Future of Animate Projects in jeopardy

Report

For more than 20 years Animate! in London has been the top address in the United Kingdom, if not all of Europe, for artistic animated film. Founded by legendary producer Dick Arnall, the organisation was carried on after his death by Jacqui Davies and Gary Thomas under the name Animate Projects. Animate Projects promotes and supports the production and distribution of high-quality artistic animation. The small organisation’s portfolio reads like a Who’s Who of British film artists. Outside the UK, films produced with the help of Animate Projects have received accolades at all major international film festivals.

Since 2007 the new team has continuously, lastingly and innovatively developed and expanded its activities. It not only stepped up its cooperation with galleries, cinemas, universities and other institutions, but also sought new options for the online sale of animation films. Recent endeavours include the launch of AP Engine (http://www.apengine.org/), an Internet blog that addresses the latest developments on the crossroads between art, film and media in an earnest and well-grounded manner.

In late January Animate Projects announced that the Arts Council England would discontinue funding for the organisation in 2011. Without this support, Animate Projects cannot continue its work.

If alternative financing is not found, the Arts Council England will have caused with the stroke of a pen the closing down of a unique film culture organisation.

As is well known, in the wake of the financial crisis and new political priorities the United Kingdom no longer has sufficient funds available for cultural promotion. The Arts Council itself has been a victim of this crisis, and of a change in cultural policy that has taken hold not just since the new government came into office. Under the new government the budget for the Arts Council England has been slashed by nearly 30%. And cutbacks will continue to be made.

Even if one presumes good will in these decisions and has sympathy with the financial plight, it is still incomprehensible that such measures must lead, so to speak, to a total write-off. Evidently, the cuts were to be pushed through with lightning speed and without in-depth consultation with experts and those affected. After all, in the case of Animate Projects the Arts Council contradicts its own – at least sensible-sounding – strategic and cultural policy considerations on dealing with the crisis.

Small and effective, Animate Projects is in fact an exemplary enterprise in the face of such financial constraints. With only three or four staff members, it does outstanding work that makes a difference both nationally and internationally. But the very fact that the organisation disposes over neither a large apparatus nor sufficient resources makes it especially vulnerable now.

One might expect that, despite the necessary restrictions, a sensible solution could be found to enable the survival of such an enterprise and to help it weather the crisis. Because the closing of an organisation like Animate Projects destroys far more, namely a complete, functioning structure that can no longer be recreated, or only at much higher expense in terms of both money and personal effort.

Reinhard W. Wolf

Links

Animate Projects: http://www.animateprojects.org/
Announcement of funding cuts: http://www.animateprojects.org/news/arts_council_england_axes_animate_projects
AP Engine: http://www.apengine.org/
Blog “Arts Council England axes Animate Projects”: http://animateprojects.blogspot.com/2011/01/arts-council-axes-animate.html
Arts Council strategic framework: http://www.artscouncil.org.uk/about-us/a-strategic-framework-for-the-arts/
For feedback on the Arts Council (“A complaint about our services”): http://www.artscouncil.org.uk/about-us/contact-us/

P.S.
Alan Davey, Chief Executive, Arts Council England on the cuts in cultural promotion
“This cut will inevitably have a significant impact on the cultural life of the country.”

Original Page

Zukunft von Animate Projects gefährdet

Report

Seit mehr als 20 Jahren ist Animate! in London zumindest für Großbritannien, wenn nicht für Europa, die wichtigste Adresse für den künstlerischen Animationsfilm. Die vom legendären Produzenten Dick Arnall gegründete Organisation wurde nach dessen Tod von Jacqui Davies und Gary Thomas als Animate Projects weitergeführt. Animate Projects fördert und unterstützt die Herstellung und Verbreitung künstlerischer Filme hoher Qualität. Das Portfolio der kleinen Organisation liest sich wie ein Who’s Who der wichtigsten britischen Filmkünstler. Außerhalb Großbritanniens feierten Filme, die mit der Unterstützung von Animate Projects entstanden sind, auf allen wichtigen internationalen Filmfestivals Erfolge.

Seit 2007 hat das neue Team die bisherigen Aktivitäten kontinuierlich, nachhaltig und innovativ weiterentwickelt und ausgedehnt. Es wurde nicht nur verstärkt mit Galerien, Kinos, Universitäten und anderen Institutionen zusammengearbeitet, sondern es wurden auch neue Wege beim Online-Vertrieb von Animationsfilmen gesucht. Zu den jüngsten Aktivitäten gehört der Launch von AP Engine (http://www.apengine.org/), einem Internet-Blog, das sich seriös und fundiert mit neuen Entwicklungen an den Schnittstellen zwischen Kunst, Film und Medien auseinandersetzt.

Ende Januar teilte nun Animate Projects mit, dass der Arts Council  England die Organisation im Jahr 2011 nicht weiter fördern wird. Ohne diese Förderung kann Animate Projects die bisherige Arbeit aber nicht mehr fortsetzen.

Wenn es dabei bleibt und nicht schnell eine alternative Finanzierungsmöglichkeit gefunden wird, hat der Arts Council England mit einem Federstrich die Schließung einer einzigartigen filmkulturellen Organisation verursacht.

Wie bekannt stehen in Großbritannien als Folge der Finanzkrise und politischer Prioritätensetzungen nicht mehr genügend Mittel für Kulturförderung zur Verfügung. Der Arts Council ist selbst Opfer dieser Krise und eines seit Jahren, also nicht erst seit der neuen Regierung, feststellbaren kulturpolitischen Wandels im Land. Unter der neuen Regierung wurde das Budget des Arts Council England um fast 30% gekürzt. Diese Kürzungen werden jetzt weitergegeben.

Selbst, wenn man guten Willen bei den Entscheidern voraussetzt und Verständnis für die finanzielle Lage hat, ist nicht nachvollziehbar, dass solche Maßnahmen sozusagen gleich einen Totalschaden verursachen müssen. Offenbar sollten die Kürzungen in Windeseile und ohne ausführliche Konsultation von Experten und Betroffenen durchgesetzt werden. Denn, im Falle von Animate Projects widerspricht der Arts Council seinen eigenen – zumindest vernünftig klingenden – strategischen und kulturpolitischen Überlegungen zum Umgang mit der Krise.

Eigentlich ist Animate Projects als kleines, effektives Unternehmen gerade unter Sparzwängen in diesem Sinne vorbildlich. Mit nur drei, vier Mitarbeitern wird eine hervorragende Arbeit von nationaler und internationaler Strahlkraft geleistet. Doch eben, weil die Organisation weder über einen großen Apparat noch ausreichende Ressourcen verfügt, ist sie jetzt besonders verletzlich.

Man darf erwarten, dass trotz notwendiger Einschränkungen eine vernünftige Lösung gefunden wird, um einer solchen Organisation den Fortbestand zu erlauben und die Krise zu überstehen. Denn, mit der Schließung einer Organisation wie Animate Projects wird weit mehr zerstört, nämlich eine komplette funktionierende Struktur, die sich nie mehr oder nur unter viel größerem finanziellen und personellen Aufwand wieder aufbauen lässt.

Reinhard W. Wolf

Links

Animate Projects: http://www.animateprojects.org/
Mitteilung zur Kürzung: http://www.animateprojects.org/news/arts_council_england_axes_animate_projects
AP Engine: http://www.apengine.org/

Blog „Arts Council England axes Animate Projects“: http://animateprojects.blogspot.com/2011/01/arts-council-axes-animate.html
Arts Council strategic framework: http://www.artscouncil.org.uk/about-us/a-strategic-framework-for-the-arts/
Für Feedback an den Arts Council („A complaint about our services“): http://www.artscouncil.org.uk/about-us/contact-us/

ps.
Alan Davey, Chief Executive, Arts Council England zur Kürzung der Kulturförderung
„This cut will inevitably have a significant impact on the cultural life of the country.“

Original Page