AVA Short Film Library Networks Festivals with Libraries

AVA interfilm Kurzfilmbibliothek ZLB Berlin © James-McBreen (AVA)

AVA interfilm Kurzfilmbibliothek ZLB Berlin © James-McBreen (AVA)

 

The “Audio Visual Access” (AVA) project, which is supported by Creative Europe MEDIA, networks European short film festivals with local public libraries, with the aim of reaching and attracting new audience groups with short film programmes from various festivals.

In Germany, the project kicked off in March in Cologne. Two viewing stations were set up in the city library here, where 50 short films from the most recent edition of the KFFK/Short Film Festival Cologne can be viewed free-of-charge. In Berlin, thanks to a cooperative arrangement between the interfilm festival and the ZLB Berlin Central and Regional Library, roughly 200 short films from the festival’s programme can be seen from 5 May to 31 July 2017. AVA has set up eight viewing stations in the Amerika-Gedenkbibliothek and in the Berliner Stadtbibliothek public libraries for this.

Further cooperative arrangements with AVA have also been established in Amentea, Italy (La Guarimba Festival), in Bristol (Encounters), in Cork (Cork Film Festival), in Leuven (Kort Film Festival) and in Ylöjärvi (Tampere Film Festival).

AVA is a project from the reelport GmbH company, for which the Cologne-based firm received Creative Europe MEDIA support of  €150,000 in 2016 in the “Audience Development” area. On a technical level, reelport has set up AVA on its PicturePipe service. This business-to-business platform has already run several digital media libraries at various film and television events, including the MIPDoc film market, as well as with Cinando at the Marché du Film in Cannes.

The festivals clarify the respective rights to the films for AVA and upload them together with metadata to the AVA film server. The member libraries then provide access for their users to the streamed films at viewing stations. Films can be browsed on the basis of key words, genres, direction, year of release or country categories, and compiled into individualised playlists. The number of films, as well as the various project durations and the distribution systems adopted by the libraries differ from location to location.

The Tampere Film Festival, for instance, has provided access in the neighbouring city of Ylöjärvi to 57 short films from this year’s programme. With the regional library there even planning to let the users have access to the films at home via its online network. Since 1 June of this year, the Cork Film Festival has shown 13 films from the 2016 festival programme in the city’s Central Library. After the 2017 festival, the aim is to include further films, which the holder of a library pass can then access at a video-on-demand station.

The aim of the projects is to avail of the film festivals’ expertise so as to make quality films accessible to larger audiences and to facilitate libraries in the non-physical lending of audio-visual content.

 

further information: www.ava-library.com
AVA Kurzfilmbibliothek Köln: stadtbibliothek/zentralbibliothek/ava-die-kurzfilmbibliothek
Cinemathek der ZLB Berlin: www.zlb.de/fachinformation/spezialbereiche/cinemathek.html

AVA Kurzfilmbibliothek vernetzt Festivals mit Bibliotheken

AVA interfilm Kurzfilmbibliothek ZLB Berlin © James-McBreen (AVA)

AVA interfilm Kurzfilmbibliothek ZLB Berlin © James-McBreen (AVA)

Das von Creative Europe MEDIA unterstützte Projekt „Audio Visual Access“ (AVA) vernetzt europäische Kurzfilmfestivals mit lokalen öffentlichen Bibliotheken, um mit den jeweiligen Kurzfilmprogrammen der Festivals neue Zuschauergruppen anzusprechen.

In Deutschland startete das Projekt im März in Köln, wo in der Stadtbibliothek an zwei Sichtungsplätzen kostenlos 50 Kurzfilme der letzten Festivalausgaben des Kurzfilmfestival Köln gesichtet werden können. In Berlin können dank einer Kooperation zwischen dem interfilm Festival und der Zentral- und Landesbibliothek Berlin vom 5. Mai bis 31. Juli 2017 rund 200 Kurzfilme des Festivalprogramms angesehen werden. Dafür hat AVA acht Sichtungsplätze in der Amerika-Gedenkbibliothek und in der Berliner Stadtbibliothek eingerichtet.

Weitere Kooperationen gibt es durch AVA auch in Amentea, Italien (La Guarimba Festival), Bristol (Encounters), Cork (Cork Film Festival), Leuven (Kortfilmfestival) und in Ylöjärvi (Tampere Film Festival).

AVA ist ein Projekt der reelport GmbH, für das die Kölner 2016 eine Creative Europe MEDIA Förderung von 150.000 Euro im Bereich „Audience Development“ erhielten. Technisch setzt reelport AVA auf ihren PicturePipe Service auf. Die Business-to-Business Plattform betreibt bereits mehrere digitale Mediatheken bei verschiedenen Film- und Fernsehevents, darunter auch der Filmmarkt MIPDoc und ist mit Cinando beim Marché du Film in Cannes dabei.

Für AVA klären jeweils die Festivals die Rechte an den Filmen und laden sie zusammen mit Metadaten auf den AVA Filmserver. Die angeschlossenen Bibliotheken machen dann die Filme des Streaming-Dienstes ihren Nutzern an Sichtungsstationen zugänglich. Filme können nach Schlagwörtern, Genres, Regie, Erscheinungsjahr oder Land durchsucht und in individuellen Playlists zusammengestellt werden. Die Zahl der Filme, die Laufzeiten des Projekte und die Art der Verbreitung durch die Bibliotheken sind von Standort zu Standort verschieden.

Das Tampere Film Festival stellt, zum Beispiel, 57 Kurzfilme aus dem diesjährigen Programm in der Nachbarstadt Ylöjärvi bereit. Die dortige Regional-Bibliothek plant den Zugang über ihr Online-Netz den Nutzern auch zuhause zu ermöglichen. Das Cork Film Festival zeigt ab 1. Juni diesen Jahres in der städtischen Zentralbibliothek 13 Filme aus dem Festivalprogramm 2016. Nach dem Festival 2017 sollen weitere Filme hinzukommen, die Halter eines Bibliotheksausweises auf einer Video-on-Demand-Station zugänglich sein werden.

Ziel des Projekts ist es die Expertise der Filmfestivals zu nutzen, um Qualitätsfilme einem größeren Publikum zugänglich zu machen und Bibliotheken die nicht-physische Ausleihe von audio-visuellem Content zu erleichtern.

 

Weitere Informationen: www.ava-library.com
AVA Kurzfilmbibliothek Köln: stadtbibliothek/zentralbibliothek/ava-die-kurzfilmbibliothek
Cinemathek der ZLB Berlin: www.zlb.de/fachinformation/spezialbereiche/cinemathek.html