French film history – temporarily free short films at the “Festival à la Maison

La Folie du docteur Tube” by Abel Gance (F 1915) / Screenshot Henri, Cinémathèque francaise

The French production and distribution company mk2 offers a curated selection of films in its own online magazine TROISCOULEURS in the section “Festival à la Maison”, which is available online free of charge.

Every Wednesday and for the duration of the national assembly restrictions, the mk2 Curiosity section presents five to six works from its own film catalogue for free access: feature films, short films, making of, documentaries and bonus films that have shaped the history of world cinema.

In the first round, early or first short films by well-known directors were shown, such as “Ars” by Jacques Demy (1957), “Les Maîtres fous” by Jean Rouch (1957), “L’Amour existe” by Maurice Pialat (1960) or the provocatively brutal anti-Vietnam War film “The Big Shave” by Martin Scorcese (1967). Currently, “Black Panther” by Agnès Varda (1968) can be seen. The films can only be seen for a limited time, but the series will be continued.

The “Festival à la Maison” is also attended by others with short film offerings, such as the Cinémathèque française. The Cinematheque’s archive initially contributed restored short films by Jean Epstein: “La Chute de la maison Usher” (1928), “La Glace à trois faces” (1927), “Mor’vran – La Mer des corbeaux” (1930) and “Le Tempestaire” (1947).

On its own platform Henri, the French Cinematheque also showing rarities, curiosities and early avant-garde short films such as the burlesque experimental “La Folie du docteur Tube” by Abel Gance (1915), “Nous, les gitans” by Alberto Spadolini (1950) or the jazz film “Surprise Boogie” by Albert Pierru (1956), scratched directly onto celluloid – a model for Norman McLaren.

The magazine pages may be confusing, but with a little patience you can discover true pearls of film history or get informed by newsletter.

 

Magazin Troiscouleur: mk2 Curiosity

Magazin Troiscouleur:  Le festival à la maison

 

 

Pictures

“La Folie du docteur Tube”, Abel Gance 1915, Cinémathèque française

Französische Filmgeschichte – vorübergehend gratis Kurzfilme beim “Festival à la Maison”

La Folie du docteur Tube” von Abel Gance (F 1915) / Screenshot Henri, Cinémathèque francaise

Die französische Produktions- und Vertriebsfirma mk2 bietet im eigenen Online-Magazin TROISCOULEURS in der Rubrik “Festival à la Maison” eine kuratierte Auswahl von Filmen, die kostenlos online zur Verfügung gestellt wird.

 

In der Rubrik mk2 Curiosity werden jeden Mittwoch und während der Dauer der nationalen Versammlungsbeschränkungen fünf bis sechs Werke aus dem eigenen Filmkatalog zum freien Zugang präsentiert: Spielfilme, Kurzfilme, Making of, Dokumentarfilme und Bonusfilme, die die Geschichte des Weltkinos geprägt haben.

 

In der ersten Runde wurden frühe oder erste Kurzfilme bekannter RegisseurInnen gezeigt; wie zum Beispiel “Ars“ von Jacques Demy (1957), “Les Maîtres fous” von Jean Rouch (1957), “L’Amour existe” von Maurice Pialat (1960) oder der provokativ brutale Anti-Vietnamkriegsfilm “The Big Shave” von Martin Scorcese (1967). Aktuell ist “Black Panther” von Agnès Varda (1968) zu sehen. Die Filme sind immer nur für eine begrenzte Zeit zu sehen, aber die Reihe wird fortgesetzt.

 

Am “Festival à la Maison” nehmen auch Andere mit Kurzfilmangeboten teil, wie zum Beispiel die Cinémathèque française. Das Archiv der Kinemathek beteiligte sich zunächst mit restaurierten Kurzfilmen von Jean Epstein bei: “La Chute de la maison Usher” (1928), “La Glace à trois faces” (1927), “Mor’vran – La Mer des corbeaux” (1930) und “Le Tempestaire” (1947).

 

Auf der eigenen Plattform Henri zeigt die französische Kinemathek außerdem Raritäten, Kuriositäten und frühe Avantgarde-Kurzfilme wie zum Beispiel der burlesk-experimentelle “La Folie du docteur Tube” von Abel Gance (1915), “Nous, les gitans” von Alberto Spadolini (1950) oder der direkt auf Zelluloid gekratzte Jazzfilm “Surprise Boogie” von Albert Pierru (1956) – ein Vorbild für Norman McLaren.

 

Die Magazinseiten sind zwar unübersichtlich, mit etwas Geduld lassen sich aber wahre Perlen der Filmgeschichte entdecken oder man lässt sich per Newsletter informieren.

 

 

Magazin Troiscouleur: mk2 Curiosity

Magazin Troiscouleur:  Le festival à la maison

 

 

Bilder

“La Folie du docteur Tube”, Abel Gance 1915, Cinémathèque française