Steps within Crises
Notes on the Filmic Encounters of Clara Winter and Miguel Ferráez

Portrait

RETRIBUTION ON LOW CHARGE (in postproduction) © Clara Winter & Miguel Ferráez

A French boy is sitting in a ballet lesson in Mexico. It is a class for girls and he does not speak a word of Spanish. Only one of the girl dancers eventually acknowledges him, sits down beside him, shows him the most important poses and comments on them. He paints a bird, which she notices. The picture surmounts their language barrier, as do her gestures. Her fingers dance along his leg. She takes the pencil and paints a second bird next to his one. It is completely different to his bird – more rudimentary, almost sketch-like and quite odd – yet it still completes the picture. Both images could stand for the hope of freedom and the desire for agility and movement. A film that unequivocally shows it wants to be interpreted: The girl is suffering under the rules of the ballet class. The boy travelled halfway round the world just a day before. Yet for that, the flying animal he has drawn is perched quite snugly on a branch.

 

A scene from “assemblé”, the 2011 graduation film from the Mexican artist Miguel Ferráez – embedded in a classic, screenplay-based narrative. Nowadays, together with the Leipzig-based video artist Clara Winter, he is exploring a more light-footed, politicised film concept, comparatively speaking. Their most recent work “Wir sprechen heute noch Deutsch”(We Still Speak German Today, 2019) has just been in the media, because the two of them won the German Short Film Award in the experimental film category. Ferráez himself appears before the camera in the film, reciting text fragments from German integration courses for immigrants. He is standing in front of buildings belonging to German corporations, in front of German cars and restaurants, and of course in front of the German Goethe Institute: German places where the German contribution to globalisation manifests itself internationally.

 

 

WIR SPRECHEN HEUTE NOCH DEUTSCH © Clara Winter & Miguel Ferráez

 

The two of them have worked together for several years and already produced five films by now. In fact, this dynamic duo step before the camera themselves in their undertakings, where they increasingly explore positionings, semi-fictions and plays with symbols. Filmic styles that could barely be more different clash with each other in their encounters – resulting in new questions and methods. Together with their explicit questioning of social statuses and nationality, the films from the two of them provide a record especially of an artistic evolution and the development of a transcultural style. And in relation to the German and indeed Mexican cinema, their experiments seem delightfully misplaced.

 

Clara Winter began by making straightforward documentaries. From 2011 to 2014, she created intimate films about her surroundings, shot in the left-wing scene in Toulouse, where she studied at the École Supérieure des Beaux-Arts for a while. Parallel to this, she worked in an interdisciplinary context in Leipzig, among others in a band project, from which a musical and an exhibition resulted. The French works from that time explore the basic grammar of cinematography and are explicitly dedicated to individual persons. Winter and her camera entered into concentrated dialogues with various anarchists: “Mika” (2012), “Laurent” (2012) and “Olivier” (2013) are the portraits she created. The films recount men who are struggling against the system, squatters defending the living spaces from claims of ownership and police violence, as well as a yoghurt attack on Sarkozy and maniacal bicycles. Yet ultimately they are about utopias and the optimism needed to keep the world up and running. Or giving them a shakeup at best.

 

MIKA (Clara Winter, 2013) © Clara Winter

 

“Mika” is a disturbing work. The person who accords the film its name does not appear in it at all. He died during a fight from a gunshot to his heart – right in the middle of a housing project where he lived, and thus where Clara Winter was also staying regularly at that time. This event has a devastating effect on everyone’s reality of life: With Clara Winter using her thoughts as a diary-like mirror and speaking about her own perception of what has happened – about grief, group dynamics, the need to deal with the police and their investigations, the questioning about the case, the immediate detention of the people in the house for a night, the authorities’ suspicions, the ultimate eviction of them from the housing project. Yet for that with a light gesture at the end. The joy in still being alive and not in prison, linked to an anecdote about the cinema. Likewise Laurent, who gives his name to the second film in the series, speaks about overcoming pessimism: “It’s not very difficult.”

 

In her films from this time, Winter does not shy away from seeing herself as a reflection of the related circumstances, from looking at the direct realities of life and the people in her circle of friends. These films are characterised by their lack of distance. Even “Beziehungsarbeit” (2012-2013, with Lina Walde) and “L’absence de marquage” (2014) work on a documentary level. Yet now, the aim is to provoke situations for the camera: Winter and Walde flirt with strangers, get drunk and philosophise. In “L’absence de marquage”, Clara Winter gets into cars, in constant motion, talking to the people at the steering wheel and the passengers. When they reveal something about themselves during the drive, she repeatedly retorts with private aspects, processing a separation. A note about this is attributed to her ex-boyfriend, to whom the film is also dedicated.

 

In her first film with Miguel Ferráez, Clara Winter’s voice reckons that she has found the young man in Mexico and presents him as a filmmaker. A twinkling of the eye occurs and it immediately becomes clear: This shared narration is ambiguous. The European woman is speaking about the Mexican man, recounting a shared journey that failed. Clara and Miguel are and act themselves, and at the same time serve themselves up before the camera as semi-documentary symbols: “Just Kids Left Alive on the Road” (2014), the name does not solely designate people anymore, but also stereotypes. These kids are like many kids.

 

 

JUST KIDS LEFT ALIVE ON THE ROAD © Clara Winter & Miguel Ferráez

 

Just prior to this, Miguel Ferráez explored plays on staging and enacting, with blurring levels of reality: “El Cursor Intermitente” (2013) is a film about a man in Mexico who is writing a story. Like the boy before him in “assemblé”, he is preoccupied with leaving his homeland, with breaking free, and a sense of forlornness. In a pictorial fantasy, the writer encounters a woman with whom he has eloped, sits down beside her at the water’s edge and thinks about new steps in life. When a loud argument among gangsters ensures in the adjoining room in the hotel, the tranquillity of the writer’s dreamt-of fantasy beach also becomes derailed to the point of escalation. The narrative levels implode into each other and the writer loses his sense for the here and now.

 

The duo’s cooperative efforts utilise the conscious deforming of the real to an ever greater extent. After they formulate a kind of parody of their own middle-class feelings in “Just Kids Left Alive on the Road”, “Postcolonialism in 30 sqm” (2015) then exaggerates these sensitivities even more clearly: Winter mimics a European woman in Mexico who, because of a bad conscience, intrudes into the home of a young Mexican man and changes it around completely in accordance with her own feelings. The message being: She is placing herself at the service of postcolonial restitution. But soon, rules are introduced where none were before, with the camera acting as a substitute diary for both of them, compiling increasingly frustrated accusations. The film underscores its fabricated nature at regular intervals and presents itself in letters blazing up frantically as a caricature of a reality soap. The situation escalates, and ultimately negotiates on a small scale that which characterises both old and new colonialism on a large one: Opportunism and arrogance, presented with a sanctimonious naivety.

 

 

POSTCOLONIALISM IN 30 sqm © Clara Winter & Miguel Ferráez

 

The latter has become an aesthetic method from this duo, underscoring the social-revolutionary subtext of their films. The exaggerated cliché of a cluelessness that damages – also on the part of art production – recurs in just about every work from them. As a counterpart to Clara Winter, Miguel Ferráez succeeds in reinventing himself in the sense of this stylistic method over and again. From being an almost silent companion on an affluence expedition in Mexico in “Just Kids Left Alive on the Road”, he becomes the victim of the private European conspiracy described above in “Postcolonialism in 30 sqm”, before then being transformed into an omniscient commentator in “Poor People Relax Me” (2017), who poetises Clara Winter with artificial optimism. In the end, he appears as a personified globalisation critic and recites the most absurd doctrines in “Wir sprechen heute noch Deutsch”.

 

In their shared films, Winter initially acts as a dominating, self-ironic narrator, providing bait for punchlines and working on her own artist persona. After “Poor People Relax Me”, she features increasingly in the background. With the films advancing to become abstract questions and arrangements: “Beyond Beach”, the most rigorous piece, works especially well at experimental film festivals. Here, Winter and Ferráez take a step back as the leading figures and subordinate themselves to a panorama of clichés and archetypes. Tourists are the determining factor in the film. People from affluent nations who finally want to get out again. That which is semi-romantic poppycock in “Just Kids Left Alive on the Road” becomes the industrialised endpoint here, as complete “Latin-American adventures” are turned into consumer products made from spontaneous “hippy actions”: Hanging out on the beach and renunciating humanism forms a homely, sun-warmed unit here. A woman even says so directly into the camera: “On the whole, I’m not good. It’s not one of my character traits.”

 

 

BEYOND BEACH © Clara Winter & Miguel Ferráez

The woman’s name is Megan Marsh, and she has appeared before as Clara Winter’s artist friend in “Poor People Relax Me”. She is not the only familiar face found within their shared filmic cosmos. Elsewhere for instance, Ferráez regular actress Sophie Gómez can be seen playing the role of an overly strict curator who is supposed to evaluate Clara Winter’s shots of hotdogs. The cinematic setting is not sufficient “site-specific” for a Mexican artwork, she opines.

 

The expanding of Winter’s and Ferráez’s cinematic performances with a recurring ensemble underlines, on the one hand, the increasing artificiality and playfulness of their filmic designs. On the other hand, they blur that which was even more clearly palpable in Winter’s earlier films: A feeling for the clarity of circumstances that are convulsing. More than merely defining, their shared works pose questions about which degree of irony permits a social revolutionary and art policy claim to fizzle out, or which helps it to unfold in the first place. Thus, for instance, Hito Steyerl’s question about the blind spot of art – the immediate conditions for its production and reception – occurs just once in “Poor People Relax Me” as a minor side note, linked to a wordplay on washing lines: “I lost the line.” If the question were just imperceptibly greater, the film would barely be able to elude its didactic tendencies. That went well, just about.

 

Clara Winter’s evident curiosity for farce and costuming, as indeed for the idea of an artificial persona as a chameleon, is initially unsurprising, considering that she studied under Bjørn Melhus (Kunsthochschule Kassel art school). And yet she enthuses and excites with each new step she takes, because other, different questions are negotiated in her generation, in her gender, her milieu, and ultimately in the resulting codes and methods to those Melhus himself could pose. In his solo project “El Misericordioso Vampiro de la Miseria” (2016) produced parallel to this, as well as in his segment for their shared video work “The remorseless goatgrinder of capital” (2018), Miguel Ferráez adopts a more serious tone of voice. He ultimately appears as a dialogue partner, whose view – elaborated together on the specifically derisory aspects of their privileged position – creates an irony that is both inevitable and yet possible at all. Humour becomes the way to approach the currently compelling European identity crises. With the steps becoming interesting that result from these crises.

 

 

Filmography:

2019

WIR SPRECHEN HEUTE NOCH DEUTSCH

TERRIBLE BUT BEARABLE

2018

BEONYD BEACH

THE REMORSELESS GOATGRINDER OF CAPITAL

2017

POOR PEOPLE RELAX ME

2016

EXPLORERIN 2009

MAXIMUM SURRENDER

2015

POSTCOLONIALISM IN 30 sqm

2014

JUST KIDS LEFT ALIVE ON THE ROAD

2013

BEZIEHUNGSARBEIT 2 (mit Lina Walde)

THE BORING FEELING OF NOTHING

I HATE YOU BUT I FUCK YOU

OLIVIER

2012

MIKA

LAURENT

BEZIEHUNGSARBEIT 2 (mit Lina Walde)

2011

INTERIOR

Schritte in die Krise
Notizen zum Aufeinandertreffen von Clara Winter und Miguel Ferráez

Porträt

RETRIBUTION ON LOW CHARGE (in Postproduktion) © Clara Winter & Miguel Ferráez

Ein französischer Junge sitzt in Mexiko im Ballettunterricht, es ist eine Mädchenklasse und er spricht kein Wort Spanisch. Nur eine der der Tänzerinnen beachtet ihn schließlich, setzt sich zu ihm, zeigt und kommentiert die wichtigsten Posen. Er malt einen Vogel, das fällt ihr auf. Das Bild überwindet die Sprachbarriere, ebenso wie ihre Gesten. Ihre Finger tanzen auf seinem Bein. Sie nimmt den Stift und malt neben seinen Vogel einen zweiten. Der ist ganz anders als seiner – rudimentärer, fast eine Skizze, ziemlich ulkig – und komplettiert doch das Bild. Beide Bilder könnten für die Hoffnung auf Freiheit stehen und den Drang nach Beweglichkeit. Ein Film, der unmissverständlich macht, dass er interpretiert werden will: Das Mädchen leidet unter den Regeln des Unterrichts. Der Junge hat nur einen Tag zuvor eine Reise um die halbe Welt hinter sich gebracht. Sein gezeichnetes Flügeltier sitzt dennoch ziemlich gemütlich auf einem Ast.

 

Eine Szene aus „assemblé“, dem Diplomfilm des mexikanischen Künstlers Miguel Ferráez von 2011 – eingebettet in eine klassische, drehbuchbasierte Erzählung. Heute erforscht er mit der Leipziger Videokünstlerin Clara Winter einen vergleichsweise leichtfüßigen, politisierten Filmbegriff. Ihre jüngste Arbeit „Wir sprechen heute noch Deutsch“ (2019) war gerade in den Medien, weil die beiden mit dem Deutschen Kurzfilmpreis in der Kategorie Experimentalfilm ausgezeichnet wurden. Im Film steht Ferráez selbst vor der Kamera, trägt Textfragemente aus deutschen Integrationskursen für Immigrant*innen vor. Er steht vor Gebäuden, die deutschen Unternehmen gehören, vor deutschen Autos und Restaurants, natürlich auch vor dem deutschen Goethe-Institut: deutsche Orte, an denen der deutsche Beitrag zur Globalisierung sich international manifestiert.

 

WIR SPRECHEN HEUTE NOCH DEUTSCH © Clara Winter & Miguel Ferráez

 

Bereits fünf Filme entstanden aus der mittlerweile mehrjährigen Zusammenarbeit der beiden, tatsächlich ist das dynamische Duo in allen selbst vor der Kamera aktiv und versucht, sich an zunehmend ausgestellten Positionierungen, Halbfiktionen und Zeichenspielen. Bei ihrer Begegnung trafen filmische Stile aufeinander, die verschiedener kaum sein konnten – das Resultat waren neue Fragen und Methoden. Die Filme der beiden protokollieren neben ihren expliziten Fragestellungen zu sozialem Status und Nationalität allem voran eine künstlerische Evolution und die Entwicklung eines transkulturellen Stils. Ihre Experimente wirken sowohl im Verhältnis zum deutschen, als auch mexikanischen Kino erfreulich deplatziert.

 

Clara Winter hatte mit geradlinig dokumentarischen Arbeiten begonnen, von 2011 bis 2014 entstanden intime Filme über ihr Umfeld, gedreht in der linken Szene in Toulouse, wo sie zeitweise an der École Supérieure des Beaux-Arts studierte, parallel dazu arbeitete sie in Leipzig interdisziplinär, unter anderem im Rahmen eines Bandprojekts, aus dem ein Musical und eine Ausstellung hervorging. Die französischen Arbeiten der Zeit erforschen die filmische Grundgrammatik und sind ausdrücklich einzelnen Menschen gewidmet, Winter und ihre Kamera gehen in konzentrierte Dialoge mit Anarchisten: „Mika“ (2012), „Laurent“ (2012) und „Olivier“ (2013) sind Portraits. Die Filme erzählen von Männern, die gegen das System anrennen, vom Squatten, von der Verteidigung ihres Wohnraums gegen Besitzansprüche und Polizeigewalt, von einem Joghurtangriff auf Sarkozy und wahnwitzigen Fahrrädern, letztlich von Utopien und dem nötigen Optimismus, um die Welt am Laufen zu halten. Sie bestenfalls umzukrempeln.

 

MIKA (Clara Winter, 2013) © Clara Winter

 

„Mika“ ist aufwühlend. Der titelgebende Mensch erscheint erst gar nicht im Bild, denn er ist bei einem Streit durch einen Schuss ins Herz gestorben – mitten im Hausprojekt, das er bewohnte und damit dort, wo sich Clara Winter zu der Zeit regelmäßig aufhielt. Das erschüttert die Lebensrealität aller: Clara Winter nutzt ihre Gedanken als tagebuchartigen Spiegel und spricht über die eigene Wahrnehmung des Vorfalls – über Trauer, Gruppendynamik, den notwendigen Umgang mit der Polizei und deren Ermittlung, das Verhör zum Fall, die kurzfristige Inhaftierung der Hausgemeinschaft für eine Nacht, den Verdacht der Autoritäten, die letztliche Räumung des Projekts. Am Ende steht dennoch eine leichte Geste. Die Freude darüber, am Leben zu sein und nicht in Haft, verbunden mit einer Anekdote zum Kino. Auch Laurent, der dem zweiten Film der Reihe seinen Namen leiht, spricht von der Überwindung von Pessimismus: „It’s not very difficult.“

 

Winter scheut in den Filmen aus der Zeit nicht den Blick auf sich selbst im Spiegel der Verhältnisse, den Blick auf unmittelbare Lebensrealitäten und Menschen im Freundeskreis. Die Filme sind geprägt von Distanzlosigkeit. Auch „Beziehungsarbeit“ (2012-2013, mit Lina Walde) und „L’absence de marquage“ (2014) funktionieren dokumentarisch. Doch es gilt nun, Situationen für die Kamera zu provozieren: Winter und Walde flirten mit Fremden, betrinken sich, philosophieren. Bei „L’absence de marquage“ setzt sich Clara Winter dann in Autos, im permanenten Transit, im Gespräch mit den Menschen am Steuer und den Beifahrer*innen. Wenn diese während der Fahrt etwas von sich preisgeben, kontert sie mehrfach mit Privatem, verarbeitet eine Trennung. Eine Notiz dazu wird ihrem Ex-Freund zugeschrieben, dem der Film auch gewidmet ist.

 

In ihrem ersten Film mit Miguel Ferráez meint Clara Winters Stimme dann, sie habe den jungen Mann in Mexiko gefunden und präsentiert ihn als Filmemacher. Ein Augenzwinkern ist eingekehrt, das wird gleich klar: Das gemeinsame Erzählen ist ein doppelbödiges. Die Europäerin spricht über den Mexikaner, berichtet von einer gemeinsamen Reise, die scheitert. Clara und Miguel sind sie selbst und servieren sich der Kamera gleichzeitig als halbdokumentarische Zeichen: „Just Kids Left Alive On the Road“ (2014), der Titel benennt nicht mehr nur Menschen, sondern auch Stereotype. Those kids are like many kids.

 

JUST KIDS LEFT ALIVE ON THE ROAD © Clara Winter & Miguel Ferráez

 

Miguel Ferráez hatte sich kurz zuvor mit dem inszenatorischen Spielen beschäftigt, mit verschwimmenden Realitätsebenen: „El Cursor Intermitente“ (2013) ist ein Film über einen Mann in Mexiko, der eine Geschichte schreibt. Ihn beschäftigt, wie schon den Jungen bei „assemblé“ das Verlassen der Heimat, das sich losreißen, ein Gefühl der Verlorenheit. In einer bebilderten Fantasie trifft der Autor auf eine Frau, mit der er durchgebrannt ist, setzt sich zu ihr ans Wasser und denkt über neue Schritte im Leben nach. Als es im Nebenzimmer des Hotels lauten Streit unter Gangstern gibt, gerät auch der Frieden am erträumten Fantasiestrand des Schriftstellers aus den Fugen, bis hin zur Eskalation. Die Erzählebenen kollabieren ineinander, der Autor hat den Sinn für das Hier und Jetzt verloren.

 

Die Zusammenarbeit des Duos wird sich das bewusste Verformen des Realen immer stärker zu Nutze machen. Nachdem beide in „Just Kids Left Alive On the Road“ eine Art Persiflage auf die eigenen Mittelstandsgefühle formuliert haben, überzeichnet „Postcolonialism in 30 sqm“ (2015) die Befindlichkeiten dann noch deutlicher: Winter mimt eine Europäerin in Mexiko, die aus schlechtem Gewissen in den Haushalt eines jungen Mexikaners eindringt und diesen ganz nach ihrem Empfinden umfunktioniert. Sie stellt sich in den Dienst der postkolonialen Wiedergutmachung, so die Ansage. Doch bald werden Regeln eingeführt, wo keine waren, während die Kamera als Tagebuchersatz beider fungiert und zunehmend frustrierte Anklagen aufsammelt. In regelmäßigen Abständen unterstreicht der Film seine Gemachtheit und präsentiert sich in hektisch aufflammenden Lettern als Karikatur einer Reality-Soap. Die Situation spitzt sich zu, letztlich verhandelt sich im Kleinen, was den alten und neuen Kolonialismus im Großen kennzeichnet: Opportunismus und Überheblichkeit, vorgetragen mit einer scheinheiligen Naivität.

 

POSTCOLONIALISM IN 30 sqm © Clara Winter & Miguel Ferráez

 

Letztere wird zur ästhetischen Methode des Duos, die den sozialrevolutionären Subtext der Filme unterstreicht. Das überzeichnete Klischee einer Ahnungslosigkeit, die schadet – auch auf der Seite der Kunstproduktion – wird in praktisch jeder Arbeit wiederkehren. Als Gegenüber von Clara Winter gelingt es Miguel Ferráez dabei, sich im Sinne dieses Stilmittels immer wieder neu zu erfinden. Vom beinahe stummen Begleiter einer Wohlstandsexpedition in Mexiko aus „Just Kids Left Alive On the Road“ wird er bei „Postcolonialism in 30 sqm“ zum Opfer der beschriebenen europäischen Privatverschwörung, dann bei „Poor People Relax Me“ (2017) zum allwissenden Kommentator, der Clara Winter künstlerischen Opportunismus andichtet. Letztlich tritt er als personifizierte Globalisierungskritik auf und rezitiert bei „Wir sprechen heute noch Deutsch“ die absurdesten Lehrsätze.

 

Winter fungiert in den gemeinsamen Filmen zunächst als dominierende, selbstironische Erzählerin, liefert Steilvorlagen für Pointen und arbeitet sich an der eigenen Künstlerinnen-Persona ab. Nach „Poor People Relax Me“ tritt sie dann zunehmend in den Hintergrund. Die Filme bewegen sich hin zu abstrakteren Fragen und Arrangements: „Beyond Beach“ funktionierte bei Experimentalfilmfestivals besonders gut, ist die strengste Arbeit. Winter und Ferráez treten hier als Leitfiguren zurück und ordnen sich einem Panorama von Klischees und Archetypen unter. Touristen bestimmen den Film, Menschen aus Wohlstandsnationen, die endlich mal wieder raus wollen. Was bei „Just Kids Left Alive On the Road“ eine halbromantische Spinnerei war, ist hier der industrialisierte Endpunkt, aus spontanen „Hippie-Aktionen“ sind ganze „Latin-American Adventures“ als Konsumprodukt geworden: Das Abhängen am Strand und die Abkehr vom Humanismus bilden hier eine heimelige, sonnengewärmte Einheit. Eine Frau erzählt das direkt in die Kamera: „On the whole, I’m not good. It’s not one of my character traits.“

 

BEYOND BEACH © Clara Winter & Miguel Ferráez

Die Frau heißt Megan Marsh und kam schon einmal vor, als befreundete Künstlerin Clara Winters in „Poor People Relax Me“. Sie ist nicht die einzige Vertraute innerhalb des gemeinsamen filmischen Kosmos. So erscheint andernorts etwa Ferráez Stammschauspielerin Sophie Gómez und gibt eine überstrenge Kuratorin, die Clara Winters Aufnahmen von Hot Dogs bewerten soll. Die filmische Einstellung sei nicht ausreichend „site-specific“ für ein mexikanisches Kunstwerk, meint sie.

 

Die Erweiterung der filmischen Performances von Winter und Ferráez um ein wiederkehrendes Ensemble betonen einerseits die zunehmende Künstlichkeit und Verspieltheit ihrer filmischen Entwürfe, andererseits verwischen sie, was insbesondere in Winters früheren Filmen noch deutlicher spürbar war: einen Sinn für die Klarheit der Verhältnisse, die agitiert werden. Mehr als einfach zu definieren, werfen die gemeinsamen Arbeiten Fragen dazu auf, welches Maß an Ironie eine sozialrevolutionäre und kunstpolitische Forderung verpuffen lässt oder ihr gerade erst zur Entfaltung verhilft. So taucht etwa Hito Steyerls Frage nach dem blinden Fleck der Kunst – also nach den unmittelbaren Bedingungen der Produktion und Rezeption – in „Poor People Relax Me“ gerade einmal als winzige Randnotiz auf, verbunden mit einem Wortspiel zu Wäscheleinen: „I lost the line“. Wäre die Frage nur unmerklich größer, entkäme der Film kaum noch seinen didaktischen Tendenzen. Das ging gerade noch gut.

 

Die offensichtliche Neugierde auf Farce und Kostümierung, die Idee der Kunstpersona als Chamäleon überrascht bei Clara Winter als Meisterschülerin von Bjørn Melhus (Kunsthochschule Kassel) zunächst wenig. Und begeistert doch mit jedem neuen Schritt, weil sich in ihrer Generation, ihrem Geschlecht, ihrem Milieu, letztlich in den resultierenden Codes und Methoden andere Fragen verhandeln, als sie Melhus selbst aufwerfen könnte. Miguel Ferráez wählt im parallel entstandenen Soloprojekt „El Misericordioso Vampiro de la Miseria“ (2016) und seinem Segment der gemeinsamen Videoarbeit „The remorseless goatgrinder of capital“ (2018) einen ernsteren Tonfall. Er erscheint letztlich als Dialogpartner, dessen gemeinsam herausgearbeiteter Blick auf das spezifisch Lächerliche ihrer privilegierten Position eine Ironie gleichermaßen unumgänglich und überhaupt erst möglich macht. Der Humor wird zum Weg, sich den aktuell nötigen europäischen Identitätskrisen überhaupt anzunähern. Interessant werden die Schritte sein, die aus dieser Krise resultieren.

 

Filmografie:

2019

WIR SPRECHEN HEUTE NOCH DEUTSCH

TERRIBLE BUT BEARABLE

2018

BEONYD BEACH

THE REMORSELESS GOATGRINDER OF CAPITAL

2017

POOR PEOPLE RELAX ME

2016

EXPLORERIN 2009

MAXIMUM SURRENDER

2015

POSTCOLONIALISM IN 30 sqm

2014

JUST KIDS LEFT ALIVE ON THE ROAD

2013

BEZIEHUNGSARBEIT 2 (mit Lina Walde)

THE BORING FEELING OF NOTHING

I HATE YOU BUT I FUCK YOU

OLIVIER

2012

MIKA

LAURENT

BEZIEHUNGSARBEIT 2 (mit Lina Walde)

2011

INTERIOR