European Short Film 2018 awarded in Seville – new procedure from 2019 onward


GLI ANNI – European Short Film 2018 © Sara Fgaier

The European Film Academy awarded the 31st European Film Awards on 15.12.2018 in Seville. The awards ceremony in 23 categories and a film gala for the public took place shortly before Christmas last weekend at the Teatro de la Maestranza.

Previously, 15 European short films had been nominated for the prize in the short film category at participating partner festivals. Two German productions made it onto the shortlist: The independently produced experimental film BURKINA BRANDENBURG KOMPLEX by Ulu Braun nominated in Berlin and the medium-length film KONTENER by Sebastian Lang (Filmuniversität Babelsberg) nominated in Cork.

From the nominations the members of the European Film Academy chose the Italian-French production GLI ANNI (The Years) by Sara Fgaier for the European Short Film 2018. The experimental film tells from the perspective of a woman passages through time on the coast Sardini with Super-8 material and partly black and white footage from local family films.

The Academy has announced changes for the next short film award ceremonies (2019 starting with the Berlinale). In the coming year, a committee consisting of short film experts and EFA board members will pre-select five candidates from the festival nominations, which will then continue to be submitted to the 3,500 members for decision. In addition, the circle of nominating festivals is to be expanded. In 2020 the International Short Film Festival in Cyprus, the RIFF in Riga and the Short Film Festival Winterthur will be added.



URL: European Short Film nominees 2018

URL: European Short Film 2018: GLI ANNI

Download Booklet (pdf) European Short Film 2018