Withoutabox will be discontinued – Settlement until 2019

Report

Withoutabox scheme – Patent US6829612

At the end of October, the film submission platform Withoutabox announced that it would be ceasing operations by 30 October 2019. All obligations towards filmmakers and festivals are to have been settled by then. The closure is timed to correspond with the expiration of a patent that had previously guaranteed Withoutabox a monopoly position in the USA.

 

Withoutabox can look back on almost twenty years of highs and lows. Its launch was revolutionary. In the summer of 2000, Without A Box Inc. went public with a paperless online festival registration service under the slogan “One Form – Once!” What seems a matter of course today was a major innovation back then: for the first time, filmmakers could register their films at several festivals at once at the touch of a button after filling out a single form. Before then, registration forms had to be requested from the festivals, which were then filled out by hand or typewriter and sent by post or fax to each individual festival.

 

Festivals benefitted from the new system by being able to present themselves to a wide group of filmmakers on the platform and then retrieve submissions online or integrate the entire correspondence with filmmakers into their own IT system. Preview copies still had to be sent in physically, however (VHS tapes and later DVDs).

 

In the early years, the platform’s fee structure clearly favoured filmmakers. No wonder, because the founders were filmmakers themselves. Joe Neulight and David Straus had achieved international recognition at festivals with their short film “god@heaven”. Their filmmaker-friendly project was an instant success. Just two years after its founding, Withoutabox had already taken on 13,000 filmmakers as members and 120 festivals as clients, among them the Sundance Festival.

 

In the following years, Withoutabox (WAB) grew steadily and expanded to Europe. Soon, however, the owner-managed business caught the attention of “New Economy” corporations that were prospering once again after the dotcom bubble had burst.

 

In January 2008, Internet Movie Database (IMDb), a subsidiary of Amazon, bought Withoutabox for an unpublished but probably quite substantial sum. Subsequently, the services of IMDb and WAB were integrated and various technical innovations such as streaming videos were tested. At the same time, the fees were raised significantly and the price structure changed to favour festivals that signed exclusive contracts. The high fees and comparatively user-unfriendly interfaces started alienating more and more filmmakers, along with festivals that did not want to be enslaved by the monopolist. By 2012, as technical development stagnated and the services lagged far behind the state of the art, so much anger had accumulated on the film scene that worldwide campaigns were launched calling for a boycott of the platform.

 

In order to exert pressure, Amazon made use of a US patent applied for and granted in 2004, before acquiring Without A Box Inc., which gave WAB a monopoly position in the USA. The effect was to stifle competing initiatives, while festivals that did not want to play along were threatened on the one hand and on the other rewarded with profitable contracts. According to Indiewire, some festivals today receive more than $100,000 in annual payments from the platform’s revenues – ultimately at the filmmakers’ expense.

 

It was not until 2014 that the monopoly position could be broken, when across the border four Canadians in Ontario founded the start-up FilmFreeway and aggressively marketed themselves as the technically better, friendlier and cheaper alternative to WAB. In just a few years, FilmFreeway had overtaken the flagship WAB, which since then has seemed paralyzed. This year, filmmakers can register for some 7,000 festivals on FilmFreeway, while Withoutabox has stagnated at just over 1,000 festivals.

 

Patent US6829612 expires in 2021, and it is probably fanciful to think it could be extended. It is hard to understand why it was approved in the first place, as the only thing new about it was its application to the festival registration sector, but not its basic principles, i.e. the linking of databases and their online administration.

 

Against this backdrop, it is easy to understand why Amazon is now pulling the plug on WAB. No one is likely to shed a tear at its departure, but there is one caveat: WAB was in recent years a comparative stronghold of serious festivals, while the new North American monopolist FilmFreeway is in the meantime home to far too many festivals whose core business is not showing films but rather raking in submission fees. There is still hope, however, that the expiration of the patent will finally clear the way for other initiatives embracing the original, sound idea of the founders.

 

 

“We do not encourage film festivals to make us their only way to accept submissions. The ones that are choosing to do so are doing it because they realize it makes their life easier as well. The reason we are not encouraging them to do it is because filmmakers want choice and we want to be their advocates for choice.” (quote from an interview conducted by Reinhard W. Wolf with David Straus and Joe Neulight, 25 November 2002)

 

Article about Withoutabox.com published on shortfilm.de on 11 December 2002
still available online thanks to the Wayback machine from Archive.org!

Withoutabox wird geschlossen – Abwicklung bis 2019

Report

Withoutabox Schema – Patentanmeldung US6829612

Ende Oktober gab die Filmeinreichplattform Withoutabox bekannt, dass der Betrieb bis zum 30. Oktober 2019 eingestellt wird. Bis dahin sollen alle Verpflichtungen gegenüber FilmemacherInnen und Festivals abgewickelt sein. Der Zeitpunkt der Schließung korrespondiert mit dem Ablauf eines Patents, das Withoutabox in den USA bislang eine Monopolstellung garantierte.

 

Withoutabox hat eine fast zwanzigjährige Geschichte mit vielen Hochs und Tiefs. Der Start glich einer Revolution. Im Sommer 2000 trat Without A Box Inc. unter dem Slogan “One Form – Once!” mit einer papierlosen Online-Filmregistrierung an die Öffentlichkeit. Was heute selbstverständlich erscheint, war damals ein großer innovativer Schritt: Zum ersten Mal wurde es FilmemacherInnen ermöglicht ihre Filme papierlos nach dem Ausfüllen eines einzigen Formulars per Knopfdruck bei mehreren Filmfestivals anzumelden. Bis dahin mussten Anmeldeformulare von Festivals angefordert werden, die dann handschriftlich oder mit der Schreibmaschine ausgefüllt und per Post oder Fax an jedes einzelne Festival geschickt wurden.

 

Umgekehrt konnten sich Festivals mit großer Reichweite auf der Plattform vorstellen und Einreichungen online abrufen oder die gesamte Kommunikation in ihr eigenes EDV-System integrieren. Die Sichtungskopien mussten damals allerdings noch physisch verschickt werden (VHS-Kassetten, später DVDs).

 

Die Gebührenstruktur der Plattform bevorzugte in den Anfangsjahren eindeutig die FilmherstellerInnen. Kein Wunder, denn die Gründer waren selbst Filmemacher: Joe Neulight und David Straus, waren damals mit ihren Kurzfilm “god@heaven” international auf Festivals bekannt geworden. Ihr filmemacherfreundliches Projekt war sofort erfolgreich. Bereits zwei Jahre nach der Gründung hatte Withoutabox 13.000 FilmemacherInnen als Mitglieder und 120 Festivals, darunter das Sundance Festival, als Kunden gewonnen.

 

In den Jahren danach wuchs Withoutabox (WAB) stetig und dehnte sich nach Europa aus. Bald wurde das inhabergeführte Geschäft aber für die, nach der Dotcom-Blase neu prosperierenden, Konzerne der ‘New Economy’ interessant.

 

Im Januar 2008 kaufte die Internet Movie Database (IMDb), eine Tochter von Amazon, Withoutabox für einen nicht veröffentlichten, aber vermutlich sehr hohen Betrag. In der Folge wurden die Dienste von IMDb und WAB integriert und verschiedene technische Neuerungen, wie Streaming Videos, erprobt. Gleichzeitig wurden die Gebühren deutlich erhöht und die Preisstruktur zugunsten von Festivals, die exklusive Verträge abschlossen, verändert. Die hohen Gebühren und vergleichsweise nutzerunfreundlichen Interfaces verprellten immer mehr FilmemacherInnen, ebenso wie Festivals, die sich vom Monopolisten nicht knebeln lassen wollten. Im Jahr 2012, als die technische Weiterentwicklung stagnierte und die Leistungen weit hinter dem Möglichen zurückblieben, akkumulierte sich in der Filmszene so viel Zorn, dass es weltweite Kampagnen gab, die zum Boykott aufriefen.

 

Amazon nutzte ein im Jahr 2004 noch von Without A Box Inc. beantragtes und bewilligtes US Patent, das WAB eine Monopolstellung in den USA verschuf, um Druck auszuüben. Konkurriende Initiativen wurden damit erstickt und Festivals, die nicht mitspielen wollten, wurde einerseits gedroht und andererseits mit profitablen Verträge belohnt. Laut Indiewire erhalten heute manche Festivals mehr als $ 100.000 jährliche Zahlungen aus Erlösen – letztlich auf Kosten der FilmemacherInnen.

 

Erst 2014 wurde die Monopolstellung gebrochen, als jenseits der Grenze, in Ontario, vier Kanadier das Start-up Unternehmen FilmFreeway gründeten und sich aggressiv als die technisch bessere, freundlichere und preiswertere Alternative zu WAB anboten. In nur wenigen Jahren hatte FilmFreeway das seitdem wie gelähmt wirkende Flaggschiff WAB überholt. Dieses Jahr kann man sich mit FilmFreeway bei etwa 7.000 Festivals anmelden, während Withoutabox bei knapp über 1.000 Festivals stagnierte.

 

Im Jahr 2021 läuft das Patent US6829612 ab, und es ist wohl völlig illusorisch, dass es verlängert werden könnte. Warum es damals bewilligt wurde, ist ohnehin kaum zu verstehen, da nur die Anwendung für den Sektor Festivalanmeldungen neu war, nicht jedoch deren Grundlagen, also die Verknüpfung von Datenbanken und deren Online-Verwaltung.

 

Vor diesem Hintergrund ist es nur verständlich, dass Amazon jetzt die Reißleine zieht, und sich von WAB verabschiedet. Wohl kaum jemand wird der Schließung eine Träne nachweinen, doch einen Wermutstropfen gibt es: WAB war zuletzt vergleichsweise ein Hort seriöser Festivals, während sich auf dem neuen nordamerikanischen Monopolisten FilmFreeway inzwischen viel zu viele Festivals tummeln, deren Kerngeschäft nicht das Zeigen von Filmen, sondern die Akquise von Einreichgebühren ist. Aber es besteht auch Hoffnung, insofern das Ende der Patentperiode endlich auch für andere Initiativen den Weg freimacht, die sich an der ursprünglichen, guten Idee der Gründer orientieren.

 

 

»We do not encourage film festivals to make us their only way to accept submissions. The ones that are choosing to do so are doing it becuase they realize it makes their life easier as well. The reason we are not encourging them to do it is because filmmakers want choice and we want to be their advocates for choice.« (Zitat aus Interview Reinhard W. Wolf mit David Straus und Joe Neulight, 25.11.2002)

 

Zuvor auf shortfilm.de erschienener Artikel über Withoutabox com 11.12.2002
Dank der Wayback-Machine von Archive.org noch online!