Production Reality vs. The Law – German Short Film in Numbers

Analysis

The last extensive study of German short film  was published in 2006, with films from 2003 and 2004 as its basis. At that time, about 2,000 short films were being produced annually in Germany. This current analysis shows that by now more than 2,500 short films are being made each year – representing an increase of 25% within ten years.

The new survey assessed productions in relation to their genres, lengths and languages – criteria which to some extent play a crucial role in the awarding of funding. The basis for this was the submissions from 2012 to 2014 to the following German festivals: Filmfest Dresden, interfilm Berlin, International Short Film Festival Oberhausen, International Short Film Festival Hamburg and the International Short Film Week Regensburg. All of the German productions and coproductions submitted to the above named festivals were included in the survey. Doing so, the almost 13,000 data sets were adjusted so that films which were submitted to several festivals were only counted once. This resulted in just under 7,000 films which formed the basis for the evaluation.

The submissions to the above named festivals account for slightly more than 2,300 different films per year of production. These are added to further films which are only submitted to and screened at smaller and regional festivals, as well as at so-called genre festivals (e.g. fantasy film festivals). In total, they result in the 2,500 short films mentioned above. This figure does not include any advertising films, image films or even short YouTube fun films.

There is no claim that the results of the survey are comparable to that of a scientific study. It proved difficult at times to compare the data from the various festivals, such as for instance the details on the genres. For which reason, despite follow-up research work, a series of films could not be taken into consideration here. Likewise, the details on the languages in the films were not always complete, so that it was only possible to include slightly more than 4,600 films in the basis for calculating the language version percentage shares.

Overall however, the surveyed numbers certainly do provide some interesting facts on short film in Germany and permit developments and tendencies to be recognised in terms of the genres, film screening lengths and language versions.

Genres

Few changes were found in the genres compared to 2004, when the weaknesses in the survey process described above are taken into consideration. However a far more interesting picture emerges when the number of genres in all the films submitted is compared with those solely running in the main competition sections. While the proportion of fiction and documentary films is lower in the competitions than in the submissions, the proportion of animated films in the competitions (30%) is clearly higher than in all of the submissions (13%). Likewise, experimental films have a somewhat stronger representation in the competitions than in the submissions. As none of the festivals surveyed consists of a purely animated or experimental film festival, the high proportion of these genres in the competitions attests to the high quality of animated and indeed experimental films especially in Germany. And exactly these films can look back on a long tradition, while also enjoying high regard internationally.

Film Screening Lengths

More than 72% of the films have screening lengths of up to 15 minutes. This figure is somewhat lower than in the previous survey. The group of films up to 5 minutes in length still remains the largest (33%), even if this figure has also diminished somewhat. More than half of all the films are still shorter than ten minutes (55% compared to 61% in 2004). At the same time, the number of films with a screening length of more than 15 minutes has increased to 28% (2004: 23%).

It is perhaps interesting to also have a look at the length of the films which were then ultimately selected for the main competitions at the festivals: The proportion of films under 15 minutes has not changed overall, but a significantly lower number of the very short films up to 5 minutes are being screened there (22%), probably also because hardly any music videos are shown in the main competition sections. By contrast, the films with a screening length of between 16 and 30 minutes are more powerfully represented numerically in the competitions than their proportion in the submissions.

Despite the discussion about films becoming increasingly longer and the moaning and groaning about this, the increase in the lengths has not occurred as powerfully as it is generally perceived by the industry. And when we look at the competition participants, it seems that the long short films have even gained qualitatively as they are still represented so frequently despite their often problematic lengths for the programme makers.

But these figures show once more that the definition of a short film in the German Film Funding Law of maximum 15 minutes is not in line with either the reality in film production or the submission criteria and screening practice at national and international short film festivals. Most of the national festivals on the currently valid list of short film festivals  accept films up to 30 minutes in length, while the International Short Film Festival Oberhausen takes up to 45 minutes. Almost all of the international festivals note lengths of up to 30, 40 or 60 minutes in their submission criteria. With short film prizes, the lengths range from up to five minutes for the Short Tiger Award to 40 minutes for the Oscar and Student Oscar. And even for the German Short Film Awards, screening lengths of up to 30 minutes are accepted. Other European film funding bodies and institutions primarily define short film as a film with a screening length of up to 60 minutes.

Languages

21% of the films surveyed have no dialogue at all, while 62% or almost two-thirds have German dialogue or voice-overs. English was detailed as the language in 11% of the films, while 50 different languages – ranging from Albanian to Yoruba – can be found in the remaining 6%.

While the quite high proportion of German language films may be surprising perhaps, 17% of the films still have “non-German dialogue”. However this is completely irrelevant for both the festival organisers and their audiences, especially because most of these films are even screened with German subtitles. Thus, for the filmmakers it is a reason why they are excluded from film funding at times.

The German Film Funding Law (FFG) stipulates having a German language version (original or dubbed into German) of a film as a precondition for access to funding, with German subtitles being insufficient for this purpose. The German Short Film Association has criticised this stipulation for years. The requirement to express yourself artistically solely in German represents a grievous constraint on the contextual and aesthetic further development of German film overall and short film in particular, and is also radically out of touch with reality. Society in Germany has undergone a complete transformation, with migration, the coming together of Europe and the consequences resulting from this leaving their impact on it. Germany is and should be an open country, with artists from across the planet enriching our cultural landscape. 9% of all German films are coproductions, while this even accounts for 13% of the films selected for the main competition sections  of the above named festivals. And these facts also need to be reflected in the German Film Funding Law (FFG).

Furthermore, dubbing frequently changes the overall character of a film and thus represents a grievous intrusion into artistic freedom. Language is an essential component of film – and often functions as an expression for conveying the actual message of a film. In many films, cultural and linguistic associations play a major role, however they frequently cannot be translated, just like dialects or wordplays. In addition, for an actor or a voice-over artist, their voice represents one of their most important instruments. It should be possible to present and receive film as an art form in the way it was created and intended for the audience.

It can be said in conclusion that the German Film Funding Law (FFG) urgently needs to undergo a reality check when it comes to the production and exploitation conditions for short film in Germany. This concerns for instance an updating of the definition on the screening lengths of short films, together with an end to the outmoded requirement for having German language versions. However the survey also indicates that a majority of the filmmakers organise and produce their films in line with their own artistic intentions and ideas, even if they suffer from disadvantages within the German funding system as a result.

1“Kurzfilm in Deutschland – Studie zur Situation des kurzen Films/Short Film in Germany – Study on the Situation of Short Film”, (http://cdn.ag-kurzfilm.de/kurzfilmstudie.pdf)

2Ibid.

3By which is meant the competitions specified in the list of festivals for the reference funding as per the German Film Funding Law (D.7 Guideline for Short Film Reference Funding)

Jutta Wille studied business management before working as  a  production  manager  on  various  film  productions.  Since  2003, she has worked for the German Short Film Association. In 2013 she  assumed the management of the federal German association together with Jana Cernik. 

This article was first published in “SHORT report #6” by AG Kurzfilm – German Short Film Asscociation, Dresden, November 2014. The “SHORT report” can be ordered as a print version from AG Kurzfilm and it is also available for download at www.ag-kurzfilm.de. 

Original Page

Produktionsrealität vs. Gesetz – Deutscher Kurzfilm in Zahlen

Analyse

Die letzte umfangreiche Studie zum deutschen Kurzfilm1  erschien 2006 und bezog sich auf Filme aus den Jahren 2003 und 2004. Damals wurden in Deutschland pro Jahr ca. 2.000 Kurzfilme produziert. Bei der aktuellen Analyse hat sich gezeigt, dass es inzwischen über 2.500 Kurzfilme pro Jahr sind – eine Zunahme von 25% innerhalb von zehn Jahren.

Untersucht wurden hier Produktionen in Bezug auf Kategorie, Länge und Sprache, Kriterien, die zum Teil bei der Vergabe von Fördermitteln eine ausschlaggebende Rolle spielen. Grundlage dafür bildeten die Einreichungen für die Festivaljahrgänge 2012 bis 2014 folgender Festivals: Filmfest Dresden, interfilm Berlin, Internationale Kurzfilmtage Oberhausen, Internationales Kurzfilmfestival Hamburg und Regensburger Kurzfilmwoche. Herangezogen wurden sämtliche zu den genannten Festivals eingereichte deutsche Produktionen und Koproduktionen. Dabei sind die fast 13.000 Datensätze dahingehend „bereinigt“ worden, dass Filme, die auf mehreren dieser Festivals eingereicht worden sind, nur einmal gezählt wurden. Daraus resultierten knapp über siebentausend Filme, die zur Auswertung herangezogen wurden.

Die Einreichungen bei den o. a. Festivals weisen pro Produktionsjahr etwas mehr als 2.300 verschiedene Filme auf. Dazurechnen muss man weitere Filme, die nur auf kleineren und regionalen Festivals eingereicht und gezeigt wurden, ebenso auf so genannten Genrefestivals (z. B. Fantasyfestivals). Zusammen ergeben sie die zuvor bereits erwähnten 2.500 Kurzfilme. Nicht dazugerechnet werden Werbefilme, Imagefilme oder auch YouTube-Spaßfilmchen.

Die Ergebnisse der Untersuchung erheben nicht den Anspruch einer wissenschaftlichen Arbeit. Die Daten der verschiedenen Festivals waren mitunter schwer vergleichbar, beispielsweise die Angaben der Kategorien. Trotz nachträglicher Recherchen musste eine Reihe von Filmen deshalb hier unberücksichtigt bleiben. Auch die Angaben zu den Sprachen der Filme waren nicht überall vollständig, so dass bei der Berechnung der prozentualen Anteile der Sprachfassungen nur etwas mehr als 4.600 Filme herangezogen werden konnten.

Insgesamt bieten die erhaltenen Zahlen aber auf jeden Fall einige interessante Fakten zum Kurzfilm in Deutschland und lassen Entwicklungen und Tendenzen hinsichtlich Kategorie, Filmlänge und Sprachfassung erkennen.
 

Filmkategorien

Unter Berücksichtigung der beschriebenen Schwachstellen des Erhebungsverfahrens lässt sich feststellen, dass es bei den Filmkategorien kaum Veränderungen gegenüber 2004 gibt. Viel interessanter ist der Vergleich der Zahlen der Kategorien aller eingereichten Filme mit denen, die schließlich in den Hauptwettbewerben2 liefen. Während der Anteil der Spiel- und Dokumentarfilme in den Wettbewerben geringer ist als der in den Einreichungen, ist der Anteil der Animationsfilme in den Wettbewerben (30%) bedeutend höher als der unter allen Einreichungen (13%). Auch Experimentalfilme sind in den Wettbewerben etwas stärker vertreten als unter den Einreichungen. Da bei den untersuchten Festivals kein reines Animations- oder Experimentalfilmfestival vertreten ist, zeugt dieser hohe Anteil der Kategorien in den Wettbewerben von der hohen Qualität gerade der Animations- und auch Experimentalfilme in Deutschland. Gerade diese Filme blicken auf eine lange Tradition zurück und genießen auch international ein hohes Ansehen.

 

Laufzeit

Mehr als 72 % der Filme haben eine Laufzeit von bis zu 15 Minuten. Dies sind etwas weniger als bei der letzten Erhebung. Die Gruppe der Filme bis fünf Minuten ist immer noch die Größte (33%), auch wenn ihre Zahl ebenso etwas zurückgegangen ist. Noch immer sind mehr als die Hälfte aller Filme kürzer als zehn Minuten (55%, gegenüber 61 % 2004). Auf 28% erhöht hat sich die Anzahl der Filme mit einer Laufzeit über 15 Minuten (2004: 23%).

Interessant ist hier vielleicht noch ein Blick auf die Längen der Filme, die dann letztendlich für die Hauptwettbewerbe der Festivals ausgewählt wurden: Der Anteil der Filme unter 15 Minuten insgesamt verändert sich nicht, aber es laufen bedeutend weniger der ganz kurzen Filme bis 5 Minuten (22%), wahrscheinlich auch deshalb, weil in den Hauptwettbewerben kaum Musikvideos gezeigt werden. Die Filme mit einer Laufzeit zwischen 16 und 30 Minuten sind dagegen in den Wettbewerben zahlenmäßig stärker vertreten als ihr Anteil an den Einreichungen.

Angesichts der Diskussionen über immer länger werdende Filme und dem Stöhnen darüber, ist diese Steigerung aber nicht so stark ausgefallen, wie sie gemeinhin von der Branche wahrgenommen wird. Wenn man auf die Wettbewerbsteilnahmen schaut, scheinen die langen Kurzfilme sogar qualitativ zugelegt zu haben, da sie trotz ihrer für die Programmgestalter oft problematischen Länge doch so häufig vertreten sind.

Aber diese Zahlen zeigen einmal mehr, dass die Definition des Kurzfilms im FFG (nämlich max.15 Minuten) weder der Produktionsrealität noch den Einreichkriterien und der Aufführungspraxis der nationalen sowie internationalen Kurzfilmfestivals entspricht. Die meisten der nationalen Festivals auf der derzeit für den Kurzfilm gültigen Festivalliste3 akzeptieren Filme bis 30 Minuten, die Internationalen Kurzfilmtage Oberhausen bis 45 Minuten. Fast alle internationalen Festivals weisen in den Kriterien Laufzeiten bis 30, 40 oder 60 Minuten aus. Bei den Kurzfilmpreisen reicht die Spanne von bis zu fünf Minuten beim Short Tiger Kurzfilmpreis bis 40 Minuten beim Oscar / Studentenoscar. Selbst beim Deutschen Kurzfilmpreis gelten Laufzeiten bis 30 Minuten. Andere europäische Filmförderer und -institute definieren den Kurzfilm überwiegend als einen Film mit einer Laufzeit bis 60 Minuten.

 

Sprache

21% der untersuchten Filme kommen ohne Sprache aus, 62%, also fast zwei Drittel, haben deutschen Dialoge bzw. Off-Stimmen. Für 11% der Filme sind englische Dialoge angegeben und die restlichen 6% teilen sich über 50 (!) verschiedene Sprachen – von Albanisch bis Yoruba.

Der doch recht hohe Anteil der deutschsprachigen Filme mag vielleicht überraschen, nichts desto trotz haben 17% der Filme einen „Nicht-Deutschen-Dialog“. Dies ist für die Festivalorganisatoren ebenso wie für das Publikum völlig unerheblich, zumal die Filme meist sogar mit deutschen Untertiteln gezeigt werden. Aber die Filmemacher werden deshalb teilweise von der Filmförderung ausgeschlossen.

Das deutsche Filmförderungsgesetz (FFG) schreibt nämlich zwingend eine deutsche Sprachfassung (Original- oder Synchronfassung) als Zugangsvoraussetzung für die Förderung vor, deutsche Untertitel reichen nicht aus. Die AG Kurzfilm kritisiert diese Anforderung seit Jahren. Der Zwang, sich ausschließlich in Deutsch künstlerisch zu äußern, ist für die inhaltliche wie ästhetische Weiterentwicklung des gesamten deutschen Films, insbesondere aber für den Kurzfilm, eine gravierende Einschränkung, die zudem vollkommen an der Realität vorbei geht. Die Gesellschaft in Deutschland hat sich komplett gewandelt, Migration, das Zusammenwachsen Europas und die daraus erwachsenden Folgen haben ihre Spuren hinterlassen. Deutschland ist und soll ein offenes Land sein, Künstler aus aller Welt bereichern unsere Kulturlandschaft. 9% aller deutschen Filme sind Koproduktionen, von den für die Hauptwettbewerbe der o. g. Festivals ausgewählten Filmen sind es sogar 13%. All dies muss sich auch im FFG widerspiegeln.

Synchronisation ändert zudem häufig den Gesamtcharakter eines Films und ist somit ein gravierender Eingriff in die künstlerische Freiheit. Sprache ist ein essentieller Bestandteil des Filmes – und oft das Ausdrucksmittel, die die eigentliche Botschaft des Films transportiert. In vielen Filmen spielen kulturelle und sprachliche Assoziationen eine große Rolle, die sich aber oft nicht übersetzen lassen, ebenso Dialekte oder Wortspiele. Zudem ist die Stimme eines der wichtigsten Werkzeuge eines Schauspielers bzw. Sprechers. Die Kunstform Film sollte immer so präsentiert und rezipiert werden können, wie sie erschaffen und für das Publikum vorgesehen wurde.

1“Kurzfilm in Deutschland – Studie zur Situation des kurzen Films“ (http://cdn.ag-kurzfilm.de/kurzfilmstudie.pdf)

2Gemeint sind die Wettbewerbe, die in der Festivalliste für die Referenzförderung lt. FFG aufgeführt sind (D.7 RL Kurzfilm)

3Ebd.

Jutta Wille  hat Betriebswirtschaft studiert und war als Aufnahmeleiterin bei diversen Filmproduktionen tätig. Für die AG Kurzfilm arbeitet sie seit 2003, seit 2013 ist sie eine der Geschäftsführerinnen des Bundesverbands.

Dieser Artikel wurde zuerst veröffentlicht in:“SHORT report #6”, Hg. AG Kurzfilm, Dresden November 2014. Der aktuelle “SHORT report” kann als Printversion über die AG Kurzfilm bestellt werden oder auf www.ag-kurzfilm.de  heruntergeladen werden.

Original Page