Two Years of “Pro Short” Short Film Association in Switzerland

Report

The Pro Short committee giving the (little) finger. From above left: Bruno Quiblier, Jela Hasler, Stella Händler, Nikola Nikola Ilić. Unten: John Canciani, Jasmin Basic, Corina Schwingruber, Tristan Aymon. Not on the photo: Elie Chapuis, Jenna Hasse, Valentina Zingg  © Pro Short / Locarno 2017

 

Two years ago, filmmakers, festival organisers and producers came together in January in Solothurn to found the Pro Short Swiss short film association. That August, a manifesto was released in Locarno. In it, Pro Short defined itself as a body representing the interests of Swiss short film and acting as a voice for it. Since then, Pro Short has filled a gap in Switzerland and been an advocate for short film within the film policy sphere, the various associations and the industry.

After it was founded, the Cinébulletin industry magazine commented as follows, »Swiss short film is doing well, yet its situation within the national institutions has deteriorated«[1], and described short film as a format forgotten by the Swiss film funding bodies.

Ten to fifteen years earlier, the situation did not look rosy as such, but certainly more promising. The Kurzfilmagentur Schweiz Swiss short film agency had been founded on the basis of similar models in other European countries, and the Short Film Section in Swiss Films, a promotion institution comparable to German Films, was undergoing expansion. And there were also success-orientated support and funding measures available for short films, similar to the reference film funding options available in Germany, provided in the context of the Succès Cinéma (premiums for box-office hits), Succès passage antenne (premiums for TV broadcasts) and Succès artistique (both with reference funding from the “Pacte de l’audiovisuel” Film-Television Agreement) programmes. Films up to 60 minutes were supported there. Unlike in the German funding system with its shorter film running time differentiations, in Switzerland the term short film only applies in the context of and related to festivals.

The Kurzfilmagentur Schweiz has long ceased to exist. Today, the shortfilm.ch URL takes the online viewer to Base Court in Lausanne, where its Kurzfilmevents (ShortFilmEvents) are curated. Its president is the former agency founder Philippe Clivaz. A further co-founder, Simon Koenig (managing director of the Filmbüro Zentralschweiz – Central Swiss Film Office – today), moved to the Short Film Section of Swiss Films since then. Today, however, this section only consists of one person, currently the short film consultant Sylvain Vaucher.

In the meantime, several former support measures for films up to 60 minutes in length from the Swiss Federal Office of Culture (BAK) and in the context of the Film-Television Agreement with the SRG/SSR broadcasting body were ended. And that happened soundlessly, more or less, as there was no lobby to stop it. Which is where Pro Short is stepping in. The association does not regard the deplorable developments mentioned above as necessarily being a targeted decision against short film, but rather a consequence of there being no body to represent the related interests and mount a concerted resistance to such cutbacks.

In this regard, Pro Short has pointed to the situation with animation film, which can also consist of short films and which has achieved a better position thanks to the commitment demonstrated by the GSFA Swiss Association of Animated Filmmakers.

The first thing Pro Short has tackled is the Swiss Film Prize, which is currently awarded in the categories “Best Short film”, “Best Graduation Film” and “Best Animated Film”. The opportunities to participate in it, as well as the films selected, are strictly limited and prevent the Film Prize from reflecting the actual situation (please see our prize-winner statistics below). With a festival listing (Succès Festival) required for films submitted and the student graduation film restrictions, among others, acting like a regimentation here. Which is what Pro Short would like to change with fairer category definitions.

Currently, Pro Short is also working on a proposal for better organised reference film funding from the Swiss Federal Office of Culture (BAK) in relation to the next funding period from 2020 onwards, based on the Swiss Cultural Funding Law (so-called message of culture  [2]) . Likewise, Pro Short is in discussions with the SRG/SSR public TV broadcasting body, aimed at clarifying whether the cancelled Succès passage antenne and Succès artistique premium systems for short films, or a comparable option, can be reintroduced. Furthermore, Pro Short is striving for an improvement in the current Succès Festival points system.

In addition to these concrete film policy tasks, Pro Short also wants to offer benefits to its members and use events to improve exchanges and networking within the short film scene.

Despite having existed for such a short time, the Pro Short association already had 90 members by the end of 2018. The membership is free-of-charge for film students, while the annual fees for professionals and institutions are between 50 and 500 Swiss francs.

Since this year, Pro Short has also been able to afford its own professional office. The publicist and festival curator Valentina Zingg was appointed its managing director, with the aim of supporting the voluntary board members.

 

Links

Pro Short Swiss short film associationPro Short

Swiss Films Support & Promotion Short Film

Base Court Lausanne

<small”Succès Cinéma” success-oriented film funding from the Swiss Federal Office of CultureSuccès Cinéma

BAK FPF funding/support platform FPF

 

Further information

Pro Short Board as of January 2019:

Jasmin Basic, Programmer, Producer, Geneva (President)
Corina Schwingruber Ilić, Filmmaker, Luzern (Vice-President)
Tristan Aymon, Filmmaker, Producer, Terrain Vague, Lausanne
Bruno Quiblier, Director, Base Court, Lausanne
Stella Händler, Producer, freihändler Filmproduktion company, Basel
John Canciani, Artistic Director, International Short Film Festival Winterthur, Board Member, Short Film Conference Winterthur
Elie Chaupuis, Animation Filmmaker, Producer, Hélium Film, Member of the GSFA Swiss Association of Animated Filmmakers
Jenna Hasse, Filmmaker, Actress, Lausanne, Paris
Nikola Ilić, Filmmaker, Luzern
Jela Hasler, Filmmaker, Zurich (Office ad interim)
Office: Valentina Zingg

Award-winner Statistics: Swiss Short Film in an International Comparison

Data are available from the 2018 prize-winners review just released, according to which Swiss films are in fifth place – after films from the UK, France, Netherlands and Germany – with the most awards globally. Only Belgium has achieved a similar success otherwise among the smaller countries, based on their population numbers. In fact this was already the case in the previous year. The short film productions that won the most awards in 2018 included the documentary ALL INCLUSIVE from Corina Schwingruber Ilić, the fiction film BONOBO from Zoel Aeschbacher, the animated work THE LITTLE BIRD AND THE CATERPILLAR from Lena von Döhren, the fiction film FACING MECCA from Jan-Eric Mack and the documentary LIGNE NOIR from Mark Olexa and Francesca Scalisi.

The previous year: AIRPORT from Michaela Müller, AU REVOIR BALTHAZAR from Rafael Sommerhalder, IN A NUTSHELL from Fabio Friedli and LA FEMME ET LE TGV from Timo von Gunten.

 

[1] “Damit der Kurzfilm nicht vergessen geht” So Short Film Does Not Slip into Oblivion, Pascaline Sordet, Cinebulletin 25.09.2017

[2] https://www.bak.admin.ch/bak/de/home/themen/kulturbotschaft.html

Zwei Jahre Pro Short Kurzfilmverband in der Schweiz

Report

Das Komittee von Pro Short zeigt den Kleinen. Von oben links: Bruno Quiblier, Jela Hasler, Stella Händler, Nikola Nikola Ilić. Unten: John Canciani, Jasmin Basic, Corina Schwingruber, Tristan Aymon. Nicht auf dem Bild: Elie Chapuis, Jenna Hasse, Valentina Zingg  © Pro Short / Locarno 2017

 

Vor zwei Jahren trafen sich im Januar in Solothurn FilmemacherInnen, FestivalmacherInnen und ProduzentInnen um den Verband Kurzfilm Schweiz Pro Short zu gründen. Im August wurde in Locarno ein Manifest veröffentlicht. Darin definiert sich Pro Short als Interessenvertretung und Sprachrohr des Schweizer Kurzfilms. Seitdem füllt Pro Short in der Schweiz eine Lücke und setzt sich innerhalb der Filmpolitik, der Verbände und der Branche für den Kurzfilm ein.

 

Zur Gründung schrieb die Branchenzeitschrift Cinébulletin, »dem Schweizer Kurzfilm geht es gut, aber seine Situation in den nationalen Institutionen hat sich verschlechtert«[1] und beschreibt den Kurzfilm als ein von der Schweizer Filmförderung vergessenes Format.

 

Zehn bis fünfzehn Jahre zuvor sah dies, zwar nicht rosig, aber vielversprechend aus. Nach Vorbildern in anderen europäischen Ländern wurden die Kurzfilmagentur Schweiz gegründet und die Kurzfilmabteilung von Swiss Films, eine German Films vergleichbare Promotionsinstitution, ausgebaut. Und es gab erfolgsorientierte Fördermaßnahmen für Kurzfilme, vergleichbar der deutschen Referenzfilmförderung, im Rahmen der Programme Succès Cinéma (Prämien für Kinoerfolge) sowie Succès passage antenne (Prämien für TV-Ausstrahlungen) und Succès artistique (beides Referenzmittel aus dem Film- Fernsehabkommen “Pacte de l’audiovisuel”). Dort wurden Filme bis 60 Minuten gefördert. Anders als in der deutschen Fördersystematik mit kürzeren Laufzeitstaffelungen kommt dort der Begriff Kurzfilm nur in Bezug auf Festivals vor.

 

Die Kurzfilmagentur gibt es schon lange nicht mehr. Die URL shortfilm.ch führt heute zu Base Court in Lausanne, wo Kurzfilmevents kuratiert werden. Präsident ist der ehemalige Agenturgründer Philippe Clivaz. Ein anderer Mitgründer, Simon Koenig (heute Geschäftsführer des Filmbüros Zentralschweiz), wechselte zwischenzeitlich in die Kurzfilmabteilung von Swiss Films, die aber heute nur noch aus einer Person, gegenwärtig dem Kurzfilmkonsulenten Sylvain Vaucher, besteht.

 

Einige frühere Fördermaßnahmen für Filme bis 60 Minuten Länge des Bundesamts für Kultur (BAK) und im Rahmen des Filmfernsehabkommens mit der SRG/SSR wurden inzwischen gestrichen. Und das ging ziemlich geräuschlos vonstatten, da es keine Lobby gab. Hier setzt Pro Short an. Die beklagenswerten Entwicklungen werden vom Verband nicht zwingend als gezielter Entscheid gegen den Kurzfilm wahrgenommen, sondern als Folge fehlender Interessensvertretung und engagierter Gegenwehr.

 

Pro Short verweist dabei auf die Situation beim Animationsfilm, der ja auch Kurzfilm sein kann, der dank des Engagements des Verband der Animationsfilmschaffenden GSFA einen besseren Stand hat.

 

Als erstes nahm sich Pro Short den Schweizer Filmpreis vor, der aktuell in den Kategorien “Bester Kurzfilm”, “Bester Abschlussfilm” und “Bester Animationsfilm” vergeben wird. Die Möglichkeiten der Beteiligung und der Filmauswahl sind stark eingeschränkt und verhindern, dass der Filmpreis die tatsächliche Lage widerspiegelt (s.a. unsere Preisträger-Statistik unten). Reglementierend wirken unter anderem eine Festivalliste (Succès Festival) und die Einschränkung auf Abschlussfilme für Filme von Studierenden. Dies möchte Pro Short mit fairer ausgeschriebenen Kategorien ändern.

 

Aktuell arbeitet Pro Short auch an einem Vorschlag für besser ausgestattete Referenzfilmförderungen des BAK im Hinblick auf die nächste Förderperiode des Kulturfördergesetzes ab 2020 (sogenannte Kulturbotschaft[2]). Mit dem öffentlich-rechtlichen Fernsehen SRG/SSR steht Pro Short im Kontakt, um zu klären, ob die für den Kurzfilm abgeschafften Prämiensysteme Succès passage antenne und Succès artistique oder Vergleichbares wieder eingeführt werden können. Außerdem bemüht sich Pro Short um eine Verbesserung des bestehenden Succès Festival Punktesystems.

 

Neben diesen konkreten filmpolitischen Aufgaben will Pro Short auch seinen Mitgliedern Vorteile bieten und mit Informationssystemen und in Veranstaltungen den Austausch und die Vernetzung der Kurzfilmszene verbessern.

 

Trotz seines erst kurzen Bestehens hat der Verein Pro Short per Ende 2018 bereits 90 Mitglieder. Die Mitgliedschaft ist für Filmstudierende gratis und die Jahresbeiträge für Professionelle und Institutionen liegen zwischen 50 und 500 CHF.

Seit diesem Jahr kann sich Pro Short auch eine professionelle Geschäftsstelle leisten. Im Februar wurde die Publizistin und Festivalkuratorin Valentina Zingg als Geschäftsführerin angestellt, um die ehrenamtlichen Vorstandsmitglieder zu unterstützen.

 

 

 

Links

Verband Kurzfilm Schweiz Pro Short

Swiss Films Support & Promotion Short Film

Base Court Lausanne

Erfolgsabhängige Filmförderung “Succès Cinéma” des BAK

Förderplattform des BAK FPF

 

Weitere Informationen

Pro Short Vorstand per Januar 2019:

Jasmin Basic, Programmerin, Produzentin, Genf (Präsidium)

Corina Schwingruber Ilić, Filmemacherin, Luzern (Vize-Präsidium)

Tristan Aymon, Filmemacher / Produzent Terrain Vague, Lausanne

Bruno Quiblier, Direktor Base-Court, Lausanne

Stella Händler, Produzentin freihändler Filmproduktion, Basel

John Canciani, künstlerischer Leiter Kurzfilmtage Winterthur und Vorstandsmitglied Short film conference, Winterthur

Elie Chaupuis, Animationsfilmer, Produzent Hélium Film und Mitglied des GSFA

Jenna Hasse, Filmemacherin und Schauspielerin, Lausanne / Paris

Nikola Ilić, Filmemacher, Luzern

Jela Hasler, Filmemacherin, Zürich (Geschäftsstelle ad interim)

Geschäftsstelle: Valentina Zingg

 

Preisträgerstatistik: Schweizer Kurzfilme im internationalen Vergleich

Für den gerade veröffentlichten Rückblick auf Preisträger im Jahr 2018 liegen Daten vor, nach denen Schweizer Filme – nach Filmen aus UK, F, NL und A – an fünfter Stelle mit den weltweit meisten Auszeichnungen steht. Unter den kleineren Ländern – bezogen auf die Einwohnerzahl – ist sonst nur Belgien ähnlich erfolgreich. Dies war bereits im Jahr zuvor der Fall. Zu den Kurzfilmproduktionen mit den meisten Auszeichnungen im Jahr 2018 gehörten der Dokumentarfilm ALL INCLUSIVE von Corina Schwingruber Ilić, der Spielfilm BONOBO von Zoel Aeschbacher, die Animation DER KLEINE VOGEL UND DIE RAUPE von Lena von Döhren, der Spielfilm FACING MECCA von Jan-Eric Mack und der Dokumentarfilm LIGNE NOIR von Mark Olexa & Francesca Scalisi.

Im Jahr davor: AIRPORT von Michaela Müller, AU REVOIR BALTHAZAR von Rafael Sommerhalder, IN A NUTSHELL von Fabio Friedli und LA FEMME ET LE TGV von Timo von Gunten.

 

[1] “Damit der Kurzfilm nicht vergessen geht”, Pascaline Sordet, Cinebulletin 25.09.2017

[2] https://www.bak.admin.ch/bak/de/home/themen/kulturbotschaft.html