Jan Soldat

Jan Soldat Shows

ZUCHT UND ORDNUNG (Law and Order) © Jan Soldat

ZUCHT UND ORDNUNG (Law and Order) © Jan Soldat

When writing about the depiction of pain in the world, Susan Sontag once spoke about “regarding”. In “Regarding the Pain of Others”, she focused thematically on reactions to images, the responsibility when seeing, as well as on philosophical positions on a realpolitik geographical map. For we are all also part of that which we regard. Regarding something or someone concerns a concept that relates seeing and understanding directly with each other. While showing something or someone constitutes a similarly interesting concept. “Jan Soldat Shows” has developed to become a recurring invitation to view the filmmaker’s decade of work by now. And Jan Soldat shows how it feels to look attentively, to see in a certain way, and to view people in their humanity beyond categories.

 

Jan Soldat’s films negotiate the incomplete promises of truth in the photographic image at lived realities, as well as in the uniqueness of individual cases and characters: What we do not see we can only recognise with difficulty. And what we recognise is already a truth as such. One truth of many. Which makes a conversation with Jan Soldat quite a pleasant experience: A shared, tentative recognising, questioning and mutual curiosity. An attitude as such to people that reveals an unpretentious view: Of togetherness. Curiosity. Being. Beyond doubt, these represent cornerstones of his documentaries, which have become a uniquely visible aspect of his life and work over the last few years. In more than 40 short films and documentaries, the filmmaker has sharpened his focus progressively, shooting and editing with ever increasing clarity. Already at an early stage, static framings of the image represented an important element of Jan Soldat’s arrangements, provoking an air of concentrated seeing, and thus doubtlessly becoming a feature of identification. In the process, the fictional enactments have progressively slipped more and more into the background. And yet, all of the traces in Jan Soldat’s works seem to complement each other, marking stages in a journey, approaches to a modus.

 

For the Chemnitzer Filmwerkstatt, two films were made from 2006 that featured the eccentric Commissar Kresch who, in DER FUCHS VOM POSTHOF (THE FOX FROM THE POST YARD, 2007) as well as in DAS ZERPLATZTE ZIRKUSPFERD (THE BURST CIRCUS HORSE, 2007), dealt in a highly noncommittal manner with cases that were not especially controversial. In the films, he talks a lot while nothing happens as such. And yet crime is lurking there somewhere. One is often reminded of the German entertainer Helge Schneider when considering Peter Hungar, Soldat’s main actor at that time. With laughter being permitted, even if the setting seems so dreary. Hungar soon returned after his roles as the commissar, when he performed a Hitler pastiche in KEIN DEUTSCHMEHRLAND (NO (MORE) GERMANY, 2008). And already here, it seems that Jan Soldat’s scripted enactments with a documentary air work very well. As though it all has been lifted from everyday life: A reclusive, aging dictator being observed in his two-room flat in Chemnitz while he speaks somewhat strangely about cooking and the usual concerns. The film stages the encounter as an awkward conversation with the director – because conducting interviews is just not that easy. And conducting a direct dialogue with off-screen protagonists has become a recurring motif in Jan Soldat’s self-confident documentary form.

 

In addition to the humorous barbs, impressions of transgressing borders, severity and rage, as well as recurring moments of isolation, uncertainty and fear can be found in many of the early films by Jan Soldat. With people being incapable of speaking to each other (VERBALTRANSFER), injuring themselves or throwing up (SANDWEG 80, 2008), and killing themselves or each other (RUNTER/DOWN and GESCHWISTERLIEBE/LOVE AMONG SIBLINGS, both 2007). In 3 (2007), the director jovially roasted a brain. Frequently, sex and corporeality are central motifs and become entangled with the sensitivities of characters alienated from each other (MUTTER/MOTHER, 2009). During his career, Jan Soldat has tried his hand at directing, screenwriting, camera, sound, editing and production. A diversity that has had a fundamental impact on his subsequent working method. In an early monologue, he even exposed himself to the camera, playing a young filmmaker with his uncertainties (WAHRSCHEINLICH, VIELLEICHT AUCH NICHT/PROBABLY, MAYBE NOT, 2008).

 

In 2008, Jan Soldat began studying at the Film University Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF (formerly the Film and Television Academy “Konrad Wolf” Potsdam-Babelsberg). With REIN/RAUS (IN/OUT, 2010), he made his first film there which showed sex explicitly and negotiated an indefinable interface between fiction and documentation. ENDLICH URLAUB (FINALLY HOLIDAYS, 2010) was produced independently parallel to his studies and works in a similar manner: With the body becoming its own reality above and beyond the logics of enactments. Yet what is shown in both of the short films shapes a social constellation as well. How one deals on an intimate level with others and with oneself opens up a space for reflection when viewed. A short time later, INTERIM (2011) condensed the motifs from earlier short fiction films into a claustrophobic portrait of a young woman who is perhaps a nymphomaniac. Rigorous, psychologically charged visual compositions dominate here, as well as impressions of isolation and voyeurism, dreariness and obsession. The body and its gender becoming a focal point of our gaze and a landscape of an analytical negotiation shot in close-ups. The staged sobriety and clear framing do not convey a distanced regarding, but rather a revelatory sharpness, candour and lack of fear when viewing. In his work with young lay actors, in CRAZY DENNIS TIGER (2012) and DANN IST ES HALT SO (THAT’S HOW IT IS, 2013), Jan Soldat found an additional facet of the fictional and enacted attentive, tenderly friendly observations here which work at the same time as milieu studies and coming-of-age stories. In this regard, CRAZY DENNIS TIGER, a coproduction with the TV broadcaster rbb, is his most narrative and conventional work to date as it reveals the clear story of a youth who wants to stand up for his brother and cross those who are close to him.

 

Following his first formulated documentary GELIEBT (BE LOVED, 2010), which was made with a small team at the film school, with ZUCHT UND ORDNUNG (LAW AND ORDER, 2012) Jan Soldat found a way to enact encounters without a film team, by permitting himself and the camera to engage with images of people and situations. The open approach taken at that time with ZUCHT UND ORDNUNG, without any funding or institutional framework, would become a work practice that has accompanied the filmmaker to the present day and which underscores his life and creative output. And “Jan Soldat Shows” also conveys the film production realities in Germany, where courageous material has a hard time, especially if there is no screenplay. The result of these first two short documentaries represents a record of getting to know and trust oneself, of revelation and revealing oneself. Of films which follow a logic of consensus and approach people on the basis of consent and a mutual, direct curiosity about each other. And this directness occurs because it is clear that the relationship with the filmmaker represents a necessity here. In addition to direct conversations, looks and gestures underscore that an awareness of the filmic arrangement exists among all of the participants here. GELIEBT is a portrait of Jens and Pascal, who live together with their two dogs and maintain a deep and even physical relationship with them. ZUCHT UND ORDNUNG shows Manfred and Jürgen during their BDSM games at home.

 

Already the films which were made at the film school and while studying met with a clear response. GELIEBT was screened in 2010 at the Berlinale Shorts section. That same year, ENDLICH URLAUB (FINALLY HOLIDAYS) went on to win the main prize for the best short film at the Pornfilmfestival Berlin. In 2012, ZUCHT UND ORDNUNG was invited to the Berlinale Panorama section, while its Generation 14plus section presented CRAZY DENNIS TIGER. Also at the short film festival in Oberhausen, ZUCHT UND ORDNUNG was screened in its German competition. Subsequently, the film was invited to more than 100 festivals. All in a single year that generated unique interest in the film and gave the filmmaker an international profile at 26.

 

Further documentary observations followed. WIELANDSTRAßE 20, 3. OG LINKS (WIELANDSTRAßE 20, 3rd FLOOR LEFT, 2012) shows Jörg and Karsten having sex and ends with silent shots of their apartment. EIN WOCHENENDE IN DEUTSCHLAND (A WEEKEND IN GERMANY, 2013) sees a return to Manfred and Jürgen, who have invited a playmate over for the weekend. BEZIEHUNGSWEISE (RESPECTIVELY, 2013) appears to be a panorama of Jan Soldat’s first documentaries, in which he places people from earlier films together again visually for several moments. As a look at familiar faces and a few new ones, all colourfully mixed together in their life stories and generations, and all united by the impression of a fragmented reality that is playing out somewhere alongside the German society – on a random weekend and in random homes. Jan Soldat himself becomes the connecting line, even if he constantly rejects out of hand overhasty conclusions about the commonalities in his films and the philosophies of his protagonists. That which is separate may remain so. And yet they have become placed next to each other – in relation to each other – within a filmography.

 

DER UNFERTIGE (THE IMCOMPLETE, 2013) was awarded best short film at the film festival in Rome. This changed how Jan Soldat’s work was perceived both in Germany and internationally, with him being nominated for instance for the German Critics Prize that same year. And with the approach taken to his films becoming more precise. It became clearer that drawing hasty conclusions about being provocative, spectacular or an outsider now represented the wrong track. Instead, his documentaries especially consist of a careful weighting of the means and the purpose for exploring a suitable gesture and air of showing. DER UNFERTIGE begins only with looks. While he is sitting in his slave gear on his bed, the protagonist of the film introduces himself as, “the Odenwald gay… or Gollum… or Klaus. 60 years old… gay… slave.” Jan Soldat’s longest film to date then follows, taking its time as it looks behind these categories, behind a body image, behind a self-image and its forms of enactment. The first silent moment in the film is already reminiscent of a break between two sentences. With this structure having previously permeated several of Soldat’s prior documentaries: Of waiting, considering, orienting oneself, unfinished. There always seems to be potential in his excerpts of reality for the first still-budding gestures, feelings and thoughts. Yet it remains open which position that statement possesses within a whole, as indeed what a whole could be, despite the closed visual framing, thus becoming “incomplete”. Just like in his earlier works, we are experiencing the documentary enactment of an encounter, one which also always illustrates – shows – an authentic encounter within the enactment.

 

Following his success in Rome, in 2014 Jan Soldat was a member of the international jury in the Generation 14plus section of the Berlinale. The Berlin Pornfilmfestival devoted a focal programme to his portrait films. And by now, his works are represented to an equal extent in film festivals with a thematic direction and at central hubs of the international festival industry. His most recent stops have been at the 2014 Viennale (HOTEL STRAUSSBERG), Rotterdam in 2015 (DIE SECHSTE JAHRESZEIT/THE SIXTH SEASON + DER BESUCH/THE VISIT), the 2015 Berlinale Panorama (HAFTANLAGE 4614/PRISON SYSTEM 4614), as well as once again in the German competition section at Oberhausen (COMING OF AGE) in 2016.

 

Most recently, the director can be seen with two cycles of films. Currently, the screening venue is a BDSM prison near Berlin. Male customers can have themselves locked up there for a while and be treated as prisoners by strict guards. The actual process of exploring the spaces and the alternating inmates there takes them to the three mid-length films HOTEL STRAUSSBERG (2014), HAFTANLAGE 4614 (2015) and DIE SECHSTE JAHRESZEIT (2015), as well as to the short episode DER BESUCH (2015). Arwed and Dennis are the couple who run the facility together and accompany the stories as a leitmotif. And ultimately, their story is also told in the various encounters there, with it being progressively revealed to be a microcosm with its own inner logic, through to its conception and origin. After that, COMING OF AGE and HAPPY HAPPY BABY (both 2016) are devoted to the phenomenon of adult babies, showing adults living out their desires for genuine closeness and sanctuary. In their games, it quickly becomes clear that sex is increasingly unimportant here, with a journey of exploration and the revelation of corporeality leading to a return to childishness for now, through to asexuality. In the end, two protagonists are together in a park somewhere in Berlin. Out on a photo excursion, with them posing for each other:

 

“Take some pictures?”

“Yo, wanna see?”

 

Filmography (a selection):

2016    HAPPY HAPPY BABY

2016    COMING OF AGE

2015    DIE SECHSTE JAHRESZEIT (THE SIXTH SEASON)

2015    DER BESUCH (THE VISIT)

2015    HAFTANLAGE 4614 (PRISON SYSTEM 4614)

2014    HOTEL STRAUSSBERG

2013    DER UNFERTIGE (THE IMCOMPLETE)

2013    BEZIEHUNGSWEISE (RESPECTIVELY)

2013    EIN WOCHENENDE IN DEUTSCHLAND (A WEEKEND IN GERMANY)

2013    DANN IST ES HALT SO (THAT’S HOW IT IS)

2012    WIELANDSTRAßE 20, 3. OG LINKS (WIELANDSTRAßE 20, 3rd FLOOR LEFT)

2012    ZUCHT UND ORDNUNG (LAW AN ORDER)

2012    CRAZY DENNIS TIGER

2011    INTERIM

2010    ENDLICH URLAUB (FINALLY HOLIDAYS)

2010    GELIEBT (LOVED)

2010    REIN/RAUS  (IN/OUT)

2009    MUTTER (MOTHER)

2008    KEIN DEUTSCHMEHRLAND (NO (MORE) GERMANY

2008    SANDWEG 80

2008    WAHRSCHEINLICH, VIELLEICHT AUCH NICHT (PROBABLY, MAYBE ALSO NOT)

2008    VERBALTRANSFER

2007    3

2007    RUNTER (DOWN)

2007    KOMMISSAR KRESCH UND DAS ZERPLATZTE ZIRKUSPFERD (COMMISSAR KRESCH AND THE BURST CIRCUS HORSE)

2007    GESCHWISTERLIEBE (LOVE AMONG SIBLINGS)

2007    KOMMISSAR KRESCH UND DER FUCHS VOM POSTHOF (COMMISSAR KRESCH AND THE FOX FROM THE POST YARD)

 

1 Trackback

Jan Soldat

Jan Soldat zeigt

Soldat_ZuchtUndOrdnung (2)

ZUCHT UND ORDNUNG © Jan Soldat

Susan Sontag sprach einmal vom „Betrachten“, als sie über das abgebildete Leid in der Welt schrieb. In „Das Leiden anderer betrachten“ thematisiert sie Reaktionen auf Bilder, auf die Verantwortlichkeit während des Sehens und philosophische Positionen auf einer realpolitischen Landkarte. Denn wir sind alle auch Teil dessen, was wir betrachten. Etwas oder jemanden betrachten, das ist ein Begriff, der Sehen und Verstehen unmittelbar miteinander in Beziehung setzt. Etwas oder jemanden zeigen, das ist ein ähnlich interessanter Begriff. „Jan Soldat zeigt“ hat sich über das nun zehnjährige Wirken eines Filmemachers hin zu einer wiederkehrenden Einladung kristallisiert. Jan Soldat zeigt, wie es sich anfühlt, aufmerksam hinzusehen, auf eine bestimmte Art und Weise zu sehen, über Kategorien hinweg Menschen ihre Menschlichkeit anzusehen.

 

Jan Soldats Filme verhandeln das unfertige Wahrheitsversprechen des fotografischen Bilds an gelebten Realitäten und in der Besonderheit von Einzelfällen und Charakteren: Was wir nicht sehen, können wir nur schwerlich erkennen. Und was wir erkennen, das ist bereits in sich eine Wahrheit. Eine Wahrheit von vielen. Deshalb ist ein Gespräch mit Jan Soldat eine schöne Erfahrung: ein gemeinsames, tastendes Erkennen, Fragen und miteinander neugierig sein. Ein sich Verhalten zu einem Menschen, der einen unverstellten Blick offenbart. Miteinander. Neugierig. Sein. Das sind zweifellos Eckpunkte seiner dokumentarischen Arbeiten, die in den letzten Jahren zum besonders sichtbaren Schwerpunkt seines Wirkens wurden. Über rund 40 Kurzspielfilme und Dokumentarfilme hinweg hat sich der Filmemacher immer deutlicher fokussiert, immer klarer fotografiert und montiert. Statische Kadrierungen des Bilds sind schon früh ein wichtiger Teil von Jan Soldats Arrangements, provozieren einen Gestus des konzentrierten Sehens und sind zweifelsohne zu einem Erkennungsmerkmal geworden. Das fiktionale Inszenieren rückt dabei nach und nach zunehmend in den Hintergrund. Und doch fühlen sich alle Spuren in Jan Soldats Arbeiten komplementär an, markieren Etappen einer Reise, Annäherungen an einen Modus.

 

Für die Filmwerkstatt in Chemnitz entstanden ab 2006 zwei Filme um den kauzigen Kommissar Kresch, der sich mit wenig brisanten Fällen um den „Fuchs vom Posthof“ (2007) sowie „Das zerplatzte Zirkuspferd“ (2007) auf äußerst unverbindliche Art und Weise auseinandersetzt. Er redet viel, während im Grunde wenig passiert. Und doch lauert irgendwo das Verbrechen. Man fühlt sich durch Soldats damaligen Hauptdarsteller Peter Hungar nicht selten an Helge Schneider erinnert. Es darf gelacht werden, auch wenn die Kulisse trist scheint. Hungar kehrt nach seinen Einsätzen als Kommissar bald wieder, wenn er in KEIN DEUTSCHMEHRLAND (2008) eine Hitler-Persiflage gibt. Schon hier scheint sich Jan Soldats geskriptetes Inszenieren mit einem dokumentarischen Gestus sehr wohl zu fühlen. Alles wirkt wie aus dem Alltag gegriffen: Ein zurückgezogener Diktator wird auf seine alten Tage hin in seiner Chemnitzer Zweizimmerwohnung beobachtet während er etwas kauzig übers Kochen und die üblichen Sorgen spricht. Der Film inszeniert die Begegnung als sperriges Gespräch mit dem Regisseur. Man hat es eben nicht immer einfach bei Interviews. Der direkte Dialog mit Protagonisten aus dem Off wird zu einem wiederkehrenden Motiv einer selbstbewussten dokumentarischen Form werden.

 

Neben humoristischen Spitzen finden sich in vielen frühen Filmen von Jan Soldat Eindrücke von Grenzüberschreitung, Strenge und Wut, wiederkehrende Momente von Isolation, Unsicherheit und Angst. Menschen sind unfähig, miteinander zu sprechen (VERBALTRANSFER), verletzen sich, übergeben sich (SANDWEG 80, 2008), bringen sich oder einander um (RUNTER / GESCHWISTERLIEBE, beide 2007). Bei 3 (2007) brät sich Regisseur gemütlich ein Gehirn. Sex und Körperlichkeit sind oftmals zentrale Motive und verschränkt mit den Befindlichkeiten voneinander entfremdeter Charaktere (MUTTER, 2009). Jan Soldat versucht sich an Regie, Drehbuch, Kamera, Ton, Schnitt und Produktion. Eine Vielfältigkeit, die seine spätere Arbeitsweise wesentlich prägen wird. In einem frühen Monolog setzt er sich auch selbst der Kamera aus und gibt einen jungen Filmemacher und dessen Unsicherheiten (WAHRSCHEINLICH, VIELLEICHT AUCH NICHT, 2008).

 

2008 beginnt Jan Soldat ein Studium an der Filmuniversität Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF (ehemals Hochschule für Film und Fernsehen „Konrad Wolf“ Potsdam-Babelsberg). Dort entsteht mit REIN/RAUS (2010) ein erster Film, der Sex explizit zeigt und an einer undefinierbaren Schnittstelle von Fiktion und Dokumentation verhandelt. ENDLICH URLAUB (2010) ist neben dem Studienkontext unabhängig produziert und funktioniert auf ähnliche Weise: Der Körper wird seine eigene Realität, über Inszenierungslogiken hinweg. Was in beiden kurzen Filmen gezeigt wird, entwirft stets auch eine soziale Konstellation. Wie man intim miteinander umgeht und mit sich selbst, das eröffnet beim Zusehen einen Denkraum. INTERIM (2011) verdichtet kurz darauf Motive früherer Kurzspielfilme zum klaustrophobischen Portrait einer jungen Frau, die vielleicht eine Nymphomanin ist. Hier dominieren strenge, psychologisch aufgeladene Bildkompositionen, Eindrücke von Isolation und Voyeurismus, Tristesse und Obsession. Der Körper und dessen Geschlecht werden zum Fixpunkt des Blicks und in Großaufnahmen zu Landschaft einer analytischen Verhandlung. In der inszenierten Nüchternheit und klaren Rahmung vermittelt sich kein distanziertes Betrachten, sondern eine entlarvende Schärfe, Aufrichtigkeit und Angstfreiheit des Sehens. In der Arbeit mit jugendlichen Laiendarstellern findet Jan Soldat bei CRAZY DENNIS TIGER (2012) und DANN IST ES HALT SO (2013) eine zusätzliche Facette des Fiktionalen und inszeniert aufmerksame, zärtlich-freundschaftliche Beobachtungen, die gleichermaßen als Milieustudien und Coming of Age Geschichten funktionieren. CRAZY DENNIS TIGER, eine Koproduktion mit dem rbb, ist dabei die narrativste und konventionellste Arbeit bisher, entwickelt die klare Geschichte eines Jugendlichen, der sich für seinen Bruder stark machen will und dem Vertrauten gegenüber quer stellt.

 

Nach dem ersten ausformulierten Dokumentarfilm GELIEBT (2010), der mit kleinem Team an der Filmhochschule entsteht, findet Jan Soldat mit ZUCHT UND ORDNUNG (2012) zu einer Praxis der Begegnung ohne Filmteam, lässt sich mit der Kamera auf Menschenbilder und Situationen ein. Die freie Arbeitsweise von ZUCHT UND ORDNUNG, ohne Förderung und institutionellen Rahmen, manifestiert sich zu dieser Zeit als Praxis, die den Filmemacher bis heute begleitet und sein Wirken unterstreicht. „Jan Soldat zeigt“, das vermittelt auch eine Produktionsrealität in Deutschland, wo es mutige Stoffe schwer haben, insbesondere ohne Drehbuch. Das Ergebnis der ersten beiden kurzen Dokumentarfilme sind Protokolle des sich Kennenlernens und sich Vertrauens, des Zeigens und des sich Zeigens. Filme, die einer Logik des Konsenses folgen und auf der Basis von Einverständnis und gegenseitiger Neugierde unmittelbar an Menschen herantreten. Unmittelbar, weil klar ist, dass hier die Beziehung zum Filmemacher eine Notwendigkeit darstellt. Neben direkten Gesprächen unterstreichen Blicke und Gesten, dass hier bei allen Beteiligten ein Bewusstsein über das filmische Arrangement besteht. GELIEBT portraitiert Jens und Pascal, die gemeinsam mit ihren zwei Hunden leben und mit diesen eine tiefe, auch körperliche, Beziehung pflegen. ZUCHT UND ORDNUNG zeigt Manfred und Jürgen bei BDSM-Spielen in ihrer Wohnung.

 

Bereits die Filme, die an der Hochschule und begleitend zum Studium entstehen, erfahren deutliche Resonanz. GELIEBT ist 2010 bei den Berlinale Shorts zu sehen. ENDLICH URLAUB wird im gleichen Jahr beim Berliner Pornfilmfest mit dem Hauptpreis für den besten Kurzfilm ausgezeichnet. 2012 wird ZUCHT UND ORDNUNG ins Berlinale Panorama eingeladen, während Generation 14plus CRAZY DENNIS TIGER vorstellt. Auch in Oberhausen wird ZUCHT UND ORDNUNG als Teil des deutschen Wettbewerbs präsentiert. Der Film wird daraufhin zu über 100 Festivals eingeladen. Ein Jahr, das besondere Aufmerksamkeit generiert und den Filmemacher mit 26 international sichtbar macht.

 

Es folgen weitere dokumentarische Betrachtungen. WIELANDSTRASSE 20, 3. OG LINKS (2012) zeigt Jörg und Karsten beim Sex und schließt mit stillen Aufnahmen ihrer Wohnung. EIN WOCHENENDE IN DEUTSCHLAND (2013) kehrt zu Manfred und Jürgen zurück, die sich übers Wochenende einen Spielgefährten eingeladen haben. BEZIEHUNGSWEISE (2013) erscheint als Panorama von Jan Soldats ersten Dokumentarfilmen, in dem er Menschen aus vorherigen Filmen für einige Momente nochmals miteinander ins Bild setzt. Ein Blick in vertraute Gesichter und einige neue, bunt durchmischt in ihren Geschichten und Generationen, allesamt verbunden zur Empfindung einer fragmentierten Realität, die sich irgendwo entlang der deutschen Gesellschaft abspielt – an einem beliebigen Wochenende, in beliebigen Wohnungen. Zur Verbindungslinie wird Jan Soldat selbst, der jedoch voreilige Schlüsse auf die Gemeinsamkeiten seiner Filme und die Philosophien seiner Protagonisten ausdauernd von der Hand weist. Was separat ist, darf separat bleiben. Und steht doch innerhalb einer Filmographie nebeneinander, in Beziehung zueinander.

 

DER UNFERTIGE (2013) wird beim Filmfestival in Rom als bester Kurzfilm ausgezeichnet. Das verändert die Wahrnehmung von Jan Soldats Arbeiten in Deutschland und international, etwa durch die Nominierung für den Preis der deutschen Filmkritik im gleichen Jahr. Die Annäherung an seine Filme wird genauer. Es wird klarer, dass voreilige Schlüsse auf Provokation, Spektakel oder Außenseitertum hier falsche Fährten sind. Stattdessen sind insbesondere seine Dokumentarfilme sorgsame Gewichtungen von Mittel und Zweck zur Auslotung eines angemessenen Gestus des Zeigens. DER UNFERTIGE beginnt nur mit Blicken. Während er in Sklavenmontur auf seinem Bett sitzt, stellt sich der Protagonist des Films vor, als „Odenwald-Gay… oder Gollum… oder Klaus! 60 Jahre alt… schwul… Sklave!“ Es folgt Jan Soldats bis dahin längster Film, der sich Zeit nimmt, hinter diese Kategorien zu blicken, hinter ein Körperbild, hinter ein Selbstbild und seine Inszenierungsweisen. Schon der erste stille Moment des Films erinnert an eine Pause zwischen zwei Sätzen. Diese Struktur durchdringt bereits einige von Soldats vorherigen Dokumentarfilmen: wartend, überlegt, sich orientierend, unvollendet. Stets scheinen in seinen Realitätsausschnitten Potenziale zu liegen für erst noch aufkeimende Gesten, Empfindungen und Gedanken. Welche Position das Gesagte in einem Ganzen besitzt und was ein Ganzes sein könnte, das bleibt trotz geschlossener Bildkadrierungen offen, eben „unfertig“. Wie auch in seinen früheren Arbeiten, erleben wir hier die dokumentarische Inszenierung einer Begegnung, die stets auch eine authentische Begegnung in der Inszenierung veranschaulicht, bebildert – zeigt.

 

Nach seinem Erfolg in Rom ist Jan Soldat 2014 teil der internationalen Jury der Generation 14plus Sektion der Berlinale. Das Berliner Pornfilmfestival widmet seinen Portraitfilmen ein Fokusprogramm. Seine Arbeiten sind mittlerweile gleichermaßen bei thematisch fokussierten Festivals und bei zentralen Knotenpunkten der internationalen Festivalbranche vertreten. Jüngste Stationen waren die Viennale 2014 (HOTEL STRAUSSBERG), Rotterdam 2015 (DIE SECHSTE JAHRESZEIT / DER BESUCH), das Berlinale Panorama 2015 (HAFTANLAGE 4614) sowie 2016 erneut der deutsche Wettbewerb von Oberhausen (COMING OF AGE).

 

Zuletzt ist der Regisseur mit zwei Zyklen von Filmen zu sehen. Der Schauplatz ist zunächst eine BDSM Haftanstalt unweit von Berlin. Dort können sich männliche Kunden für eine Zeit einweisen und von strengen Wärtern als Häftlinge behandeln lassen. Die genaue Erkundung der Räume und wechselnder Insassen führt zu den drei mittellangen Filmen HOTEL STRAUSSBERG (2014), HAFTANLAGE 4614 (2015) und DIE SECHSTE JAHRESZEIT (2015) sowie zu der kurzen Episode DER BESUCH (2015). Arwed und Dennis sind ein Paar, das gemeinsam die Anlage betreibt, und ziehen sich als roter Faden durch die Geschichten. Auch ihre Geschichte wird so letztlich in den diversen Begegnungen miterzählt und es entblößt sich ein Mikrokosmos und dessen innere Logik, nach und nach, bis hin zu seiner Konzeption und seinem Ursprung. COMING OF AGE und HAPPY HAPPY BABY (beide 2016) widmen sich anschließend dem Phänomen von Adult Babys und zeigen Erwachsene, die ihre Sehnsucht nach unverstellter Nähe und Zuflucht ausleben. Schnell wird bei ihren Spielen klar, dass Sex hier zunehmend unwichtig wird, und so mündet eine Reise der Erkundung und des Zeigens von Körperlichkeit vorerst in einer Rückbesinnung auf Kindlichkeit, bis hin zur Asexualität. Zum Schluss sind zwei Protagonisten miteinander zusammen im Park, irgendwo in Berlin. Ein Fotoausflug, man posiert füreinander:

 

„Hast du Bilder gemacht?“

„Jo, willst sehn?“

 

Filmographie (Auswahl):

2016    HAPPY HAPPY BABY

2016    COMING OF AGE

2015    DIE SECHSTE JAHRESZEIT

2015    DER BESUCH

2015    HAFTANLAGE 4614

2014    HOTEL STRAUSSBERG

2013    DER UNFERTIGE

2013    BEZIEHUNGSWEISE

2013    EIN WOCHENENDE IN DEUTSCHLAND

2013    DANN IST ES HALT SO

2012    WIELANDSTRASSE 20, 3. OG LINKS

2012    ZUCHT UND ORDNUNG

2012    CRAZY DENNIS TIGER

2011    INTERIM

2010    ENDLICH URLAUB

2010    GELIEBT

2010    REIN/RAUS

2009    MUTTER

2008    KEIN DEUTSCHMEHRLAND

2008    SANDWEG 80

2008    WAHRSCHEINLICH, VIELLEICHT AUCH NICHT

2008    VERBALTRANSFER

2007    3

2007    RUNTER

2007    KOMMISSAR KRESCH UND DAS ZERPLATZTE ZIRKUSPFERD

2007    GESCHWISTERLIEBE

2007    KOMMISSAR KRESCH UND DER FUCHS VOM POSTHOF