The Video Essay – More Discourse than Terminology



“Every Frame a Painting” is the name of Canadian filmmaker and editor Tony Zhou’s YouTube channel, which has been online since 2014 and engages with the phenomenon of cinema. Zhou uses his short videos consisting of newly edited original movie scenes to analyse how films and their encompassing production routines operate, for instance most recently in a video about composition strategies in the Marvel movies. Over the years, his channel has been accessed about 50 million times. His work has also long been viewed and acknowledged in Germany, generating articles in the Zeit and Süddeutsche newspapers. After being active for a year, Zhou released a video that explores the argumentation strategies and structuring decisions in Orson Welles’ “F For Fake” – his most important source of inspiration up to then. In the clip entitled “How to Structure a Video Essay”, Zhou describes how he approaches cinema in his own videos and what a “video essay” actually is:


“Remember, video essays aren’t essays. They’re films. So you wanna structure and pace them like a filmmaker would.”


Kevin B. Lee began at an even earlier stage to utilise the Internet to grapple with cinema on an audio-visual level, likewise using the term video essay. Shortly after YouTube first went online in 2005 and the “fair use” doctrine in US copyright law was extended to audio and video material, Lee began his “Shooting Down Pictures” blog project in 2007. For three years, he released commented movie excerpts and soon developed more complex videos with critical high-quality film reviews in an exchange process with New York-based critics such as Jonathan Rosenbaum, Chris Fujiwara, Mike D’Angelo or Richard Brody. He has released more than 350 online articles to date, among others from 2011 in Keyframe, the US streaming service Fandor’s online magazine as well as in the US online magazine IndieWire’s blog “Press Play”. Lee is regarded as one of the most renowned advocates of the video essay, who has already released numerous distinct and media-savvy statements on the workings and referential aspects of this format. Yet for that: The operator of Keyframe just recently removed all of his videos from the Internet and Lee turned his back on them in protest (for more details see here. The reason for all this was a copyright dispute. A setback that demonstrates: The discussion on the emergence and legitimation of the video essay format is far from over, if only from a legal viewpoint alone.

Zhou and Lee, together with Adrian Martin, Cristina Álvarez López, Catherine Grant, Matt Zoller Seitz, Dana Linssen, Michael Witt or Matthias Stork, belong to the English speaking players associated with the video essay concept at an international level today, using it as a means to characterise, claim and adjudicate a contemporary practice of confronting and analysing cinema. They have all long become well known beyond their own cultural environment, advocating the recognition and acknowledgement of a sustained and democratising audio-visual engagement with cinema in the international world of academia, within the critical movie review practice and in the context of festival and film series. A democratisation which is reasoned by the new accessibility to visual material in the digital era with constantly expanding distribution options for video and the increasingly simplified handling of video footage, as indeed beyond doubt also in new sensitivities and adaption practices for the moving image. Because of the new questions and issues which arise in light of the current medial practices, Kevin B. Lee, as the first scholarship recipient of the newly founded Harun Farocki Institute, was recently invited to Berlin to give an outline on his personal position concerning access to cinema and on essayist works with copyright protected material.

Ten years after it first emerged as a concept, the video essay is one that could barely be more diffuse, such that even Kevin B. Lee repeatedly has to embrace it anew on a practical level. And that is because it barely seems clear which formats this genre includes, as well as which publication practices and mind-sets. And the increasing number of overview texts, journals and book contributions quickly reveal: By now the video essay occupies a position between various fields of discussion and film formats, between literary and academic lines of tradition, is constantly defended as a practice, yet questioned as such to an equal extent, and is repeatedly modified and newly adjudicated. The video essay as a concept for discussion stands for, together with numerous related terms, an ongoing debate, acting as a plea for the legally unrestricted usage of audio-visual works in academic and film critique contexts, and that before all the issues have been clarified.



„Found Found Found“ (Dirk de Bruyn)


The Roots and Fuzziness of the Video Essay

In an article that was published after the “Critical Theory, Film and Media: Where is Frankfurt Now?” conference in Frankfurt in 2014, Adrian Martin and Cristina Álvarez López addressed on a film history level the comparative perspectives of the work on video essays today, ranging from Joseph Cornell and ROSE HOBART (1936) to Jean-Luc Godard and HISTOIRE(S) DU CINÉMA (1988-1998). They contextualised the essayist work on film material by Agnès Varda, Chris Marker, Ken Jacobs and Harun Farocki. In their eyes, the “audio-visual essay”, as they prefer to term the video essay, draws its roots from two areas:


“There is the tradition of research and experimentation that comes through avant-garde film and video, particularly all that is gathered under the rubric of found footage work. […] Then there is the essay-film (or film-essay), that historic breakaway from supposedly objective documentary which stresses the elements of the personal and the reflective, and which has itself spawned many sub-forms in the digital age.”


This is compounded by the complexity of the essay concept itself, the categorising of video works on the basis of mind-sets, which transform an essay into an essay in a classical sense: As a principal rationale for essayist video works, Martin and Álvarez López underscore the clear connecting line that the classical essay concept draws between an artistic-creative access to material and a fundamentally critical-reflective perspective of the significant authors. Yet for that, in connection with essayist formats, they do issue a warning of codifications that now even entail an historic-conceptual access. To generally define the essayist work for instance as “excursive, reflective and subjective” obstructs the actual potential of the area: The opportunity to surprise, to invent and to step beyond limits.

Regarding her own video essays, the film academic Catherine Grant emphasises exactly this potential for surprise, for instance when she speaks of the poetic and the performative – arguing in a very similar manner as the film critic and curator Dana Linssen, who each year at the Critics’ Choice  during the Rotterdam film festival encourages people of the film critic field to comment on the individual film programmes with essayist videos. Kevin B. Lee works in a more defined way, flirting in quizzical essayist terms with codifications in order to politicise them: And he assertively positions himself in his work within the tradition of Adorno, Montaigne and Bacon.

The formal inconsistency in the discourse on the video essay as a format is quite doubtlessly entwined inseparably with traditional inconsistencies, with the changeable nature of the essayistic. Linked to recurring political disputes about a legal basis and the acknowledgement of a current practice with images, it seems of little surprise that, fuelled by the recurring fuzziness of the accompanying discussions and in addition to passionate intercessions, peeved polemics also flare up repeatedly, such as for instance in Patrick Holzapfel’s response to the article in the Süddeutsche newspaper.

Repeatedly however, something that is fuzzy also has potential, acting as a challenge and a source of inspiration, such as for instance in Nicolas Rossi’s currently ongoing dissertation project ESSAI CRITIQUE. Because the need for a confrontation with the current perspectives for film-critical and scientific works is evident, focussed platforms have now also arisen in a scientific context: Catherine Grant has, together with Christine Becker, Drew Morton, Matthias Stork and Benjamin Sampson, initiated the online journal “[in]Transition”, which is completely devoted to the audio-visual discussion and examination of film and which publishes meticulously curated and commented illustrative examples. The websites “Audiovisual Thinking” or “The Audiovisual Essay” for instance work in a similar manner. In Germany, especially Michael Baute’s learning initiative “Kunst der Vermittlung” is worth mentioning in this regard. For further guidance, articles such as from the “European Journal of Media Studies”, which is run by NECSUS, are helpful, as indeed is the online reader by Thomas van den Berg and Miklós Kiss – as an attempt to place trends, key figures and styles in relation to each other: “From Audiovisual Essay to Academic Research Video”.


„THIRD PRISM“ (Josh Fenwick-Wilson)


And then there are the hard-fought zones of the Internet, in which video essays also continue to be released and addressed thematically beyond the academic framework. While IndieWire did shelve its own blog “Press Play” in spring, it continues to provide a thematic outlet for the format with external works that have their own presenters. The European streaming website MUBI sporadically publishes pieces in its “Notebook” magazine format and the “Audiovisualcy” group has archived works on Vimeo for years and now even offers space for secondary publications as a reaction to legal disputes. Then there is also Dana Linssen’s magazine “De Filmkrant”, the “Moving Image Source” web resources from MOMI, or the Spanish film magazine “Transit”.

Moving Forward


While the audio-visual publications on cinema bubble with a volatile quality rationale on YouTube and among fans, and, after years of practice, have gained recognition in principle as audio-visual works in an academic context compared to the contents of equivalent scientific forms of publication, the fundamental question of what future the video essay has beyond such spheres arises on a local and immediate level. Through this, however, the video essay also becomes even more unavoidable for the rights holders and editorial offices: Under which circumstances may, can and must the critical film review act in a contemporary manner and continue to appropriate visual material from films for a vivid confrontation with cinema? Taking the video essay seriously for a cultural discourse on cinema not only provides the opportunity to pose productive questions to those responsible, it actually demands it of them. Because this concerns supremacy over the image, as well as media ethics and the updating of artistic concepts characterised by the essayistic. And it is this sense of engagement that ultimately makes the format so interesting and emphatic.

Of course: Video works cannot and will not replace classic criticism and reviews in the public arena, just as little as essayist writing about film will make it obsolete. However, the citing of filmic images in video works also continues to supply the potential for simultaneity, for the opportunity to indivisibly interlace the discursive and the visual – and not solely to quote and describe, but to open up, arrange and agitate. And more so: Of course continuous challenging is required of the filmic image as a basic grammatical element of current media reality, in an appropriation of film as raw material, with access to film as a familiar platform in a sustained confrontation that involves everyone concerned and which is resolved together by and among them all – on the production level and within the artistic practice and the media. Because in fact the filmic is to be regarded as a collective responsibility, as a medially conveyed reality just as much as a power reality. Anyone who does not risk opening up cinematic images to critical, audio-visual scrutiny out of the fear of being exposed in the net does not believe in the original and actual power of filmic works in cinemas. Whoever denies the filmic image to the essayists has already given up on it.



Ultimately all of the questions come down to the issue of who is going to take a stand for emphatic formats and continuous discussions: Promoting new forms of access to cinema requires creative alliances, and even production alliances, among those who do not want the dispute on the video essay to run dry – alliances like those that first occurred several years ago between Kevin B. Lee and the New York-based film critics. Unlike the fuzzy discussions about the video essay, this question may be posed quite precisely: Can remaining in an outdated TV clip aesthetic, such as for instance in the commentated excerpts from electronic press kits in the video reviews from the FAZ newspaper, help anyone conceptually to expand the understanding of the discussion and analysis of film on a discursive level? Within the structure of these videos, a hierarchy is conveyed especially with largescale productions, a dependence on the visual material provided, or in a nutshell, a limitation on what is showable and may be exemplified and illustrated. In this way, the critical review can only adjudicate that which is standardised and prefabricated, where it would in fact be able to potentially interact with cinema and, by means of aesthetic strategies, develop new spaces for thought. When hierarchies do exist, such hierarchies risk becoming the sole subject in the relationship between the critic and their practice, blurring any potential for inspiration.





„Chaos Cinema: Part I“ (Matthias Stork)

„Chaos Cinema: Part II“ (Matthias Stork)

„CINEMASTERS: David Cronenberg“ (Alex Kalogeropoulos)

„Drive (2011) – The Quadrant System“ (Tony Zhou)

Found Found Found (Dirk de Bruyn)

„Imitation, Contamination, Dissolution: Bong Joon-Ho’s “Memories of Murder” (Cristina Álvarez López & Adrian Martin)


„Jackie Chan – How to Do Action Comedy“ (Tony Zhou)

„The Marvel Symphonic Universe“ (Tony Zhou)

„Primal Analysis“ (Cristina Álvarez López)

„Repetition in Nature“ (Kieran Micallef)

„Smells Like Armageddon Day – Dreamlike Settings and Magnified Trash“ (Laura Lammer)

„The Thinking Machine 6: Pieces of Spaces“ (Cristina Álvarez López & Adrian Martin)

„The Thinking Machine 9: The Sea Speaks“ (Cristina Álvarez López & Adrian Martin)

„THIRD PRISM“ (Josh Fenwick-Wilson)

„The Thousand Eyes of Frederick Wiseman“ (Christopher Small / James Corning)

„To Begin With…“ (Cristina Álvarez López & Adrian Martin)


Reading Recommendations


Álvarez López, Cristina / Adrian Martin: „The Audiovisual Essay as Art Practice“

Anderson, Steve: „Fair Use and Media Studies in the Digital Age“

Bateman, Conor: „Publish and Perish: Video Essays in the Age of Social Media“

Becker, Christine / Michael Kackman: „ACA-MEDIA EPISODE 17: A CONFIDENCE IN OUR FORM“

Busche, Andreas: „Medienkritik mit Transformers“

Erlend, Lavik: „The Video Essay: The Future of Academic Film and Television Criticism?“

Film Studies for Free: Label Video Essay

Grant Catherine / Christian Keathley: „The Use of an Illusion: Childhood cinephilia, object relations, and videographic film studies“

Holzapfel, Patrick: „A Question of Space: Videoessay zu White Out, Black In von Roger Koza“

Linssen, Dana: „Whose Cinema: The video-essay on the big screen of the International Film Festival Rotterdam“

Pantenburg, Volker: „Videographic Film Studies and the Analysis of Camera Movement“

Rosenbaum, Jonathan: „The Mosaic Approach“

Zoller Seitz, Matt: „The Video Essay“

Zoller Seitz, Matt: „Copy Rites: YouTube vs. Kevin B. Lee“

Zum Videoessay – Debatte statt Begrifflichkeit

Hintergrund

 

„Every Frame a Painting“ heißt der Youtube-Kanal des kanadischen Filmemachers und Cutters Tony Zhou, der seit 2014 online steht und sich der Auseinandersetzung mit dem Kino verschrieben hat. In kurzen Videos analysiert Zhou anhand von neu montierten Originalszenen, wie Filme und die sie umgebenden Produktionsroutinen funktionieren, zuletzt etwa in einem Video zu Kompositionsstrategien der Marvel-Kinofilme. Über die Jahre wurde sein Kanal rund 50 Millionen Mal aufgerufen. Seine Arbeit ist entsprechend auch hierzulande längst präsent, regte Artikel in der Zeit und Süddeutschen an. Nachdem er ein Jahr aktiv war, veröffentlichte Zhou ein Video, das sich mit den Argumentationsstrategien und Strukturentscheidungen von Orson Welles „F For Fake“ auseinandersetzt – seiner bis dahin wichtigsten Inspirationsquelle. In dem Clip beschreibt Zhou unter dem Titel „How to Structure a Video Essay“, wie er sich in seinen eigenen Videos dem Kino annähert und was eigentlich ein „Videoessay“ ist:

 

„Remember, video essays aren’t essays. They’re films. So you wanna structure and pace them like a filmmaker would.“

 

Noch früher als er begann sich Kevin B. Lee im Internet audiovisuell mit dem Kino auseinanderzusetzen, ebenfalls unter dem Begriff Videoessay. Kurz nach der Gründung von YouTube 2005 und einer Ausweitung der “Fair Use”-Klausel des US-Urheberrechts auf Audio- und Videomaterialien startete Lee 2007 das Blogprojekt „Shooting Down Pictures“. Drei Jahre lang veröffentlichte er kommentierte Filmausschnitte und entwickelte im Austausch mit New Yorker Filmkritikern wie Jonathan Rosenbaum, Chris Fujiwara, Mike D’Angelo oder Richard Brody bald komplexere Videos mit filmkritischer Qualität. Bis heute hat er über 350 Beiträge veröffentlicht, ab 2011 unter anderem im Rahmen von Keyframe, dem Online-Magazin der US-Streamingseite Fandor sowie im Blog „Press Play“ des US-Online-Magazins IndieWire. Lee gilt als einer der profiliertesten Verteidiger des Videoessays und veröffentlichte gleich mehrfach klare und öffentlichkeitswirksame Stellungnahmen zu den Funktionsweisen und Bezügen der Form. Dennoch: Die Betreiber von Keyframe nahmen erst kürzlich alle seine Videos aus dem Netz und Lee wandte sich aus Protest von der Seite ab (Details dazu hier). Anlass war ein Copyright-Streit. Ein Rückschritt, der zeigt: Der Diskurs um das Aufkommen und die Legitimation der Form Videoessay ist allein schon rechtlich keineswegs abgeschlossen.

Zhou und Lee gehören neben Adrian Martin, Cristina Álvarez López, Catherine Grant, Matt Zoller Seitz, Dana Linssen, Michael Witt oder Matthias Stork zu den englischsprachigen AkteurInnen, die heute international mit dem Begriff Videoessay in Verbindung gebracht werden, ihn als Zugang zu einer zeitgemäßen Praxis der Auseinandersetzung mit dem Kino geprägt, eingefordert und verhandelt haben. Alle sind sie längst über ihren Kulturkreis hinaus bekannt, verteidigen in der internationalen Wissenschaft, filmkritischen Praxis und im Rahmen von Festivals und Filmreihen die Anerkennung einer anhaltenden und demokratisierten, audiovisuellen Auseinandersetzung mit dem Kino. Eine Demokratisierung, die in der neuen Zugänglichkeit von Bildmaterial des digitalen Zeitalters, immer weiter wachsende Verbreitungsvarianten für Videos und der zunehmend vereinfachten Handhabe von Videomaterial begründet liegt, zweifellos auch in neuen Sensibilitäten und Aneignungroutinen des bewegten Bilds. Weil sich vor dem Hintergund der gegenwärtigen Medienpraxis neue Fragen ergeben, war Kevin B. Lee erst kürzlich als erster Stipendiat des neu gegründeten Harun Farocki Instituts in Berlin zu Gast, um seinen Zugang zum Kino und zur essayistischen Arbeit mit urheberrechtlich geschütztem Material auch hierzulande persönlich zu erläutern.

Videoessay, das ist ein Begriff, der rund zehn Jahre nach seinem Aufkommen kaum verwässerter sein könnte, den sich selbst Kevin B. Lee immer wieder neu durch seine Praxis aneignen muss. Weil kaum noch klar scheint, welche Formen diese Gattung einschließt, welche Veröffentlichungspraxen, welche Denkhaltungen. Die zunehmende Anzahl von Überblickstexten, Journals und Buchbeiträgen macht schnell klar: Das Videoessay erschließt sich mittlerweile vor allem zwischen Diskussionsfeldern und Filmformen, zwischen literarischen und akademischen Traditionslinien, wird als Praxis fortlaufend verteidigt und gleichermaßen in Frage gestellt, wurde immer wieder abgeändert und neu verhandelt. Das Videoessay als Diskussionsbegriff steht neben zahlreichen verwandten Begriffen stellvertretend für eine laufende Diskussion, funktioniert als Plädoyer für die rechtlich freie Nutzung von audiovisuellen Werken im akademischen und filmkritischen Kontext, noch bevor alle Fragen geklärt sind.

 

„Found Found Found“ (Dirk de Bruyn)

 

Zu Wurzeln und Unschärfen des Videoessays

 

Adrian Martin und Cristina Álvarez López sprechen 2014, in einem Artikel nach der Frankfurter Konferenz „Critical Theory, Film and Media: Where is Frankfurt Now?“ filmhistorische Vergleichsperspektiven der heutigen Arbeit an Videoessays an, öffnen eine Spanne von Joseph Cornell und ROSE HOBART (1936) zu Jean-Luc Godard und HISTOIRE(S) DU CINÉMA (1988-1998). Sie thematisieren die essayistische Arbeit am Filmmaterial bei Agnès Varda, Chris Marker, Ken Jacobs und Harun Farocki. Das „audiovisual essay“, wie sie das Videoessay bevorzugt bezeichnen, mag seine Wurzeln ihrer Ansicht nach aus zwei Bereichen ziehen:

 

„There is the tradition of research and experimentation that comes through avant-garde film and video, particularly all that is gathered under the rubric of found footage work. […] Then there is the essay-film (or film-essay), that historic breakaway from supposedly objective documentary which stresses the elements of the personal and the reflective, and which has itself spawned many sub-forms in the digital age.“ [http://www.necsus-ejms.org/introduction-audiovisual-essay-child-two-mothers/]

 

Hinzu kommt die Komplexität des Essay-Begriffs selbst, die Kategorisierung von Videoarbeiten aufgrund von Denkhaltungen, die ein Essay im klassischen Sinne zum Essay machen: Martin und Álvarez López unterstreichen als prinzipielle Logik essayistischer Videoarbeiten die klare Verbindungslinie, die der klassische Essay-Begriff zwischen einem künstlerisch-kreativen Zugang zum Material und einer grundlegend kritisch-reflektierenden Perspektive der wesentlichen AutorInnen zieht. Dennoch warnen sie im Zusammenhang mit essayistischen Formen vor Festschreibungen, die ein historisch-begrifflicher Zugang nun eben mit sich bringt. Die essayistische Arbeit etwa generell als „abschweifend, reflektiert und subjektiv“ zu definieren versperre das eigentliche Potenzial des Felds: die Möglichkeit, zu überraschen, zu erfinden und Grenzen zu überschreiten.

 

 

Im Zusammenhang mit ihren eigenen Videoessays betont die Filmwissenschaftlerin Catherine Grant eben dieses überraschende Potenzial, etwa wenn sie vom Poetischen und Performativen spricht – sie argumentiert ganz ähnlich wie die Filmkritikerin und Kuratorin Dana Linssen, die bei der Critics’ Choice im Rahmen des Rotterdam Filmfestivals jährlich Leute aus der Filmkritik dazu anregt, mit essayistischen Videos die einzelnen Filmprogramme zu kommentieren. Kevin B. Lee arbeitet definierter, er liebäugelt in essayistischen Begriffsfragen mit Festschreibungen, um sie zu politisieren: Er stellt sich in seiner Arbeit selbstbewusst in die Tradition von Adorno, Montaigne und Bacon.

Die formale Uneinheitlichkeit der Diskurse um das Videoessay als Form ist ganz zweifellos untrennbar verwoben mit tradierten Uneinheitlichkeiten, mit der wechselhaften Natur des Essayistischen selbst. Verbunden mit wiederkehrenden politischen Auseinandersetzungen um rechtliche Grundlagen und die Anerkennung einer gegenwärtigen Bildpraxis scheint es wenig überraschend, dass angestachelt durch die wiederkehrende Unschärfe begleitender Diskussionen neben passionierten Fürsprachen auch immer wieder genervte Polemik aufflammt, hierzulande etwa in Patrick Holzapfels Replik auf den Text in der Süddeutschen.

Immer wieder fungiert das Unklare aber auch als Potenzial, Herausforderung und Inspirationsquelle, etwa bei Nicolas Rossis derzeit laufendem Dissertationsprojekt ESSAI CRITIQUE. Weil eine Notwendigkeit zur Auseinandersetzung mit den gegenwärtigen Perspektiven des filmkritischen und -wissenschaftlichen Arbeitens auf der Hand liegt, sind im wissenschaftlichen Kontext zudem fokussierte Plattformen entstanden: Catherine Grant hat gemeinsam mit Christine Becker, Drew Morton, Matthias Stork und Benjamin Sampson das Online-Journal „[in]Transition“ initiiert, das sich ganz der audiovisuellen Auseinandersetzung mit Film verschreibt und sorgsam kuratierte, kommentierte Anschauungsbeispiele veröffentlicht. Ähnlich funktionieren etwa die Webseiten „Audiovisual Thinking“ oder „The Audiovisual Essay“. In Deutschland sei daneben allen voran Michael Bautes Lehrinitiative „Kunst der Vermittlung“ genannt. Zur weiteren Orientierung helfen etwa Artikel des von NECSUS betriebenen „European Journal of Media Studies“, genannt sei auch der Online-Reader von Thomas van den Berg und Miklós Kiss – ein Versuch, Strömungen, Schlüsselfiguren und Stilrichtungen in Verhältnisse zu setzen: „From Audiovisual Essay to Academic Research Video“.

 

„THIRD PRISM“ (Josh Fenwick-Wilson)

 

Und dann sind da die umkämpften Zonen des Internets, in denen Videoessays auch außerhalb des akademischen Rahmens weiterhin veröffentlicht und thematisiert werden. IndieWire legte das eigene Blog „Press Play“ im Frühjahr auf Eis, thematisiert die Form aber weiterhin durch anmoderierte externe Arbeiten, die europäische Streamingseite MUBI veröffentlicht sporadisch Beiträge im Magazinformat „Notebook“, die „Audiovisualcy“ Gruppe auf Vimeo archiviert seit Jahren Arbeiten und bietet als Reaktion auf Rechtsstreits nun sogar Raum für Zweitveröffentlichungen. Dann wären da beispielsweise auch Dana Linssens Magazin „De Filmkrant“, die Webressource des MOMI „Moving Image Source“, oder das spanische Filmmagazin „Transit“.

 

Gegen das Verharren

 

Während das audiovisuelle Publizieren zum Kino auf YouTube und in Fankreisen mit schwankender Qualitätslogik sprudelt und sich im akademischen Kontext nach Jahren der Lehre eine prinzipielle Anerkennung audiovisueller Arbeiten als dem Text gleichwertige wissenschaftliche Publikationsform einstellt, formuliert sich die wesentliche Frage, welche Zukunft das Videoessay abseits jener Sphären hat, im Grunde ganz lokal und unmittelbar, daher aber umso unausweichlicher für Rechteinhaber und Redaktionen: Unter welchen Umständen kann, darf und muss die Filmkritik zeitgemäß handeln und sich Bildmaterial von Filmen für eine plastische Auseinandersetzung mit dem Kino weiterhin aneignen? Das Videoessay für einen kulturellen Diskurs um das Kino ernst zu nehmen, liefert nicht nur die Chance auf produktive Fragestellungen an Verantwortliche, sondern fordert sie geradezu ein. Denn es geht dabei um die Hoheit über das Bild ebenso wie um Medienethik und die Aktualisierung essayistisch geprägter Kunstbegriffe. Es ist diese Verbindlichkeit, die die Form letztlich so interessant und pointiert macht.

 

 

Natürlich: Videoarbeiten können und werden im öffentlichen Raum die klassische Kritik nicht ersetzen, ebenso wenig das essayistische Schreiben über Film obsolet machen. Doch das Zitieren von Filmbildern in Videoarbeiten liefert auch weiterhin das Potenzial einer Gleichzeitigkeit, die Möglichkeit das Diskursive und das Visuelle untrennbar miteinander zu verschränken – nicht lediglich zu zitieren und zu beschreiben, sondern zu eröffnen, zu arrangieren und zu agitieren. Mehr noch: Natürlich bedarf es gesellschaftlich einer fortlaufenden Infragestellung des Filmbilds als einer grammatischen Grundeinheit der gegenwärtigen Medienrealität, einer Aneignung des Films als Werkstoff, einen Zugang zum Film als vertraute Plattform einer anhaltenden Auseinandersetzung, die alle betrifft und die alle – Produktion, Kunstpraxis und Medienöffentlichkeit – miteinander gemeinsam austragen. Denn in der Tat ist das Filmische als kollektive Verantwortung zu sehen, als medial vermittelte Realität ebenso wie als Machtrealität. Wer es nicht wagt, das gestaltete Filmbild kritisch-audiovisuellen Betrachtungen zu öffnen, aus einer Furcht vor seiner Enthüllung im Netz, glaubt nicht an die ursprüngliche und eigentliche Kraft filmischer Werke im Kinosaal. Wer das Filmbild dem Essayistischen verweigert, hat es schon aufgegeben.

Letztlich laufen alle Fragen darauf hinaus, wer für pointierte Formen und fortlaufende Diskussionen einstehen wird: Neue Zugänge zum Kino stark zu machen, das erfordert kreative Allianzen, auch Produktionsallianzen, unter denjenigen, die Streits um das Videoessay nicht versiegen lassen wollen – Allianzen, wie sie erst vor einigen Jahren zwischen Kevin B. Lee und der New Yorker Filmkritik stattfanden. Im Umkehrschluss zu den schwammigen Diskussionen um das Videoessay stellen sich die Fragen ganz präzise: Kann das Verharren in einer angestaubten TV-Einspieler-Ästhetik, wie etwa die kommentierten Ausschnitte aus elektronischen Pressekits in den Videokritiken der FAZ , irgendjemanden konzeptionell weiterbringen, das Verständnis der Auseinandersetzung mit Film diskursiv erweitern? In der Struktur dieser Videos vermittelt sich insbesondere bei Großproduktionen eine Hierarchie, eine Abhängigkeit von bereitgestelltem Bildmaterial, kurzum eine Limitierung dessen, was zeigbar ist und veranschaulicht werden darf. Die Kritik kann so nur noch das Normierte und Vorgefertigte verhandeln, wo sie doch potenziell mit dem Kino interagieren und in ästhetischen Strategien neue Denkräume erschließen könnte. Wenn es Hierarchien gibt, drohen im Verhältnis von Kritik und Praxis diese Hierarchie zum alleinigen Thema zu werden und Potenziale für Inspiration zu verschwimmen.

 

 

 

 

Videoessays

 

„Chaos Cinema: Part I“ (Matthias Stork)

„Chaos Cinema: Part II“ (Matthias Stork)

„CINEMASTERS: David Cronenberg“ (Alex Kalogeropoulos)

„Drive (2011) – The Quadrant System“ (Tony Zhou)

Found Found Found (Dirk de Bruyn)

„Imitation, Contamination, Dissolution: Bong Joon-Ho’s “Memories of Murder” (Cristina Álvarez López & Adrian Martin)

„IN SEARCH OF THE FEMONOMYTH“ (Isobel Guyver)

„Jackie Chan – How to Do Action Comedy“ (Tony Zhou)

„The Marvel Symphonic Universe“ (Tony Zhou)

„Primal Analysis“ (Cristina Álvarez López)

„Repetition in Nature“ (Kieran Micallef)

„Smells Like Armageddon Day – Dreamlike Settings and Magnified Trash“ (Laura Lammer)

„The Thinking Machine 6: Pieces of Spaces“ (Cristina Álvarez López & Adrian Martin)

„The Thinking Machine 9: The Sea Speaks“ (Cristina Álvarez López & Adrian Martin)

„THIRD PRISM“ (Josh Fenwick-Wilson)

„The Thousand Eyes of Frederick Wiseman“ (Christopher Small / James Corning)

„To Begin With…“ (Cristina Álvarez López & Adrian Martin)

 

Lese-Empfehlungen

 

Álvarez López, Cristina / Adrian Martin: „The Audiovisual Essay as Art Practice“

Anderson, Steve: „Fair Use and Media Studies in the Digital Age“

Bateman, Conor: „Publish and Perish: Video Essays in the Age of Social Media“

Becker, Christine / Michael Kackman: „ACA-MEDIA EPISODE 17: A CONFIDENCE IN OUR FORM“

Busche, Andreas: „Medienkritik mit Transformers“

Erlend, Lavik: „The Video Essay: The Future of Academic Film and Television Criticism?“

Film Studies for Free: Label Video Essay

Grant Catherine / Christian Keathley: „The Use of an Illusion: Childhood cinephilia, object relations, and videographic film studies“

Holzapfel, Patrick: „A Question of Space: Videoessay zu White Out, Black In von Roger Koza“

Linssen, Dana: „Whose Cinema: The video-essay on the big screen of the International Film Festival Rotterdam“

Pantenburg, Volker: „Videographic Film Studies and the Analysis of Camera Movement“

Rosenbaum, Jonathan: „The Mosaic Approach“

Zoller Seitz, Matt: „The Video Essay“

Zoller Seitz, Matt: „Copy Rites: YouTube vs. Kevin B. Lee“