Filmmaker from Grenada seeks crowdfunding donor for participation at the Biennale di Venezia

News

“Absence of Love” (Grenada 2017) © Billy Gerard Frank

 

The island state of Grenada will take part in the Biennale di Venezia for the third time in 2019, thus catching up with Cuba in the Caribbean. In contrast to Cuba, Grenada is a country without distinctive cultural structures and cultural support. Four artists were selected to represent Grenada in their own pavilion. One of them is the multimedia artist and filmmaker Billy Gerard Frank.

Participation in Venice is expensive. As a rule, the financing comes from the countries that can be represented. In smaller countries this is often not the case. Frank has to raise at least $70,000 for the travel, transportation and production of the works to be exhibited. To this end, Frank has initiated an unprecedented crowdfunding campaign.

On the platform GoFundMe Frank asks for support for his project and a partial financing of the exhibition. Within one month he has achieved more than half of his goal ($10,000)!

Billy Gerard Frank deals with topics such as Afrodiaspora, queerness and family relationships. Together with the three other selected artists Shervone Neckles, Dave Lewis and Amy Cannestra, he is planning the “Epic Memory” project for the Biennale. This new work deals with the themes of exile, migration, alienation and memories around his family. His starting point is his narrative short film “Absence of Love” (Grenada/USA 2017), which made him internationally famous. In the 27-minute film, he reflects on his relationship with his father from the perspective of two fictional brothers who overcome the loss of their father.

Next year’s Biennale di Venezia will take place from 11 May to 24 November under the motto May You Live in Interesting Times.

 

 

URL of the fundraising campaign: https://www.gofundme.com/support-venice-biennale-artist-2019

URL of the artist: https://www.billygerardfrank.com/

URL of the short film “Absence of Love” on Vimeo https://vimeo.com/270690518Filmmaker from Grenada seeks crowdfunding donor for participation at the Biennale di Venezia

Filmemacher aus Grenada sucht für Teilnahme an der Biennale di Venezia Crowdfunding-Spender

News

Standbild aus “Absence of Love” (Grenada 2017) © Billy Gerard Frank

Der Inselstaat Grenada nimmt 2019 zum dritten Mal an der Biennale di Venezia teil und schließt damit in der Karibik mit Kuba auf. Im Unterschied zu Kuba ist Grenada ein Land ohne ausgeprägte Kulturstrukturen und Kulturförderungen. Vier Künstler wurden ausgewählt Grenada in einem eigenen Pavillon zu vertreten. Einer davon ist der Multimedia-Künstler und Filmemacher Billy Gerard Frank.

 

Die Teilnahme in Venedig ist teuer. In der Regel kommt die Finanzierung aus den Ländern, die sich repräsentieren lassen. In kleineren Ländern ist dies oft nicht der Fall. So muss Frank selbst mindestens 70.000 $ für die Reise, den Transport und Herstellung der Werke, die ausgestellt werden, aufbringen. Hierfür hat Frank eine bisher beispiellose Crowdfunding-Kampagne initiiert.

Auf der Plattform GoFundMe bittet Frank nun um Unterstützung für sein Projekt und eine Teilfinanzierung der Ausstellung. Innerhalb eines Monats hat er per dato mehr als die Hälfte seines Ziels (10.000 $) erreicht!

 

Billy Gerard Frank beschäftigt sich mit Themen wie Afrodiaspora, Queerness und Familienverhältnissen. Für die Biennale plant er zusammen mit den drei anderen ausgewählten Künstlern Shervone Neckles, Dave Lewis und Amy Cannestra das Projekt “Epic Memory”. Diese neue Arbeit beschäftigt sich mit den Themen Exil, Migration, Entfremdung und Erinnerungen rund um seine Familie. Als Ausgangspunkt dient ihm sein narrativer Kurzfilm “Absence of Love” (Grenada/USA 2017), durch den er international bekannt wurde. In dem 27-minütigen Film reflektiert er seine Beziehung zu seinem Vater aus der Perspektive zweier fiktiver Brüder, die den Verlust ihres Vaters bewältigen.

 

Die Biennale di Venezia findet nächstes Jahr vom 11. Mai bis zum 24. November unter dem Motto May You Live in Interesting Times statt.

 

 

URL der Spendenkampagne: gofundme.com

URL des Künstlers: www.billygerardfrank.com

URL des Kurzfilms “Absence of Love” auf Vimeo

 

 

1 Trackback