Waiting for the wave 2 – film festivals between shutdown and hope

Diagram 2: Distribution of the number of announced festival dates over the year 2020 (as per 1.5.20, data basis: own festival calendar).
Increased columns=new dates (the color refers to the originally planned month), gray= moved to autumn without a fixed date (as a forecast evenly distributed over 3 months)

 

A month has passed since I first reported on the reactions of film festivals to the official closures – time to take a look at the current situation.

In the meantime other festivals worldwide had to be cancelled. Many have probably been too optimistic about the development or have been waiting until the last moment to make a decision. To date, there is still not a single festival in the world that can be sure of being allowed to take place. In no country, apart from outsiders such as Belarus or Egypt, have the governments set dates for lifting restrictions on gatherings.

In Germany, the only certainty is that no major event may be held before 31 August. The only thing that remains undefined is how many people are required for an event to be ‘large’. Public statements suggest that after shops and educational institutions (including museums), theatres, concert halls and cinemas will only be allowed to open in a third and final phase of relaxation.

 

 

 

Monthly comparison

 

The figures below show the announced festival dates in monthly steps. Diagram 1 shows festivals as they were planned a month ago. In diagram 2 I entered the current distribution of the announced dates as of May 1. Here, for a better view, the two diagrams below each other:

Diagram 1: Distribution of announced festivals (as of 31.3.20, data basis: own festival calendar) / Note: the number of festivals as of October corresponds to the previous year (in diagram 2, however, to the festivals announced in the meantime in 2020)

Diagram 2: Distribution of the number of announced festival dates over the year 2020 (as per 1.5.20, data basis: own festival calendar). Raised columns=new dates (the colour refers to the originally planned month), grey= moved without a fixed date to autum (as a forecast evenly distributed over 3 months)

In comparison, it is easy to see how the peak (the month with the most festivals) has shifted and how the number of planned festivals has risen sharply since August. The postponed festivals without a fixed new date – and that are quite many – are distributed not evenly over four months, unlike last month, but over only three months (Sept. – Nov.). Irrespective of this unpredictability, it is clear that October 2020 will be the month in which most of the festivals will be held this year.

The summer dates, which have not yet significantly decreased, are mainly festivals in Italy, typically held during the holiday season and often supported by local tourism organisations. I won’t comment on how realistic that is…

The bars entered in the chart for April and May are not to be taken seriously. These refer either to organizers who have not updated their websites for weeks, and only a few festivals in the Middle East that have actually taken place or may still take place.

As suspected in the last report, the major festivals tend to cancel completely or to postpone their dates to a much later date. They don’t want to risk having to cancel again – which is what actually happened to smaller festivals that have just been added in July.

 

 

 

Online festival offers

 

Many festivals do not want to or cannot postpone their date and instead offer streaming on or around their event date. To get an overview, I have marked these activities in the following diagram and put them in relation to the actually planned festivals.

Diagram 3 Proportion of online activities by festivals = blue frames

It is astonishing how quickly and strongly online offers were set up at the beginning of the festival shutdown. It is also remarkable that after April, the proportion of festivals planning exclusively online activities is already declining again. In this respect the peak has been exceeded. But whether all the festivals can actually take place again after June, as planned by the organizers, is unfortunately more than questionable.

 

Part 1 from April 2, 2020: Waiting for the wave – Film festivals between shutdown and hope

 

 

1 Trackback

Warten auf die Welle 2 – Filmfestivals zwischen Stilllegung und Hoffnung

Diagramm 2: Verteilung der Zahl angekündigter Festivaltermine auf das Jahr 2020 (per 1.5.20, Datenbasis: eigener Festivalkalender).
Aufgestockte Säulen=neue Termine (die Farbe verweist auf den ursprünglich geplanten Monat), grau=ohne festen Termin in den Herbst verlegt (als Prognose gleichmässig auf 3 Monate verteilt)

 

Es ist ein Monat vergangen seit ich über die Reaktionen von Filmfestivals auf die behördlichen Stilllegungen berichtet habe – Zeit um einen Blick auf die aktuelle Lage zu werfen.

 

Inzwischen mussten weltweit weitere Festivals absagen. Viele haben die Entwicklung wohl zu optimistisch eingeschätzt oder bis zum letzten Moment mit einer Entscheidung gewartet. Per dato gibt es weltweit immer noch kein einziges Festival, das sich sicher sein kann, stattfinden zu können. In keinem Land, sieht man von Außenseitern wie Weißrussland oder Ägypten ab, haben Regierungen Termine genannt, zu denen die Beschränkungen für Versammlungen aufgehoben werden.

 

In Deutschland ist nur sicher, dass vor dem 31. August keine Großveranstaltung stattfinden darf. Nur, ab wie viel Personen eine Veranstaltung ‘groß’ ist, bleibt undefiniert. Öffentliche Äußerungen legen nahe, dass nach Geschäften und Bildungseinrichtungen (auch Museen) erst in einer dritten und letzten Phase der Lockerungen auch Theater, Konzerthäuser und Kinos öffnen dürfen.

 

 

Monatsvergleich

 

Die folgenden Schaubilder zeigen die bekanntgegebenen Festivaltermine in Monatsschritten. In Diagramm 1 sind Festivals eingetragen, wie sie vor einem Monat geplant waren. In Diagramm 2 habe ich die Verteilung der angekündigten Termine nach heutigem Stand (per 1. Mai) eingetragen. Hier zum besseren Vergleich die beiden Schaubilder untereinander:

Diagramm 1: Verteilung angekündigter Festivals (per 31.3.20, Datenbasis: eigener Festivalkalender) / Anm: die Zahl der Festivals ab Oktober entspricht dem Vorjahr (in Diagramm 2 jedoch, den inzwischen angekündigten Festivals 2020)

Diagramm 2: Verteilung der Zahl angekündigter Festivaltermine auf das Jahr 2020 (per 1.5.20).
Aufgestockte Säulen=neue Termine (die Farbe verweist auf den ursprünglich geplanten Monat), grau=ohne festen Termin in den Herbst verlegt (als Prognose gleichmässig auf 3 Monate verteilt)

Im Vergleich ist gut zu erkennen, wie sich der Peak (Monat mit den meisten Festivals) verschoben hat und wie ab dem August die Zahl der geplanten Festivals sprunghaft angestiegen ist. Die verschobenen Festivals ohne festen neuen Termin– und das sind ziemlich viele – habe ich anders als letzten Monat nicht auf vier Monate, sondern auf nur drei Monate (Sept. – Nov.) gleichmäßig verteilt. Unabhängig von dieser Unwägbarkeit, ist erkennbar, dass im Oktober 2020 dieses Jahr die meisten Festivals stattfinden wollen.

 

Bei den noch nicht deutlich zurückgegangen Sommerterminen handelt es sich überwiegend um Festivals in Italien, die dort typischerweise während der Urlaubszeiten stattfinden und oft von lokalen Tourismus-Organisationen unterstützt werden. Wie realistisch das ist, möchte ich nicht kommentieren …

 

Die im April und Mai eingetragenen Balken sind nicht wirklich ernst zunehmen. Es handelt sich entweder um Veranstalter, die ihre Webseiten seit Wochen nicht mehr aktualisiert haben, aber auch um einige wenige Festivals im Nahen Osten, die tatsächlich stattgefunden haben beziehungsweise noch stattfinden können.

 

Wie im letzten Bericht vermutet, neigen die großen Festivals eher dazu, ganz abzusagen oder bei Verschiebung auf einen deutlich späteren Termin zu setzen. Sie wollen nicht riskieren noch einmal absagen zu müssen – was tatsächlich kleineren Festivals passiert ist, die jetzt im Juli neu hinzugekommen sind.

 

 

Online-Angebote von Festivals

 

Viele Festivals wollen oder können ihren Termin nicht verschieben und bieten stattdessen an oder um ihren Veranstaltungstermin herum Streamings an. Um einen Überblick zu bekommen, habe ich diese Aktivitäten im folgenden Diagramm markiert und mit den real geplanten Festivals ins Verhältnis gesetzt.

Diagramm 3 Anteile Festivals mit Online-Aktivitäten = blaue Rahmen

Erstaunlich ist, wie schnell und stark am Anfang des Shutdowns Festivals Online-Angebote auf die Beine gestellt haben. Bemerkenswert ist auch, dass nach dem April der Anteil der Festivals, die ausschließlich Online-Aktivitäten planen, schon wieder zurückgeht. Diesbezüglich ist der Peak überschritten. Ob aber nach dem Juni, wie von den Veranstaltern geplant, tatsächlich alle Festivals wieder stattfinden können, ist leider mehr als zweifelhaft.

 

Teil 1 vom 2.4.20: Warten auf die Welle – Filmfestivals zwischen Stilllegung und Hoffnung

 

 

2 Trackbacks