Ulu Braun

Allowing the gaze to roam and discovering new things

WESTCOAST © Ulu Braun

WESTCOAST © Ulu Braun

Ulu Braun is based in Berlin and his work is represented at both film festivals and in the art world. He perceives this double-track approach as a privilege, allowing him the freedom to experiment and broaden his own horizons by regularly traversing boundaries. Braun is the kind of artist who looks for and chooses his medium for each project anew. In recent years, he has increasingly settled on the moving image, leading Braun to describe himself in conversation as a “hybrid-auteur-filmmaker”. It is no accident that authorship takes centre stage in this respect. Braun places great importance on being able to realise his artistic ideas without compromise, and to date, chooses to work beyond classic film funding structures.

Initially studying Painting and then Experimental Film at the University of Applied Arts Vienna, Ulu Braun has adopted a number of diverse techniques since the beginning of his artistic career and interlocks them in his work. The first of which were graffiti and painting, moving pictures came along later. It is hardly surprising then, that his early video work, such as SÜDWEST (2006), WESTCOAST (2009) and ATLANTIC GARDEN (2010) recalls the detailed panoramas of Renaissance painter Hieronymus Bosch.

Composed as panning shots, at first glance the painted friezes appear to be chaotic and overfilled. Artificial lifeworlds collaged from different sources and populated with more or less everyday phenomena. Unperturbed scientists and rubbish collectors act alongside frenzied inflatable boats, baby hippos and a fisherman who busily slaughters the freshly-caught tuna heaped around him. All manner of things happen concurrently in alternating parts of the picture, compelling the observer to constantly switch their gaze back and forth for fear of missing something. Those looking for a leitmotif or clear causalities would search in vain, as the pieces are more concerned with the absurdity of the concurrent and the art of practicing a particular way of looking at things – that of being consciously aware of how one’s own perspective has a determining influence on the story.

https://vimeo.com/99187212 (WESTCOAST)

https://vimeo.com/87422355 (ATLANTIC GARDEN)

Producing these complex video-panoramas is highly time-consuming, owing in part to the fact that Ulu Braun undertakes most of the complicated editing and animation processes himself. He considers the mastering of individual steps in film production to be an essential personal need.

 “I am a decidedly intuitive filmmaker and do not like to follow a plan or resort to divisional labour structures. Both of which however – the division of labour and long-term planning – characterize the working process in the traditional film industry. As a result, I usually choose to work beyond these structures and have made it a personal principal to master the important working steps and techniques myself, in order  to spontaneously apply them without suffering qualitative losses.”  

In 2000, his fascination for craftsmanship, combined with a distinctly critical approach towards the media led Braun to commence Animation studies at the Academy for Film and Television in Potsdam. There he planned on taking the opportunity to explore the enormous apparatus of film and media production from within, with the intention of subverting it from an artistic perspective.

It proved however that the media apparatus was equally equipped with formidable resolve. Braun experienced this significantly during the production of his animated short film DIE FLUTUNG VON VIKTORIA (2004). In the over twenty-minute long puppet/animation/miniature/ fiction film, numerous tourists set off on a bus journey to the Victoria Plains a few days before the area is scheduled to be flooded. An accident turns the tranquil trip into an inadvertent

‘extreme holiday’ that ultimately ends in catastrophe. A tale of civilization-critique, longing for paradise and elements of utopia is epically played out in front of a grand backdrop. The elaborate live action/miniature film was not made using picture-by-picture stop motion techniques, but worked with “live” moving figures. This undertaking would have been completely inconceivable without a meticulous shooting schedule – and so it was that Braun threw himself, when somewhat reluctantly, into the classic role of director in order to finish the film. Contrary to expectations however, DIE FLUTUNG VON VIKTORIA did not turn out to be a festival film, and succeeded instead as a gallery space installation. After that experience, the director made a clear decision to avoid being led by (further) potential distribution strategies during the production process.

 “When I develop a project, its place of presentation is irrelevant to me. I don’t think about whether the film will be shown at a cinema or in an exhibition space.  I have made the experience often enough to know that exactly the opposite of what I plan is generally what happens to a film after its release. Above all, a piece of work ought to be inherently consistent, and then it can be shown in various different contexts.”

Since the late 90s, Ulu Braun has collaborated with the artist and theatre-maker Roland Rauschmeier at irregular intervals. Going by the name BITTEBITTEJAJA they produced numerous performances and film work together. The series CADAVRES EXQUIS VIVANTS (2008-2016) comprises short video portraits of two to four minutes duration which portray composite personalities drawn from diverse components. Edited as loops, the videos are exhibited like classic portraits and it is only upon second glance that one is able to determine how many different moving parts the portraits are composed of. A particularly fitting combination shows a desperately unhappy Katherine Hepburn with a fish tail, who appears to bemoan the misery of the world while making coffee. Making an almost tragic impression, the mathematician Copernicus – combined with the body of an ape – repeatedly shakes his head in disbelief and keeps repeating a single line like a mantra: “It was all a mistake.” While the moving, surreal portraits, in which Angela Merkel even makes a memorable appearance, may draw from the method of collage – just like the panoramas – they use its potentialities in another way. Instead of inferring the interrelations between groups of highly diverse characters as in a collection of curiosities, these protagonists are themselves cloned from various kinds of source material. Though the underlying combination of picture manipulation and video editing may resemble the work processes applied to the video-panoramas, the achieved effect differs radically. While the panoramas are more akin to mythical epics and inspire observers to critically reflect upon their own sense of perception, the CADAVRES EXQUISES VIVANTS function as clear, concise punchlines, through which Braun subtly comments on the state of society.

https://vimeo.com/39933569 (CADAVRES EXQUISES VIVANTS)

A considerably more complex narrative video-collage is FORST (2013), the short film for which Braun was conferred with the Deutsche Kurzfilmpreis (German Short Film Award) in the Experimental Film category. Known throughout the ages as a place of myths, sagas and legends, in this film the forest becomes the site of a media-oriented passion play about nature, war and human decay. Forest-lovers, hikers and saga-personnel stroll around seemingly impenetrable thickets and encounter mythical creatures and manic sportsmen. The German Short Film Award jury was impressed by its “ingenious mix of trash and glorification that at times, certainly encroaches on the kitsch”. More notably than in his previous collage work, in FORST, Ulu Braun begins to flirt with linear narrative, without ever becoming entangled in conventional, one-dimensional narrative strategies.

FORST © Ulu Braun

FORST © Ulu Braun

https://vimeo.com/58618209 (Trailer FORST)

VERTIKALE (2014) ultimately reveals how linearity can look on the visual plane. The video illustrates a kind of alternative history of evolution with hyperreal TV images of a ruthless, dog-eat-dog race. In a seemingly endless upward panning shot, each scene is mounted together, or rather superimposed on one another vertically. Faster, further, higher: People, animals and all manner of fantastic creatures soar inexorably upwards. Our gaze follows them over dizzying staircases and climbing walls ever upwards, until the movement eventually climaxes in relative calm near a snow-capped peak. The effect on the audience is striking: depending on its form of presentation, VERTIKALE is perfectly capable of disturbing one’s sense of balance.

https://vimeo.com/60873101 (Trailer VERTIKALE)

Around the same time as VERTIKALE, Braun also made BIRDS (2014), a short film that initially appears to have little in common with his video-collages. In calm shots taken from an observant camera angle, BIRDS provides us with a simple and straightforward view of birds in urban settings. An ostrich in a wildlife park, a black coot in a filthy fountain in the middle of a city and a grouchy-looking pelican in a zoo. They all suddenly cease to appear as specimens of a familiar species, but are more like prehistoric aliens in an urbanized environment that has absolutely nothing in common with their majestic kind. Combined with wide shots of town house complexes, shopping centres and parking lots, a creative confrontation between human and animal ensues. In close-ups and extreme close-ups of the birds, Braun draws attention to the astonishing variation of plumage and materiality, while the sensitively arranged soundtrack mixes the noise of ordinary urbanity with the delicate sounds of feathers ruffling in the wind. On a big cinema screen, some of the birds in close-up almost seem like animated fantasy creatures, not random animal specimens from everyday life.

BIRDS © Ulu Braun

BIRDS © Ulu Braun

https://vimeo.com/85275262 (Trailer BIRDS)

Nevertheless BIRDS is, as most of Ulu Braun’s other work, composed of pictures and scenes that the artist has shot and archived over a period of many years. Braun is a manic collector of pictures who, on travels and in everyday life, usually has a camera on hand to capture all that inspires him, be it visually or conceptually. This has led to a vast accumulation of images throughout the years, which, after being fastidiously archived and tagged, as well as supplemented by sequences taken from television and the internet – gradually find their way into Braun’s work.

 

 “Right at the beginning of my artistic career I put a lot of effort into the organisation of my material, which now enables me to draw from the archive with relative ease. Whatever it is I see and experience, my entire reality finds its way into this library of the moving image. For me, that also includes that which is broadcast by mass media. The relentless media stream is a massive intrusion on my life, without me ever having asked for it. Therefore, I am of the opinion that I have the inverse right to use excerpts taken from the media reality in my work.”

 

Like many artists who work with found footage, Braun takes a critical stance toward existing copyright law. Indeed, any artistic work made according to the principals of collage which uses material that the artist does not own, finds itself in a legal grey area1. Found footage users such as Ulu Braun, are ultimately only able to refer to the legitimacy of citation rights. This only applies however, when one’s own film engages with the cited excerpt and simultaneously constitutes an independent work. In terms of Ulu Braun’s work, this certainly holds true in both cases. There’s hardly another German short filmmaker who wanders between worlds as adeptly as Ulu Braun, readily intertwining animation, fiction and experimental approaches with documentary observations.  Though certain approaches doubtlessly recur throughout his entire oeuvre, such as the principles of collage and his work with visual and narrative breaches, Braun simultaneously makes repeated ventures into totally uncharted terrain.

Thus came about PLANTHEON (2015), a 60-minute documentary film about the life and work of the exceptional Finnish artist Teuri Haarla. In the short film completed that same year, ARCHITEKTURA (2015), Ulu Braun implements the use of (highly ironic, excessive) voice-over for the first time in order to make the collage-film seem like a scientifically-sound TV documentary about the function and history of architecture. While humour is apparent and palpable in all of Braun’s work, this is the first time it has unambiguously crept into the film via narration. In light of the fact that Braun exhibited video work in Cologne in early 2016, alongside various new objects and collages whilst simultaneously working on several new films and video pieces, it will indeed be interesting to see in which direction he continues to develop.

 

“I don’t want to keep repeating myself with one idea, like some other artists are known to do, those who had a great idea at the outset of their career and then spent the rest of their lives reiterating variations of it. I try to dare something new with each new work. The circle of my works will close soon enough however, that doesn’t frighten me in the least.”

 

1 https://irights.info/artikel/die-gefahren-der-montage/5027 (only in German)

 

Filmography

2015 ARCHITEKTURA, 15:00, HD

2015 PLANTHEON (with T. Haarla), 61:00, HD

2014 BIRDS, 14:55, HD

2014 VERTIKALE, 11:30, DV

2013 FORST, 10:45, HD

2012 TOWER OF INVINCIBILITY, 15:11, HD

2011 MARIA THERESIA AND HER 16 CHILDREN (with R. Rauschmeier) 29:20, HDV

2011 THE PARK, 05:45, HD

2010 ATLANTIC GARDEN, 06:30, HD

2009 WESTCOAST, 07:20, HD

2009 EXTREME SENSE OF VOID (with T. Haarla), 14:10, HDV

2008-12 CADAVRES EXQUISES VIVANTS, Video Series with R. Rauschmeier, HD

2007 RHABARBER BOY, 15:11, 35 mm & HD

2007 REKORDER (with R. Rauschmeier), 19:53, DV

2006 SüDWEST, 01:41, HD

2006 FISH SOUP (with A. Tchernyi), 10:10, DV

2005 EINGRIFFE IN ARBEITEN ANDERER (with R. Rauschmeier), 18:19, DV

2004 DIE FLUTUNG VON VIKTORIA, 22:09, DV

2002 INDEPENDENCE DAY-REMIX, 01:48, 35 mm & DV

2001 MATCHBOX, 03:50, DV

1999 DAS MASS IST VOLL (with R. Rauschmeier), 7:48, DV

1998 DER MEISENMANN, 03:15, DV

1998 EXISTENZ, ~3 min., DV

1998 TANZSCHULE GOYA, ~2 min., 16mm,

1998 BALZ 1 & 2, 02:33, DV

1997 TCHERNOBYL, 01:10, DV

1997 WHITEFLIGHT, 01:23, DV

Ulu Braun

Den Blick schweifen lassen und Neues entdecken

WESTCOAST © Ulu Braun

WESTCOAST © Ulu Braun

Der in Berlin ansässige Ulu Braun ist mit seinen Arbeiten sowohl auf Filmfestivals als auch in der Kunstwelt vertreten. Er begreift diese Zweigleisigkeit als Privileg, weil sie ihm die Freiheit zum Experimentieren gibt, und es ihm ermöglicht, den eigenen Horizont durch regelmäßige Grenzgänge zu erweitern. Braun ist ein Künstler, der sich sein Medium für jedes Projekt neu (aus-)sucht. Da diese Entscheidung in den letzten Jahren immer öfter aufs bewegte Bild fiel, fällt im Gespräch mit ihm schließlich die Vokabel „Hybrid-Autoren-Filmer“ als Selbstbeschreibung. Nicht umsonst steht dabei die Autorschaft im Mittelpunkt. Braun legt großen Wert darauf, die eigenen künstlerischen Ideen kompromisslos umsetzen zu können und arbeitet daher bisher jenseits klassischer Filmförderungsstrukturen.

Ulu Braun, der an der Wiener Universität für angewandte Kunst zunächst Malerei und später Experimentalfilm studierte, hat sich seit Beginn seiner künstlerischen Arbeit verschiedenste Techniken angeeignet und in seinen Arbeiten miteinander verzahnt. Am Anfang standen Graffiti und Malerei, erst später kamen bewegte Bilder dazu. Nicht umsonst erinnern seine frühen Videoarbeiten wie SÜDWEST (2006), WESTCOAST (2009) oder ATLANTIC GARDEN (2010) an die detailreichen Panoramen des Renaissance-Malers Hieronymus Bosch.

Die als Panoramaschwenks gestalteten Bilderfriese wirken auf den ersten Blick chaotisch und überfüllt. Künstliche Lebenswelten, collagiert aus unterschiedlichen Quellen und bevölkert mit mehr oder weniger alltäglichen Phänomenen. Da agieren Wissenschaftler und Müllsammler unbeeindruckt neben wild umher schwirrenden Schlauchbooten, Babynilpferden und einem Fischer, der inmitten gefangener Thunfische steht und diese abschlachtet. Verschiedenstes spielt sich zeitgleich in wechselnden Bildbereichen ab, als Betrachter fühlt man sich zu einem schnellen Blickwechsel genötigt, um nichts zu verpassen. Einen dezidierten roten Faden oder klare Kausalitäten sucht man hier vergeblich, viel eher geht es um die Absurdität des Gleichzeitigen und die Einübung einer Betrachtungsweise, der bewusst ist, dass die eigene Blickrichtung die erzählte Geschichte entscheidend mitbestimmt.

https://vimeo.com/99187212 (WESTCOAST)

https://vimeo.com/87422355 (ATLANTIC GARDEN)

Die Produktion dieser komplexen Video-Panoramen nimmt viel Zeit in Anspruch, nicht zuletzt, weil Ulu Braun die komplizierten Schnitt- und Animationsprozesse zum großen Teil selbst durchführt. Die einzelnen Arbeitsschritte der Filmproduktion selbst zu beherrschen, ist für ihn ein essentielles Bedürfnis.

„Ich bin ein ausgesprochen intuitiver Filmemacher und arbeite nicht gern nach einem Plan oder in arbeitsteiligen Strukturen. Beides – die Arbeitsteilung und die langfristige Planung – kennzeichnet aber das Arbeiten in der klassischen Filmwirtschaft. Daher habe ich mich meist entschieden, jenseits dieser Strukturen zu arbeiten und es mir zum Prinzip gemacht, die wichtigen Arbeitsschritte und Techniken auch selbst zu beherrschen, damit ich sie spontan und ohne qualitative Einbußen einsetzen kann.“

Seine Faszination fürs Handwerkliche bei einer gleichzeitig ausgeprägt medienkritische Grundhaltung brachten Braun dazu, im Jahr 2000 ein Studium an der Hochschule für Film und Fernsehen in Potsdam im Bereich Animation zu beginnen. An der Filmhochschule wollte er die Chance nutzen, den enormen Apparat der Film- und Medienproduktion „von innen heraus“ zu erkunden, um ihn dann aus einer künstlerischen Perspektive kommend zu unterwandern.

Es zeigte sich jedoch, dass auch der mediale Apparat über beachtliche Beharrungskräfte verfügt. Dies erlebte Braun eindrücklich bei der Produktion seines animierten Kurzfilms DIE FLUTUNG VON VIKTORIA (2004). In dem gut zwanzigminütigen Puppen-Miniatur-Fiktion-Film begeben sich einige Touristen auf eine Busreise in die Viktoria Ebene, bevor diese Tage später geflutet werden soll. Ein Unfall führt schließlich dazu, dass aus dem beschaulichen Trip ein ungewollter Extremurlaub wird, der in der Katastrophe endet. Zivilisationskritik, Paradiessehnsucht und utopische Elemente werden in epischer Form vor großer Kulisse erzählt. Der aufwändige Real-Miniaturen-Film, der nicht als Trickfilm Bild für Bild aufgenommen wurde, sondern mit „live“ bewegten Figuren arbeitet, war ohne genaueste Drehplanungen völlig undenkbar und so begab sich Braun – wenn auch widerstrebend – in die klassische Regierolle, um den Film zu beenden. Anders als erwartet, entwickelte sich DIE FLUTUNG VON VIKTORIA allerdings nicht zum Festivalfilm, sondern reüssierte eher als Installation im Galerieraum. Nach dieser Erfahrung war dem Regisseur vollkommen klar, dass er sich während der Produktion nicht (mehr) von potentiellen Auswertungsstrategien leiten lassen will.

„Wenn ich meine Arbeiten entwickle, spielt der Präsentationsort für mich eigentlich keine Rolle. Ich denke nicht daran, ob der Film im Kino oder in einem Ausstellungsraum gezeigt wird. Dafür habe ich oft genug erlebt, dass mit den Filmen nach ihrer Veröffentlichung das genaue Gegenteil von dem passierte, was ich geplant hatte. Eine Arbeit muss vor allem in sich stimmig sein, dann kann man ihn auch in verschiedenen Kontexten zeigen.“

Seit Ende der 90er Jahre kollaborierte Ulu Braun in unregelmäßigen Abstanden mit dem Künstler und Theatermacher Roland Rauschmeier. Unter dem Namen BITTEBITTEJAJA produzieren die beiden Performances und filmische Arbeiten. Die Serie CADAVRES EXQUIS VIVANTS (2008-2016) enthält kurze Videoportraits von zwei bis vier Minuten Länge, in denen aus verschiedensten Bestandteilen zusammengesetzte Persönlichkeiten portraitiert werden. Als Loops aufbereitet werden die Videos im Galerieraum wie klassische Portraits installiert, so dass sich erst auf den zweiten Blick erschließt, aus wie vielen verschiedenen bewegten Einzelteilen die Portraitierten bestehen. Besonders treffend kombiniert ist eine todtraurige Katherine Hepburn mit Fischschwanz, die beim Kaffeekochen über das Elend der Welt zu räsonieren scheint. Fast tragisch wirkt der Mathematiker Kopernikus, der – mit dem Körper eines Affen verknüpft – immer wieder fassungslos den Kopf schüttelt und wie ein Mantra nur einen einzigen Satz wiederholt: „It was all a mistake.“ Die bewegten, surrealen Portraits, in denen auch Angela Merkel einen denkwürdigen Auftritt hat, bedienen sich zwar – wie die Panoramen – der Methode der Collage, nutzen deren Möglichkeiten aber in einer anderen Weise. Statt ein Panoptikum unterschiedlichster Charaktere miteinander in Beziehung zu setzen, werden hier die Protagonisten selbst aus verschiedensten Ausgangsmaterialien geklont. Die zugrunde liegende Kombination aus Bildbearbeitung und Videoschnitt ähnelt von den Arbeitsprozessen her der Arbeit an den Video-Panoramen, der erzielte Effekt unterscheidet sich aber grundlegend. Während die Panoramen eher mythischen Epen gleichen und die Zuschauenden zur kritischen Reflexion der eigenen Wahrnehmung anregen, wirken die CADAVRES EXQUISES VIVANTS wie klare, knappe Pointen, mit denen Braun sich subtil zur gesellschaftlichen Lage äußert.

https://vimeo.com/39933569 (CADAVRES EXQUISES VIVANTS)

Eine erzählerisch deutlich komplexere Video-Collage ist FORST (2013), jener Kurzfilm, mit dem Braun den Deutschen Filmpreis in der Kategorie Experimentalfilm gewann. Der Wald, seit jeher Ort von Mythen, Sagen und Legenden wird hier zum Austragungsort eines medial geprägten Passionsspiels um Natur, Krieg und menschlichen Zerfall. Waldliebhaber, Wanderer und Sagenpersonal flanieren durch scheinbar undurchdringliche Dickichte und treffen auf mythische Kreaturen und manische Sportler. Die Jury des Deutschen Kurzfilmpreises zeigte sich beeindruckt durch „die geniale Mischung aus Trash und Überhöhung, die durchaus auch mal ins Kitschige lappen kann“. Deutlicher als bei vorangegangenen Collagearbeiten beginnt Ulu Braun in FORST auch mit der Möglichkeit einer linearen Narration zu liebäugeln, ohne sich dabei zu sehr in Richtung konventioneller, eindimensionaler Erzählstrategien zu bewegen.

FORST © Ulu Braun

FORST © Ulu Braun

https://vimeo.com/58618209 (Trailer FORST)

In VERTIKALE (2014) zeigt sich schließlich, wie Linearität auf visueller Ebene aussehen kann. Das Video illustriert eine Art alternativer Evolutionsgeschichte mit hyperrealen TV-Bildern als rücksichtslosen Wettlauf von jedem gegen jeden. In einem endlos erscheinenden Aufwärtsschwenk wird Szene an Szene montiert bzw. vertikal ineinander überblendet. Schneller, weiter, höher: Menschen, Tiere und allerlei Fantasiegestalten streben unaufhaltsam in die Höhe. Der Blick folgt ihnen über schwindelerregende Treppen und Kletterwände immer weiter nach oben, bis die Bewegung schließlich nahe einem schneebedeckten  Gipfel ansatzweise zur Ruhe kommt. Der Effekt aufs Publikum ist beträchtlich: je nach Präsentationsform kann VERTIKALE durchaus das Gleichgewicht erschüttern.

https://vimeo.com/60873101 (Trailer VERTIKALE)

Fast zeitgleich mit VERTIKALE entstand mit BIRDS (2014) ein Kurzfilm, der auf den ersten Blick kaum etwas mit Brauns Video-Collagen gemein hat. Mit ruhigen Einstellungen aus einer beobachtenden Kameraperspektive eröffnet BIRDS uns ganz schlicht und einfach einen Blick auf Vögel in urbanen Umgebungen. Der Vogel Strauß im Wildpark, das Blässhuhn im verdreckten Brunnen mitten in der Stadt und der griesgrämig dreinblickende Pelikan im Zoo. Sie alle erscheinen in diesem Kurzfilm plötzlich nicht mehr wie Exemplare uns bekannter Spezies, sondern wie prähistorische Aliens in einer städtisch geprägten Umgebung, die so gar nichts mit ihrer majestätischen Art gemein zu haben scheint. Kombiniert mit Totalen von Reihenhaussiedlungen, Einkaufszentren und Parkplätzen wird daraus eine kreative Konfrontation zwischen Mensch und Tier. In Nah- und Detailaufnahmen der Vögel arbeitet Braun die unglaubliche Varianz von Federzeichnung und Materialität heraus, während sich auf der sensibel gestalteten Tonspur die Geräusche des städtischen Alltags mit den feinen Sounds der sich im Wind bauschenden Federn mischen. Auf der großen Kinoleinwand wirken manche der Vögel in Nahaufnahme fast wie animierte Phantasiegeschöpfe und keinesfalls wie zufällige, tierische Fundstücke aus dem Alltagsleben.

BIRDS © Ulu Braun

BIRDS © Ulu Braun

https://vimeo.com/85275262 (Trailer BIRDS)

Dennoch besteht BIRDS wie die meisten anderen Arbeiten Ulu Brauns aus Bildern und Szenen, die der Künstler über Jahre hinweg aufgenommen und archiviert hat. Braun ist ein manischer Bildersammler, der bei Reisen und im Alltag oft eine Kamera dabei hat und alles filmt, was ihn visuell oder inhaltlich anspricht. Auf diese Weise hat sich über die Jahre ein gewaltiger Bilderfundus angesammelt, der – penibel archiviert und verschlagwortet und außerdem vielfach ergänzt um Sequenzen aus TV und Internet – nun nach und nach Eingang in Brauns Arbeiten findet.

„Ich habe ganz am Anfang meiner künstlerischen Arbeit sehr viel Arbeit in die Ordnung meines Materials gesteckt, so dass es mir heute relativ leicht fällt, aus diesem Fundus zu schöpfen. Was auch immer ich sehe und erlebe, meine gesamte Realität findet Eingang in diese Bibliothek der bewegten Bilder. Dazu gehört für mich auch das, was die Massenmedien senden. Diese mediale Dauerberieselung mischt sich ja massiv in mein Leben ein, ohne dass ich darum gebeten hätte. Ich bin der Meinung, dass ich im Umkehrschluss auch das Recht habe, Ausschnitte der medialen Realität in meinen Arbeiten zu benutzen.“

Wie viele Künstler, die mit Found Footage arbeiten, vertritt Braun eine kritische Position gegenüber dem bestehenden Urheberrecht. Tatsächlich findet jede künstlerische Arbeit, die sich des Collageprinzips bedient und fremdes Filmmaterial nutzt, juristisch in einer Grauzone statt 1. Found Footage Nutzer wie Ulu Braun können sich letztlich nur auf die Legitimität des Zitatrechts berufen. Das greift aber nur, wenn sich der eigene Film mit dem zitierten Ausschnitt auseinandersetzt und gleichzeitig ein selbstständiges Werk darstellt. Beides dürfte im Fall von Brauns Arbeiten fraglos der Fall sein. Wie kaum ein anderer deutscher Kurzfilmer versteht sich Ulu Braun als Wanderer zwischen den Welten und verknüpft Animation, Fiktion und experimentelle Herangehensweisen gern mit dokumentarischen Beobachtungen. Ohne Zweifel ziehen sich bestimmte Herangehensweisen wie das Collage-Prinzip und die Arbeit mit visuellen und erzählerischen Brüchen durch sein gesamtes Oeuvre, doch gleichzeitig wagt Braun immer wieder Vorstöße in völlig unbekanntes Terrain.

So entstand mit PLANTHEON (2015) ein 60-minütiger Dokumentarfilm über Leben und Werk des finnischen Ausnahmekünstlers Teuri Haarla. In dem im gleichen Jahr fertig gestellten Kurzfilm ARCHITEKTURA (2015) nutzt Ulu Braun erstmals einen (stark ironisch überhöhten) Off-Kommentar, um dem im bekannten Collage-Prinzip hergestellten Film das Gepräge einer vermeintlich wissenschaftlich fundierten TV-Doku über Funktion und Geschichte der Architektur zu geben. Hier schleicht sich der Humor, der in allen Arbeiten Brauns spür- und sichtbar ist, erstmals ganz klar über die Narration in den Film. Man darf gespannt sein, in welche Richtung sich Braun, der Anfang 2016 in Köln nicht nur Videoarbeiten, sondern auch neue Objekte und Collagen ausstellt und parallel dazu an mehreren neuen Film- und Videoarbeiten arbeitet, weiter entwickeln wird.

„Ich will mich nicht mit einer Idee immer wiederholen, wie man es von manchen Künstlern kennt, die am Anfang ihrer Karriere einen guten Einfall hatten und den dann Zeit ihres Lebens variiert wiederholen. Ich versuche, mit jeder Arbeit etwas Neues zu wagen. Der Kreis meiner Arbeiten wird sich schon noch früh genug schließen, da habe ich keine Angst.“

 

1 https://irights.info/artikel/die-gefahren-der-montage/5027

 

 

Filmografie

2015 ARCHITEKTURA, 15:00, HD

2015 PLANTHEON (with T. Haarla), 61:00, HD

2014 BIRDS, 14:55, HD

2014 VERTIKALE, 11:30, DV

2013 FORST, 10:45, HD

2012 TOWER OF INVINCIBILITY, 15:11, HD

2011 MARIA THERESIA AND HER 16 CHILDREN (with R. Rauschmeier) 29:20, HDV

2011 THE PARK, 05:45, HD

2010 ATLANTIC GARDEN, 06:30, HD

2009 WESTCOAST, 07:20, HD

2009 EXTREME SENSE OF VOID (with T. Haarla), 14:10, HDV

2008-12 CADAVRES EXQUISES VIVANTS, Video Series with R. Rauschmeier, HD

2007 RHABARBER BOY, 15:11, 35 mm & HD

2007 REKORDER (with R. Rauschmeier), 19:53, DV

2006 SüDWEST, 01:41, HD

2006 FISH SOUP (with A. Tchernyi), 10:10, DV

2005 EINGRIFFE IN ARBEITEN ANDERER (with R. Rauschmeier), 18:19, DV

2004 DIE FLUTUNG VON VIKTORIA, 22:09, DV

2002 INDEPENDENCE DAY-REMIX, 01:48, 35 mm & DV

2001 MATCHBOX, 03:50, DV

1999 DAS MASS IST VOLL (with R. Rauschmeier), 7:48, DV

1998 DER MEISENMANN, 03:15, DV

1998 EXISTENZ, ~3 min., DV

1998 TANZSCHULE GOYA, ~2 min., 16mm,

1998 BALZ 1 & 2, 02:33, DV

1997 TCHERNOBYL, 01:10, DV

1997 WHITEFLIGHT, 01:23, DV