film

 

The London Cheap Cuts Documentary Film Festival will launch an online retrospective of films from previous years starting on 25 March. Screenings will be LIVE Wednesday to Friday for the next 2 weeks. Every day at 19:00 (GMT) with LIVE Q&As where you can ask the filmmakers all the questions you want via Facebook. All you need to do is connect to our Facebook page a little bit before the air time, and we will share a live link you can follow online.

(in original version or with English subtitles)

https://www.facebook.com/cheapcutsfest/

 

Documentary film lovers can browse the IDFA festival website, where you can discover films from previous festival years, almost 200 of which are freely available:

(in original version with English subtitles)

https://www.idfa.nl/en/collection/documentaries

 

In cooperation with l’école ArtFX, the Clermont-Ferrand International Short Film Festival shows six short films every week on its website:

(in original version)

https://www.clermont-filmfest.org/circuits-de-diffusion/interieur-court/

 

The team of the Clermont-Ferrand Short Film Festival has put together yet another package: Intérieur Court – Inner Short – four thematic programmes are shown in live virtual screenings. Twice a week a new programme is broadcast live via the festival site of Twitch: Thursdays and Sundays at 6 pm. There are no access restrictions; comments on the films can also be made via chat.

(in original version, some with English subtitles)

https://www.twitch.tv/clermontfilmfest

 

The Festival International du Film d’Aubagne MUSIC & CINEMA, which is dedicated above all to the combination of film and film music, will be putting its festival programmes online from 31 March to 4 April – the time of the actual festival – including almost 20 short film programmes for a limited period:

(in original version with English subtitles)

https://aubagne.kinow.tv/en/

 


Distribution specials

interfilm Berlin provides four programs against boredom and for staying at home on its website under #CoronaKino. The programmes on offer are Neighbourhood Madness, Home Sweet Home, TeenScreen Meets CoronaKino for teenagers and KUKI at Home for children. The programs for adults and teenagers charge EUR 3.99 for 72 hours for streaming or EUR 9.99 for permanent streaming, but also for download. The KUKI for home is EUR 1.99 and EUR 5.99 respectively

(in original version with German subtitles)

https://www.interfilm.de/coronakino

 

A customized Corona package – now also available from the Kurzfilm Agentur Hamburg. The Corona Shining – 7 outstanding short films that have been shown in Cannes, at the Berlinale, at the Short Film Festival Winterthur, at the Short Film Festival Hamburg and many other festivals. All films take place at home, where it can get scary sometimes.

The programme costs 3.99 € for 72 hours for streaming or 9.99 € for permanent streaming or download:

(in original version with English subtitles)

https://vimeo.com/ondemand/thecoronashining

 

The Kurzfilm Agentur Hamburg also has a YouTube channel with their favourite short films, so it’s worth (once again) stopping by:

(in original version with English subtitles)

https://www.youtube.com/user/KurzFilmAgentur

 


Short films for children

MO & FRIESE – the Children’s Short Film Festival Hamburg has also put together a programme: “Mo & Friese Stay at Home” offers eight films that can be viewed individually or in chronological order. The programme – recommended for children from 6 years on – can be seen for free on Vimeo for a limited time of eight days.

https://vimeo.com/showcase/6881834

 

Short films – not only for children – can be found on the YouTube channel of Studio Film Bilder:

(German or English version available)

https://www.youtube.com/user/filmbilder

 

interfilm Berlin also has an offer for children at #CoronaKino: “KUKI at home”, the programme costs 1.99 € for 72 hours in stream, or 5.99 € for download or permanent streaming

https://vimeo.com/ondemand/kukifuerzuhause

 


Short film on (German) television

From unicato – Junger Film on MDR (german TV broadcaster), a monthly short film magazine, 57 videos, both short films and interviews with actors on the German short film scene – such as Lars Henrik Gass (festival director of the International Short Film Festival Oberhausen) or director Brenda Lien – are currently available in the ARD media library:

(in German or original version with German subtitles)

https://www.ardmediathek.de/ard/search/unicato

 

Always worth a (short) look is of course also the offer of ARTE Kurzschluss:

(German or French, films in original version with subtitles)

https://www.arte.tv/de/videos/RC-014513/kurzschluss/

even more short films from the archive

https://www.arte.tv/de/videos/RC-019277/kurzfilme-frei-haus/

 


Art and experimental films

The cinemas of the Arsenal – Institute for Film and Video Art e.V. in Berlin have also been closed since March 13. But the Arsenal has now opened a virtual film art offer with SAAL 3.
Every week new films are made available online. The programme is free of charge. Numerous filmmakers and artists whose works are represented in the Arsenal’s distribution programme have declared their solidarity and made their films available for online presentation.

(in original version with German or English subtitles)

https://www.arsenal-berlin.de/mitgliedschaft/arsenal-3/anmeldung.html

The Movie Talks will be continued! In addition to the program of the second week, which can be seen here until April 3, we now offer Q&As with the filmmakers* and artists* whose films have been presented so far.

The Q&As will take place on Thursday, starting at 6pm, and Friday, starting at 4.30pm. How does it work? Just go to https://meet.jit.si/arsenal3 to be part of the meeting.

 

 

Already since March 18th, the Hamburg film artists – collective VETO Film has been offering a streaming service in its newsletter as well as on facebook and instagram with a series of art films, including many short films from the VETO catalogue. By subscribing to the newsletter or via the facebook page, you will be informed when new films are added

(in original version or with English subtitles)

https://www.facebook.com/VETOFilmEdition

 

The Collectif Jeune Cinema in Paris has also closed its doors – the Parisian organisation that distributes experimental cinema, organises regular monthly screenings and an annual festival of alternative and experimental cinema in Paris has now made more than 250 films from its distribution catalogue available online. In the coming weeks, various programmes (also for children) will be put together:

(in original version with French subtitles)

https://vimeo.com/showcase/2534222

 

With “CABIN FEVER: Coping with COVID-19 playlist of online experimental films & videos”, Kate Lain, American video artist and experimental filmmaker, has compiled an online overview of experimental films available on the Internet. This overview is divided into categories and can be continuously updated

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1DHealTzCR0qNkq-fbuPRd9Nzi7NSAM5HKQ84grFEFO8/htmlview?sle=true#

 


further services: archives, YouTube channels etc.

DFFB-Archive is an offer of the German Film and Television Academy Berlin in cooperation with the German Cinematheque. It is definitely worthwhile to dive in here. Films, photos and numerous other documents in the form of production records, correspondence and the like from the history of the academy can be discovered. The archive located in the Deutsche Kinemathek covers the period between 1966 and 2015 and is continuously supplemented and expanded by the dffb.

https://dffb-archiv.de

 

Short films – not only for children – can be found on the YouTube channel of Studio Film Bilder, for example:

(German or English version available)

https://www.youtube.com/user/filmbilder

 


Podcasts on short film

You can also talk about short film, as the short film podcasts prove:

Simply Short!, the podcast by Insa Wiese (festival director of the International Short Film Week Regensburg, which had to be cancelled last week due to the spread of the corona virus) has been in existence since June 2019. Since then, 24 discussions with actors from the German and international short film scene have taken place – just listen:

(in German)

https://www.podcast.de/podcast/675534/

 

The podcast offer of Talking Shorts is still quite young, in the interview section there are currently two talks – Enrico Vanucci talks to Anna Henckel-Donnersmark (Berlinale Shorts), Jukka-Pekka Laakso (Tampere Film Festival), Sarah Schlüssel (Berlinale Talents Short Form Station Coordinator) and Sanne Jehoul (Glasgow Short Film Festival Co-Director)

(in English)

https://www.talkingshorts.com/interviews

 

It’s also worth listening to Indie Film Talk; it’s not just about short film, but about independent filmmaking in general. Several articles are already available on the current Corona crisis

(in German)

https://indiefilmtalk.de

Kurzfilmische Angebote in Zeiten von Corona

Report

Festivals werden abgesagt, Filmstarts verschoben, Kinos geschlossen – das öffentliche und auch kulturelle Leben steht nahezu still. Wir wünschen Euch allen, dass Ihr gut, vor allem gesund durch diese verrückte Zeit kommt. Viele Initiativen versuchen, die Krise kreativ zu meistern und bieten auch Kurzfilmzusammenstellungen an.

Wir möchten Euch hier eine kleine Sammlung von kurzfilmischen Angeboten vorstellen, die laufend ergänzt wird. Gerne nehmen wir auch Eure Vorschläge auf, schickt uns einfach eine kurze Nachricht an info@shortfilm.de.

 

 

Kurzfilme zum Streamen

 

Internationale Corona Specials

“My Darling Quarantine Short Film Festival” – Online Festival, jede Woche ein neues Programm – kombiniert mit Abstimmung über den Lieblingsfilm sowie einem Spendenmodell

(Angebot im Original mit englischen UT)

https://www.talkingshorts.com/festivals/my-darling-quarantine-short-film-festival

 

Auch die Plattform IndieWire stellte 15 Kurzfilme von bekannten RegisseurInnen – wie Andrea Arnold, Taika Waititi, Christopher Nolan oder Nacho Vigolando – online:

(Angebot im Original mit englischen UT)

https://www.indiewire.com/2020/03/short-films-streaming-great-directors-nolan-waititi-1202218423/

 

Die portugiesische Kurzfilmagentur Agência – Curtas Metragens baut derzeit ihr Angebot FILMES CURTOS PARA DIAS LONGOS (SHORT FILMS FOR LONG DAYS) auf, dieses wird nach und nach ergänzt.

(Angebot im portugiesischen Original mit englischen UT)

https://vimeo.com/showcase/short-films-for-long-days

 

Auf der Webseite des Schweizer Filmmagazins Maximum Cinema stellen John Canciani (künstlerischer Leiter) und Laura Walde (Programmkoordination) der Internationalen Kurzfilmtage Winterthur ein paar thematisch passende Highlights und persönliche Lieblinge unter der Maxime “Kurze Filme gegen Langeweile” aus dem vielfältigen Kurzfilmfundus vor:

(Angebot im Original mit englischen UT)

https://www.maximumcinema.ch/kurze-filme-gegen-lange-weile

 


Angebote von Festivals in Deutschland

Das Kölner Kurzfilmfestival KFFK stellt derzeit eine kleine Auswahl von online verfügbaren Filmen der vergangenen Ausgaben des Festivals zur Verfügung:

(Angebot im Original mit englischen oder deutschen UT)

http://www.kffk.de/mediathek/

 

11mm – das Internationale Fußballfilmfestival, das ebenfalls durch Corona zur Verschiebung gezwungen wurde, stellt derzeit jeden Tag um 11:11 eine Fußballkurzfilm online – “Shortkicks@Home”. Die Clips werden täglich auf der Webseite, bei Facebook und Twitter verlinkt. Dazu wird es auf der Webseite einen Online-Spielplan mit Links zu allen bislang veröffentlichten Filmen geben.

(Angebot im Original  bzw. mit englischen UT)

11mm – das Internationale Fußballfilmfestival

 

Das Filmfestival Türkei Deutschland, das vom 20. bis 29. März die 25. Ausgabe feiern wollte, zeigt auf seiner Webseite während dieser Zeit täglich einen Kurzfilm aus dem Archiv des Festivals:

(Angebot im Original mit englischen UT)

https://www.fftd.net/

 

Eine kleine, aber feine Auswahl an Kurzfilmperlen stellt auch das Cellul’art Festival auf seiner Webseite vor:

(Angebot im Original mit englischen UT)

https://cellulart.de/willkommen-bei-cellu-l-art

 

Das Filmfestival Max Ophüls Preis hat ebenfalls eine umfangreiche Linkliste von Streamingangeboten für Filme, die in der Vergangenheit auf dem Festival in Saarbrücken zu sehen waren, zusammengestellt – die MOP-Streamothek. Diese wird kontinuierlich erweitert:

(Angebot im Original bzw. mit englischen UT)

https://ffmop.de/frontend/max_ophuels_preis_2018/de/programm/mop_streamothek

 

DOK Leipzig hat auf DOK 365 Publikumslieblinge und Geheimtipps, Dokumentar- und Animationsfilme für Kinder und Erwachsene, die über das ganze Jahr zu sehen sind verzeichnet:

(Angebot im Original bzw. mit englischen UT)

https://www.dok-leipzig.de/dok-365

 

MO & FRIESE – das Kinder Kurzfilm Festival Hamburg hat ebenfalls ein Programm zusammengestellt: “Mo & Friese bleiben zu Hause”  bietet acht Filme, die einzeln oder als Abfolge geschaut werden können. Das Programm – empfohlen für Kinder ab 6 Jahren – ist für eine begrenzte Zeit von acht Tagen umsonst auf Vimeo zu sehen.

https://vimeo.com/showcase/6881834

zum Programm gibt es auch Arbeitsmaterial zum Download, um mit den Kindern die verschiedenen Filme zu analysieren

 


Angebote von Festivals international

Das South by South West ist eines der Festivals, die im März nicht stattfinden konnten. Dieses Festival wurde zum Teil ins Internet verlegt, in Kooperation mit MailChimp und Oscilloscope Laboratories gibt es die aktuelle Kurzfilmselektion zu sehen:

https://mailchimp.com/presents/sxsw/

Auch auf dem Vimeo Kanal des Festival kann man aktuelle Kurzfilme und Musikvideos anschauen:

(Angebot im Original mit englischen UT)

https://vimeo.com/channels/sxswshorts/videos

 

Die Diagonale in Graz musste ebenfalls ausfallen und steht nun als “Die Unvollendete” im Netz. In Kooperation mit Flimmit, der Video-on-Demand Plattform des Österreichischen Rundfunks, gibt es seit dem 24. März und noch bis 24. April aktuelle österreichische Filme und Highlights aus den Spezialprogrammen der abgesagten Diagonale’20 sowie Filmperlen aus dem Archiv zu sehen. Auch Kurzfilme sind hier im Angebot (teilweise aus lizensrechtlichen Gründen nur in Österreich zu streamen).

(Angebot im Original mit englischen UT)

https://www.flimmit.com/specials/festivals-awards/diagonale-online-festival/

 

Auch das DokuFest Prizren – bietet derzeit ein tägliches Kurzfilm screening auf seiner Webseite an. Kuratiert vom Documentary Film Production Centre, stellt es unter dem Motto “Sweet and Short Quarantine Film – Your Daily Dose of Short Film” täglich einen Film online.

(Angebot im Original mit englischen UT)

https://dokufest.com/2019/sweet-and-short-quarantine-film

 

Das Londoner Cheap Cuts Documentary Film Festival wird ab dem 25. März eine Online Retrospektive mit Filmen aus den vergangenen Jahren starten. Von Mittwoch bis Freitag werden die Vorführungen in den nächsten 2 Wochen LIVE übertragen. Jeden Tag um 19:00 Uhr (GMT) finden Screenings statt. Im Vorfeld kann man den Filmschaffenden Fragen über Facebook stellen und es gibt ein Live Q&A. Dafür muss man sich nur kurz vor der Sendezeit mit der Facebook-Seite verbinden, und bekommt einen Live-Link.

(Angebot im Original  bzw. mit englischen UT)

https://www.facebook.com/cheapcutsfest/

 

Dokumentarfilmliebhaber können sich auf der Webseite des IDFA-Festivals umschauen, dort gibt es Filme der vergangenen Festivaljahrgänge zu entdecken, beinahe 200 davon sind frei verfügbar:

(Angebot im Original mit englischen UT)

https://www.idfa.nl/en/collection/documentaries?page=1&filters%5BtvPrice%5D=Free

 

Das Internationale Kurzfilmfestival Clermont-Ferrand zeigt in Kooperation mit der l’école ArtFX auf seiner Webseite jede Woche sechs Kurzfilme:

(Angebot im Original)

https://www.clermont-filmfest.org/circuits-de-diffusion/interieur-court/

 

Das Team des Kurzfilmfestivals von Clermont-Ferrand hat noch ein weiteres Angebot zusammengestellt: Intérieur Court – Inner Short –  vier thematische Programme werden in virtuellen Live-Screenings gezeigt.

Zweimal pro Woche wird über die Festivalseite von Twitch per Live-Stream ein neues Programm übertragen: donnerstags und sonntags um 18 Uhr. Es gibt keine Zugangsbeschränkungen, per Chat können auch Kommentare zu den Filmen abgegeben werden.

(Angebot im Original, teilweise mit englischen UT)

https://www.twitch.tv/clermontfilmfest

 

Das Festival International du Film d’Aubagne MUSIC & CINEMA, welches sich vor allem der Verbindung von Film und Filmmusik widmet, stellt vom 31. März bis 4. April – die Zeit des eigentlichen Festivals – sein Festivalprogramme, darunter auch fast 20 Kurzfilmprogramme, für einen begrenzten Zeitraum online:

(Angebot im Original mit englischen UT)

https://aubagne.kinow.tv/en/

 


Verleihspecials

interfilm Berlin stellt unter dem #CoronaKino vier Programme gegen Langeweile und für’s Zuhausebleiben auf seiner Webseite zur Verfügung. Im Angebot sind die Programme “Nachbarschafts(wahn)sinn”, “Home Sweet Home”, “TeenScreen Meets CoronaKino” für Jugendliche und “KUKI für Zuhause” für Kinder an. Die Programme für Erwachsene und Jugendliche kosten 3,99 € für 72 Stunden zum Streamen oder 9,99 € zum dauerhaften Streaming, aber auch zum Download, das KUKI für Zuhause kostet 1,99 € bzw. 5,99 €

(Angebot im Original mit deutschen UT)

https://www.interfilm.de/coronakino

 

Ein maßgeschneidertes Corona-Angebot – gibt es jetzt auch von der Kurzfilm Agentur Hamburg. “The Corona Shining” – sieben herausragende Kurzfilme, die unter anderem in Cannes, auf der Berlinale, bei den Kurzfilmtagen Winterthur, beim Kurzfilm Festival Hamburg und vielen weiteren Festivals zu sehen waren. Alle Filme spielen daheim, wo es auch mal unheimlich werden kann.

Das Programm 3,99 € für 72 Stunden zum Streamen oder 9,99 € zum dauerhaften Streaming oder Download:

(Angebot im Original mit englischen UT)

https://vimeo.com/ondemand/thecoronashining

 

Auch auf dem YouTube Kanal der Hamburger gibt es tolle Kurzfilme zu entdecken, es lohnt sich (mal wieder) vorbeizuschauen:

(Angebot im Original mit englischen UT)

https://www.youtube.com/user/KurzFilmAgentur

 


Kurzfilme für Kinder

MO & FRIESE – das Kinder Kurzfilm Festival Hamburg hat ebenfalls ein Programm zusammengestellt: “Mo & Friese bleiben zu Hause”  bietet acht Filme, die einzeln oder als Abfolge geschaut werden können. Das Programm – empfohlen für Kinder ab 6 Jahren – ist für eine begrenzte Zeit von acht Tagen gratis auf Vimeo zu sehen.

https://vimeo.com/showcase/6881834

 

Kurzfilme – nicht nur für Kinder – findet Ihr z.B. auf dem YouTube Kanal von Studio Film Bilder:

(Angebot in deutscher oder englischer Version)

https://www.youtube.com/user/filmbilder

 

interfilm Berlin hat beim #CoronaKino auch ein Angebot für Kinder: “KUKI für Zuhause”, das Programm kostet 1,99 € für 72 Stunden im Stream, bzw. 5,99 € zum Download bzw. dauerhaftem Streaming

https://vimeo.com/ondemand/kukifuerzuhause

 


Kurzfilm im Fernsehen

Von unicato – Junger Film im MDR, dem Kurzfilmmagazin des MDR, sind derzeit 57 Videos, sowohl Kurzfilme als auch Interviews mit AkteurInnen der deutschen Kurzfilmszene – wie z.B. Lars Henrik Gass (Leiter der Internationalen Kurzfilmtage Oberhausen) oder Regisseurin Brenda Lien – in der Mediathek der ARD abrufbar:

(Angebot auf Deutsch bzw. Original mit deutschen UT)

https://www.ardmediathek.de/ard/search/unicato

 

Immer einen (kurzen) Blick wert ist natürlich auch das Angebot von ARTE Kurzschluss:

(Angebot auf Deutsch oder Französisch, Filme Original mit UT)

https://www.arte.tv/de/videos/RC-014513/kurzschluss/

noch mehr Kurzfilme aus dem Archiv

https://www.arte.tv/de/videos/RC-019277/kurzfilme-frei-haus/

 


Kunst- und Experimentalfilme

Auch die Kinos des Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst e.V. in Berlin sind bereits seit dem 13. März geschlossen. Aber das Arsenal hat nun mit SAAL 3 ein virtuelles Filmkunstangebot eröffnet.
Jede Woche werden neue Filme online zur Verfügung gestellt. Das Programm ist kostenfrei, zahlreiche Filmemacher*innen und Künstler*innen, deren Werke im Verleihprogramm des Arsenal vertreten sind, haben sich solidarisch erklärt und ihre Filme für die Online-Präsentation zur Verfügung gestellt.

(Angebot im Original mit deutschen bzw. englischen UT)

https://www.arsenal-berlin.de/mitgliedschaft/arsenal-3/anmeldung.html

Ergänzend zum Programm der zweiten Woche, das hier noch bis zum 3. April zu sehen ist, bieten wir Q&As mit den Filmemacher*innen und Künstler*innen an, deren Filme bislang präsentiert wurden.

Die Gespräche finden am Donnerstag, 2. April ab 18.00 Uhr und am Freitag, 3. April ab 16.30 Uhr statt. Einfach https://meet.jit.si/arsenal3 eingeben, um dabei zu sein.

 

Bereits seit dem 18. März hat das Hamburger FilmkünstlerInnen – Kollektiv VETO Film in seinem Newsletter sowie auf facebook und instagram ein Streaming-Angebot mit einer Reihe von Kunstfilmen, darunter viele Kurze aus dem VETO-Katalog, an. Bei Abonement des Newsletter oder über die Facebookseite wird informiert, wenn neue Filme eingestellt werden

(Angebot im Original  bzw. mit englischen UT)

https://www.facebook.com/VETOFilmEdition

 

Auch das Collectif Jeune Cinema in Paris hat seine Pforten geschlossen – die Pariser Organisation, die experimentellem Kino vertreibt, regelmäßige monatliche Vorführungen und ein jährlichen Festivals für anderes und experimentelles Kino in Paris veranstaltet hat nun mehr als 250 Filme aus ihrem Verleihkatalog online zur Verfügung gestellt. In den nächsten Wochen werden verschiedene Programme (auch für Kinder) zusammengestellt

(Angebot im Original mit französichen UT)

https://vimeo.com/showcase/2534222

 

Kate Lain, amerikanische Videokünstlerin und Experimentalfilmemacherin hat mit der “CABIN FEVER: Coping with COVID-19 playlist of online experimental films & videos”  eine Online-Übersicht von im Internet freiverfügbaren Experimentalfilmen zusammengestellt. Diese Übersicht ist nach Kategorien gegliedert und kann stetig ergänzt werden:

(Angebot im Original, überwiegend Englisch)

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1DHealTzCR0qNkq-fbuPRd9Nzi7NSAM5HKQ84grFEFO8/htmlview?sle=true#

 


weitere Angebote: Archive, YouTube Channels etc.

DFFB-Archiv ist ein Angebot der Deutschen Film- und Fernsehakademie Berlin in Zusammenarbeit und der Deutschen Kinemathek. Hier einzutauchen lohnt sich auf jeden Fall. Filme, Fotos und zahlreiche andere Dokumente in Form von Produktionsunterlagen, Korrespondenzen und Ähnlichem aus der Geschichte der Hochschule gibt es zu entdecken. Das in der Deutschen Kinemathek befindliche Archiv deckt den Zeitraum zwischen 1966 und 2015 ab und wird kontinuierlich durch die dffb ergänzt und erweitert.

https://dffb-archiv.de

 


Podcasts zum Kurzfilm

Über Kurzfilm kann man auch reden, das beweisen die Podcasts zum Kurzfilm:

“Simply Short!”, der Podcast von Insa Wiese (Internationale Kurzfilmwoche Regensburg, die vergangene Woche wegen der Ausbreitung des Corona Virus abgebrochen werden musste) besteht seit Juni 2019, seitdem sind 24 Gespräche mit AkteurInnen der deutschen und internationalen Kurzfilmszene zusammengekommen  – hört mal rein:

(Angebot auf Deutsch)

https://www.podcast.de/podcast/675534/

 

Noch recht jung ist das Podcast-Angebot von Talking Shorts, in der dortigen Interview-Sektion gibt es derzeit vier Gespräche – Enrico Vanucci spricht mit Anna Henckel-Donnersmark (Berlinale Shorts), Jukka-Pekka Laakso (Tampere Film Festival), Sarah Schlüssel (Berlinale Talents Short Form Station Coordinator) und Sanne Jehoul (Glasgow Short Film Festival Co-Director)

(Angebot auf Englisch)

https://www.talkingshorts.com/interviews

 

Es lohnt sich, auch bei  Indiefilmtalk mal rein zuhören, hier geht es nicht nur um Kurzfilm, sondern ums unabhängige Filmemachen allgemein. Zur aktuellen Corona-Krise sind bereits mehrere Beiträge verfügbar

(Angebot auf Deutsch)

https://indiefilmtalk.de

 


Texte zum Kurzfilm

Talking Shorts stellt auch regelmäßig Rezensionen zu Kurzfilmen auf seiner Plattform vor.

(Angebot auf Englisch)

https://www.talkingshorts.com/films

 

Die Plattform testkammer.com bewertet neben Spielen und Bücher v.a. Filme, ein besonderer Fokus liegt hierbei auf Kurzfilmen, über 500 Kurzfilme wurden bereits vorgestellt. Ergänzt werden die Rezensionen teilweise durch Interviews mit den Filmschaffenden:

(Angebot auf Deutsch)

https://testkammer.com/archiv/kurzfilme/

 

Auch bei BEnow!, dem Online-Magazin von Studierenden der DEKRA | Hochschule für Medien in Berlin gibt es einen Platz für Kurzfilm – in der Rubrik Werkschau Nachwuchskurzfilm sind bereits neun Porträts nachzulesen – u.a. zu Jonathan Behr oder Brenda Lien:

(Angebot auf Deutsch)

https://www.benowtv.de/category/formate/werkschau-nachwuchskurzfilm/

 

zum Thema Kurzfilm im Internet siehe auch: https://www.shortfilm.de/daenischer-experimentalfilm-im-online-archiv-danmark-pa-film/