Introducing: Patreon – alternative crowdfunding instead of financing through advertising

“Kurzgesagt” on Patreon (Screenshot 6-2018)

The platform Patreon was founded in 2013 by Sam Yam (formerly of AdWhirl) and the musician Jack Conte. Conte’s personal motivation was dissatisfaction with changes at YouTube. Despite millions of clicks, YouTube paid out only a small share of the advertising revenues it took in for his music videos. Conte and Yam developed an idea for a platform that would be of greater benefit to creative artists. The result was Patreon, equipped with an economic model that eliminates intermediaries and advertising.

 

The model resembles crowdfunding platforms. But unlike crowdfunding for specific projects and campaigns, Patreon is based on the idea of permanent patronage. The platform sets up a direct, ongoing connection between creators and patrons.

 

Creators can still use the platform to raise funds for a temporary project in the form of ‘pledges’ – for example for a film project. But the rule and desired goal are lasting commitments. More than 70% of all creatives on Patreon solicit (small) fixed monthly amounts from their patrons. Instead of funding the completion of a single film, this makes it possible to finance filmmaking itself, giving creative artists something like a conditional basic income. A few gallery owners had already introduced a similar model in the art sector by transferring a monthly amount to ‘their artists’ in order to place the emphasis on artistic practice rather than the finished product (film or work of art).

 

Currently (as of late June 2018), 117,437 creatives have at least one patron on Patreon. ‘Video’ is the most popular category, followed by comics, games, writing, painting and music. Nearly 33,000 video-creators are currently receiving $3.9 million a month from their patrons! The creatives actually get about $3.6 million after the deduction of 5% of turnover and the fees for the money transfer (setting up their own web page is free of charge).

 

As can be expected, there is a large gap in the distribution of revenues. The leader in the video category is Philip DeFranco with 16,000 patrons. Like Patreon’s founder, the well-known YouTube star has turned his back on YouTube. In May last year he founded the ‘News and Entertainment Network’ with the help of Patreon. Like many others, he criticises YouTube’s new rating rules and monetisation policies, which downgrade videos with less advertising-friendly content – for example the ‘bad’ news on his channel about crises and wars. The categorisation by YouTube’s management then leads not only to lower advertising revenues but also indirectly to a loss of visibility and lower ‘audience ratings’ (see article ).

 

One of the Top 50 creators on Patreon is the Munich-based Kurzgesagt Design Studio. The specialists in animated educational videos run one of the YouTube channels with the most subscribers. On Patreon, they rank third (11,500 patrons and $41,000 in revenue per month). ‘Kurzgesagt – In a Nutshell’ remark on their page that they are too many people to finance through YouTube alone. They hope that, with the help of Patreon, they will not have to produce advertising videos anymore to make ends meet.

 

The two German students Jonas & David, who produce ‘video essays’ (Simplicissimus), have made similar comments. In their introduction video on Patreon, they explain that they earned only €568.56 for their work on YouTube in May 2018, which corresponds to an hourly wage of €3.30. On Patreon, they’re already getting $1,483 per month from 416 patrons, without, as they say, having to eliminate non-advertising-friendly terms in their videos like ‘Donald Trump’ or ‘depressing’.

 

Pledges (orange) and payouts (green) since the platform’s founding @ Courtesy Graphtreon.com

It remains to be seen how the success story will continue – and for whom! Over the past year, the gap between the number of Creator Pledges and the sum of the monthly payout has widened substantially (see chart). That is not a good omen.

 

Patreon is neither a non-profit organisation nor a philanthropic enterprise. Among the members of the Supervisory Board are former CEOs of Twitter and America Online. Nevertheless, the venture-capital-financed, San Francisco-based company is a real alternative to the platform products of the listed FAANG empires.

Vorgestellt: Patreon – alternatives Crowdfounding statt Werbefinanzierung

Screenshot der Webseite patreon für das Projekt "Kurzgesagt"

Patreon-Seite von “Kurzgesagt” (Screenshot 6-2018)

Die Plattform Patreon wurde 2013 von Sam Yam (ehemals AdWhirl) und dem Musiker Jack Conte gegründet. Contes persönliche Motivation war die Unzufriedenheit mit Veränderungen bei YouTube. Trotz millionenfacher Klicks zahlte YouTube für seine Musikvideos nur geringe Beträge an Werbeeinnahmen aus. Conte und Yam entwickelten die Idee für eine Plattform, die für Kreative vorteilhafter ist. So entstand Patreon mit einem ökonomischen Modell, das ohne Zwischenhändler und ohne Werbung auskommt.

 

Das Modell ähnelt Crowdfunding-Plattformen. Doch im Unterschied zum projekt- und kampagnenbezogenen Crowdfunding steckt hinter Patreon die Idee eines dauerhaften Mäzenatentums. Die Plattform ermöglicht die direkte, dauerhafte Bindung zwischen Kreativen (creators) und Spendern (patrons).

 

Die Creators können auf der Plattform zwar auch für ein zeitlich befristetes Projekt mit ‘Pledges’ Geld einsammeln – zum Beispiel für ein Filmprojekt. Doch die Regel und das erwünschte Ziel sind dauerhafte Commitments. Mehr als 70% aller Kreativen auf Patreon werben bei den Spendern um feste monatliche (Klein-)Beträge. Damit ist es möglich sich, anstelle der Fertigstellung eines einzelnen Films, das Filmemachen an sich finanzieren zu lassen. Also, so etwas ähnliches wie ein bedingtes Grundeinkommen zu bekommen. Das ist ein Modell, wie es bereits manche Galeristen im Kunstsektor vormachen, die ‘ihren Künstlern’ monatlich einen Betrag überweisen, das statt des fertigen Produkts (Film oder Kunstwerk), die künstlerische Leistung in den Mittelpunkt rückt.

 

Zur Zeit (Ende Juni 2018) haben auf Patreon 117.437 Kreative mindestens einen Patron. Dabei ist “Video” die beliebteste Sparte – gefolgt von Comics, Games, Writing, Painting und Music. Fast 33.000 Video-Creators erhalten von ihren Patrons zur Zeit monatlich 3,9 Millionen Dollar! Davon erhalten die Kreativen etwa 3,6 Millionen nach Abzug von 5% des Umsatzes und der Gebühren für den Geldtransfer (die Einrichtung einer eigenen Seite ist kostenlos).

 

Bei der Verteilung der Einnahmen gibt es erwartungsgemäß ein großes Gefälle. Spitzenreiter in der Kategorie Video ist Philip DeFranco mit 16.000 Patrons. Der bekannte YouTube-Star hat – wie der Gründer von Patreon – YouTube den Rücken zugekehrt. Im Mai letzten Jahres gründete er mit Hilfe von Patreon das Nachrichten-Netzwerk “News and Entertainment Network”. Wie viele Andere kritisiert er die neuen Bewertungsregeln von YouTube und deren Monetarisierungspolitik, die bewirken, das Videos mit weniger werbefreundlichen Inhalten herabgestuft werden – wie bei seinem Nachrichtenkanal ‘schlechte’ Nachrichten über Krisen und Kriege. Die Einstufung durch das Management von YouTube führt dann nicht nur zu niedrigeren Werbeeinnahmen, sondern indirekt auch zum Verlust an Sichtbarkeit und zu geringeren ‘Einschaltquoten’ (hierzu s. diesen Beitrag).

 

Zu den Top 50 Creators auf Patreon gehört das Münchner Kurzgesagt Design Studio. Mit ihren animierten Bildungsvideos gehören sie zu den meist-abonnierten YouTube-Kanälen. Auf Patreon nehmen sie Rang 3 ein (11.500 Patrons und 41.000 $ Einnahmen pro Monat). “Kurzgesagt – In a Nutshell” teilt auf ihrer Seite mit, dass sie zu viel Leute seien, um sich noch von YouTube finanzieren zu können. Sie hoffen, dass sie mit Hilfe von Patreon in Zukunft keine Werbevideos produzieren müssen, um über die Runden zu kommen.

 

Ähnlich äußern sich die beiden deutschen Studenten Jonas & David, die ‘Video Essays’ produzieren (Simplicissimus). In ihrem Vorstellungsvideo auf Patreon erklären sie auch, dass sie bei YouTube im Mai 2018 für ihre Arbeit nur 568,56€ verdienten, was einem Stundenlohn von 3,30€ entspricht. Bei Patreon erhalten sie von 416 Patrons bereits 1,483 $ pro Monat ohne, wie sie sagen, in ihren Videos auf werbe-unfreundliche Begriffe wie ‘Donald Trump’ oder ‘depressiv’ verzichten zu müssen.

 

Pledges (orange) und Payouts (grün) seit Gründung @ Courtesy Graphtreon.com

Offen ist, wie sich die Erfolgsgeschichte fortsetzt – und für wen! Seit einem Jahr ist eine Schere zwischen der Zahl der Creator-Pledges und der Summe der monatlichen Auszahlung weit aufgegangen (s. Grafik). Das ist kein gutes Omen.

 

Patreon ist weder eine gemeinnützige Organisation noch ein philanthropisches Unternehmen. Im Aufsichtsrat sitzen unter anderem ehemalige CEOs von Twitter und America Online. Dennoch ist das Venture-Kapital finanzierte Unternehmen mit Sitz in San Francisco eine echte Alternative zu den Plattform-Produkten der börsennotierten FAANG-Imperien.

 

 

URL: Patreon

Datenquelle: Graphitreon.com